We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the first african sunset!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maweninga Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maweninga Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“the first african sunset!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

This was our first accommodation of a safari organized by Tanganyka Expedition (we stayed at Bashay Rift, Olduvai Camp and Ronjo Camp). We had an absolutely friendly welcome after we saw a stunning african sunset over the lake. The view is really breathtaking: the position and the "architecture" of the camp are excellent. We slept in 2 different tents (as we were 3): they were beautiful with a big bed and all the bathroom facilities (shower, wc and basin).
The supper was excellent. I enjoyed the most sleeping surrounded by the sound of african night and also the presence of Rock Hyrax (they are so funny).
I will suggest this camp to the people who would like to taste the real Africa!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Illy1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    40
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
38
67
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed here our first two nights of our Tanzanian safari and it was a great first place to stay. The tent was clean and comfortable, the service was excellent without being to obtrusive and the setting and the view were spectacular. We had a great two nights.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimSL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringoes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Spent two nights at the camp with our family in two separate, but connected tents. One tent had upgraded plumbing, and i learned from the company making the upgrades that every tent would soon be completed. Updating the kitchen, too. Positioned on a ledge that peers directly into the western sunset, one relaxes with a beer as the sun goes down. We were afamily of four with two teens, and there were only two other guests in camp on the first night, and six other guests on night two. Most guests are American or French. Great place to use as a base for exploring Tanangire. All four of us loved it. Staff was warm and helpful. It provides a good base and great access into the central and remote southern parts of the park. It is relatively simple and modestly stylish camp, and we got a real small lodge experience

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sejlriceRingoesNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights with a family of 5 - with two tents next door to each other. As a number of other reviews have suggested, the location is excellent - the restaurant area with the rocks to sit down on overlooking the lake has amazing views with one of the best sunsets we saw in Tanzania. The tents have balconys but the views are not as good as the rock area. We also stayed in Olduvai tented camp which is run as a similar local owned operation, but the differences between the two are all negative for Mawe Ninga:

- the staff are not as friendly - the main guy, as we were leaving, did not appear to be interested at all in saying goodbye;
- the food, at times, was really pretty poor
- the shower really does not work - it was a trickle - and despite asking whether any improvements could be made, nothing changed.

We appreciate that ingredients are hard to get and water is difficult to manage - but the problem for this camp is that it is still a premium price and other places, like Olduvai, seem to manage far better with similar challenges.

This could certainly be a place to stop for a night - the general area is certainly excellent - particularly if you want to get your fill of elephants - whereas Selous had a handful, this area has them in abundance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Voldadbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed at Mawe Ninga for 2 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon in Tanzania. We booked through ATR, who we would highly recommend and who gave a fair description of the accomodation. While this is not high end luxury the location, good service, and authentic feel of the camp make up for it 10 times over. On arrival we were greeted by the friendly staff and shown to our tent/room. The tents are mounted on wooden platforms giving you fantastic views of the lake from every room. There is a terrace to sit and enjoy the view and an en-suite toilet and shower within the tent. The only major let down with the room was the shower pressure which was very poor, but the water was hot. The rooms are clean and free from any kind of insects. In fact we weren't bothered by mosquitos or tse tse flies around the camp at all - although you do drive through an area with tse tse flies on the way to the camp so it's best to keep the windows up in the jeep at this point.
The food in the restaurant was simple but tasty, we weren't ill. There is a terrace to watch the sunset where a fire is lit in the evening which gives a really 'Out of Africa' feel to your stay. Sitting having G&Ts on the rocks watching the sunset, while the hyrax scamper about on the rocks is one of my lasting memories of Africa. Hyraxes resemble big cute guinea pigs (if they'd looked like rats I would have run a mile!).
We went on a walking safari for about an hour before dinner - I wouldn't recommend this. It wasn't really value for money and he didn't see anything. A walk further afield may be more rewarding. The camp is small which adds to the authentic feel. In fact there were only 5 people staying there with us which made it perfect for a honeymoon.
We would definitely recommend Tarangire National Park. It was a good combination with the crater and Serengeti. We also stayed at Plantation Lodge, Oldavai Camp, Serengeti Serena Lodge and Pongwe Beach and Breezes Beach Club on Zanzibar. While Mawe Ninga is by no means a cheap option it is more affordable than some of the luxury tented camps and gives you a more authentic safari feel than the larger lodges. We much preferred this style of camp to the Serena lodge in the Serengeti.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahLondon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

We booked this through ATR Travel - who are vastly overpriced and I'd recommend trying another travel company. We arrived and saw at least 15 large rock rats running around the dinning area - some of them up on the bar. They're quite cute looking but there's too many of them. All the way into the camp were blue and black flags to signal there was a totsi fly infestation in that area (ATR never told us about this)

Our tent was clean and the shower a small trickle of water. I understand that water is scare out in the middle of nowhere but for $280 a night per person I expected a little more.

The staff were lovely and I can't fault their service. There was no choice with the food but it was quite good.

The view is great. There is no walk around Bungunga lake like ATR say on their brochure. It's such so expensive for something that's just OK. There must be more regulations on the Safari industry they seem to charge what they like - the price does not go with the quality.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miquelon332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuillaumeLebouteux, Propriétaire at Maweninga Camp, responded to this review, December 23, 2010
Hello, my name is Denis LEBOUTEUX, the director of Mount Kilimanjaro Safari Club and owner of Maweninga Camp. I would like to reply to this comment as I believe some of it must be commented.
To start with, Rock Rats should not be called as such ; the proper name is Hyrax and like any other wild animal, they are part of the National Park and we can't prevent them from living in rocks around our camp. They are not dangerous, nor are they filthy. There is a large number of them, but our guests like the sight of them and they are good companions when staying at Maweninga.
Tse Tse blue & black flags : This is regulated by park authorities and we can indeed see them in various parts of Tarangire, not only around Maweninga. I have been myself to Tarangire a few times (to say the least...) and all camps/ lodges in the park do have Tse Tse flags surrounding their properties. And I believe ATR do warn their guests about this aspect in their "Reasons to not visit" section.
As for the walk around Lake Burunge, this can be done but you can't walk from the camp as ATR do mention (you first need t head to the Park western border and then start walking from there).
Having said that, I was glad to read that these guests enjoyed our facilities, staff & unbeatable view. And again knowing Tarangire pretty well, I don't think Maweninga is overpriced compared to other properties which would not offer such good value for money.
1 final word about Africa Travel Resource : we have been long time partners and these people do know what they are talking about. They are all Tanzania lovers & experts and they are truly the right people to go with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

A small permanent tented camp site that looks over the Tarangire. The accomodation was good (as good as it gets for a tented camp!), the location and view are unbelievable. The staff were incredibly helpful. Really can't find a bad thing to say about the place!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deaksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
6.8 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
10.0 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
16.6 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#6 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
11.8 mi away
Nimali Tarangire
Nimali Tarangire
#13 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
14.2 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maweninga Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maweninga Camp

Property: Maweninga Camp
Address: | Tarangire National Park, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Mawe Ninga Tented Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing