We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place in the middle of nowhere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maramboi Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario Canada
Level 6 Contributor
647 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 776 helpful votes
“Beautiful place in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed with my hubby at the Maramboi Tented Camp only one night. This was our first pit stop in starting our safari at Tarangire National Park. Maramboi is in a very beautiful setting in the middle of nowhere. It is approx 30 minutes from the main road and during the drive you get to see all kinds of wild animals. It was like starting the safari earlier than expected. We were greated at arrival and brought to the pool side for lunch. Just georgeous! The lunch was indian speciality and was just delicious. The only hiccup at that time was the infestation of flies, but hey, we are in Africa and we tried not to focus on all the flies in the food.

We were then escorted to our tent #21, the last one down the road. What a beautiful surprise! Wrap around porch with a view of the wildlife, beautiful room with a large bathroom and great water pressure.

When we got back from our safari in Tarangire, we were escorted to our tent and then escorted back to the restaurant because it was dark. I must say this was a fun experience! But in no way did I feel threatened by the wildlife. The restaurant setup is outside under torches...Wow! Food was good and service even better. But then the bugs came back...this time a HUGE one in my dinner plate..ah well, we are in Africa!

The next morning breakfast was buffet style, but this time the bugs were wasps and they were everywhere!!! They had put a plate of sugary stuff on a table to attract them but still, they were everywhere...and I am allergic to their sting. Trying not to focus on that and enjoy the view, but I must say it was very difficult. We felt invaded and completely overwhelmed by them, swatting every which way to get them away from us. We are not a picky couple, we had just spent 7 days on Kilimanjaro in tents with no toilet. But the bugs were driving us crazy!!! This is really the only bad thing I can say about Maramboi, but unfortunately when we think back on our trip, the bugs take over our memories of the place. It must depend of the time of the year, I guess some days are worst and I guess we were there during that period. It is part of the adventure of sleeping in a tent in the middle of nature!

Room Tip: We liked being the last tent on the road, unobstructed view of the savannah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SylvieFrancois444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    231
    44
    9
    2
See reviews for
277
434
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our tent was all the way out at the end of a very sandy path. We could neither come nor go without an escort during early morning or evening hours. This was for our own safety, which is understandable, but it is quite a hike to and from our tent and it got sort of annoying after a couple days.

Tent is actually a misnomer as it had actual plumbing and a wooden foundation. It's more the walls that were tented...but it's a nice step toward mobile tented camping, which we moved on to after this.

The common areas are beautiful and overlook a vast open land that always had zebra, wildebeest, giraffes walking about. You are definitely in the thick of wilderness here. Breakfast and dinner were either served outdoors, where it can get very buggy, or in a large screened in area, where it can get warm.

Our group of four had one tented building to ourselves, with two living areas in it. Everything was comfortable and clean, and we enjoyed the shared porch with chairs where we shared a bottle of wine both evenings we were there.

Internet here, if you need it, was the spottiest connection we had all trip. That is to say, it hardly worked, and no one was terribly motivated to get it to work. But this is Africa, so take that with a grain of salt.

The food here was good and the service was excellent. Perhaps if I'd been located closer to the common areas and our vehicle, and not inconvenienced by such a long walk to the tent, I would have had a better rating. It is, however, a great location to go out on safari, albeit quite a ways in from the main road.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amybatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a tough one, since it is convenient to Tarangire National Park, there were seasonal animals (wildebeest, zebra, giraffes, antelope) around the property, staff is friendly and there is some good food. The problem is simply location: the sandy environment can be hot, and there is construction (Feb. 2013) that's a bit unsightly but likely temporary. The most annoying aspect was waking in the middle of the night to an odor that I'd describe as stale chemicals, which emanated from the lake or lake bed. When the winds shifted that aroma was replaced by the smell of dung, which actually didn't bother me as I imagined I was close to the migration. The owner was on site, which I learned only later after we left. It wasn't crowded so I figured he could have said hello (though not in my rating criteria). Tolerable certainly, and I don't know if any other area accommodation is any better.

Room Tip: We were pretty far from the reception and pool area, about 3 tents from the end of a long sandy path...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notpassive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The best thing about Maramboi Tented Camp is that you can see zebras, wildebeests and giraffe while you have your breakfast. The camp is located on a private conservation area with a man-made water hole so the animals graze on the property. It's pretty cool to watch them from a distance, whether by the pool or the deck while having a drink or dinner. The tents are big with comfortable beds with mosquito netting and an electric fan. The location, however, is hot hot hot and there was never a breeze. It's located near Lake Manyara, which you can see in the distance, and the soil is sand with scrub brush. The walk to the tents can seem really long when the temperature is over 90 degrees. Also, we were woken up both nights by some pretty pungent smells -- one smelled like a barnyard, so it was probably from a wildebeest herd, and the other was a sulfur-like smell probably from the salt water lake. I did not enjoy dinner either night - while the buffet looked good, the meat was very dry. Everyone there is visiting Tarangire Park, which is only about 20 minutes up the road. That's a fabulous place - green and hilly with lots of elephants and about 15 degrees cooler than Maramboi. (As an aside, we stopped by one of the women's cooperatives near the park entrance where you can buy beaded jewelry directly from Maasi women - no middleman. I recommend stopping by for gifts whose sale helps the local communities.) As others have noted, there is construction going on at Maramboi right now, both in construction of new tents which blocked our view of the lake, and in the dining area. That's not a bad thing that Tanganyika Wilderness Camps is improving the property - just expect construction if you're going sometime soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oneyearoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobcaygeon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was the first stop (for two nights) on a seven night safari and it couldn't have been a better way to start what turned out to be a fantastic trip. The lodge is located some 4km off the main road and around 25 minutes from the Tarangire park gates. As you leave the main road you drive past Masaii cattle herds one moment and then suddenly you arrive at the grasslands with wildebeast, zebras and warthogs only stones throw away. In the distance lies Lake Manyara and the Rift Valley escarpment.
We received a warm and friendly greeting and briefing and were then taken to our tented room. There is something very special about sleeping under canvas when on safari. The 'rooms' are large and well appointed. The bathroom facilites are as good as in any mainstream hotel. Each tent has a balcony overlokking the plains. What more can one want?
Dinners and breakfast are buffet style and the variety is great. Even the box lunches are buffet style - you pack only what you want to eat and there is plenty of choice.
For your after safari relaxation there is a nice pool overlooking the grasslands.
Unlike some of the bigger lodges, here it is quite normal for you to share your dnner table with your driver/guide - a great way to learn more about Tanzania.
Our only disappointment was that the wifi was not working while we were there.
All in all, a wonderful place, managed and assisted by a wonderful friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellingjrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We decided to try 2 of our 8 nights on safari in a Permanent Tented Camp. While it is not as nice or luxurious as the lodges available, it is very good if this is what you are looking for. We had warthogs, zebras, and wildebeests just outside our room on several occasions. The staff was all very friendly and helpful, it was close to Tarangire park, and the rooms were large and clean. The main drawback is that until the sun goes down, it is too hot inside the tents to be comfortable. Luckily there is a nice pool to cool off in, with complimentary cashew nuts. There was plenty of hot water in the bathrooms, electricity is available 24 hours a day, and the fan in the room provides some relief. Being escorted to your room by a Masai with a spear for protection from wild animals is a unique experience as well.

Room Tip: All the tents seemed to be the same, but you have to walk on a sand path to get to the dining area a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in January as our first stop of a tour of northern Tanzania. It spoilt us for the rest of our trip! We were greeted with cold drinks and towels and sat in the lounge area overlooking green plains with giraffe and zebra ambling vey close by, whilst we were informed about the camp facilities etc. Our stilted tent was basic but very comfortable with a great shower and good quality linen and mosquito nets, and very clean! The beds were the most comfortable we've ever slept in on any holiday, and the views just stunning out across towards lake Manyara and the great Rift. There was a good choice of food on the buffet with all fresh and local ingredients. All the staff were really friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome, including bringing our drinks down to the pool so we could sit and watch the sunset! This is a magical place to stay when visiting Tarangire and Willy the owner has got the feeling of a relaxed but professionally run establishment just right.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeasonedTraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarangire National Park
20.7 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
398 reviews
21.5 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
591 reviews
33.3 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#5 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#19 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
157 reviews
30.3 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#8 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maramboi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maramboi Tented Camp

Property: Maramboi Tented Camp
Address: Dodoma Road | Minjingu, Tarangire And Manyara Pans, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maramboi Tented Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permanent luxury tents. Situated on a palm tree populated plain close to Lake Manyarawith magnificent views of the Rift Valley in the background. Maramboi Tented Camp features 44 suites, 4 for of them with interconnected rooms, ideally for families with children.The camp has electricity from the main electric supplier, solar panels and with a generator as a backup.Nearest airstrip: Tarangire/Lake Manyara 1 hour away.Activities: Game drives in Tarangire National Park, guided nature walks or swimming pool in the pool. Guest can visit a boma (village) of the local Datoga or Masai people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maramboi Tented Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing