We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in the Greensboro area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Greensboro
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed two nights for a benefit in the area. We were very satisfied with everything about the place. The restaurant in the hotel is J Butlers. They have a bit of a sports bar feel, not our taste, but the food was good and very prompt. Try the ribs.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Hi Linda,

Thank you for your review! Was this a community benefit that you were attending? We aspire to radiate care in our community. Recently we held a Fall Fest event for community kids, it was a great success. There are a lot of others too. We would love to learn more about the benefit you attended. I love the ribs at J. Butler’s also! There are a lot of great entrees there. Ask our Guests Services Associates for recommendations the next time you are here. Hope you are having a wonderful holiday season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 844 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time staying at this hotel. We were given a military discount which greatly reduced the cost of the room from 160. a night to 95. a night which is the only reason we gave three stars instead of one.
The first room we were given had such a horrible chemical smell that we immediately had to change rooms. We were moved to a new room just down the hall which at first glance was acceptable. After unpacking we heard someone outside our door and after a few minutes we realized it was another couple trying to enter our room. The front desk had given them the same room. The front desk then called our room and asked our name to verify that we were in the right room...that they just moved us to! It was only downhill from there. The clock radio in our room didn't work. Thank goodness for phone alarm app! The window was extremely drafty to the point that the curtain blew out into the room all weekend. It was SO noisy! From road noise to pipe noise during showers in surrounding rooms to hall noise. If it wasn't for a white noise app on my phone it would have been unbearable! The television wouldn't turn on which we found out was because the cord was unplugged from the back of the television. Our key card didn't work numerous times which meant numerous trips to the front desk. The elevators were a nightmare. They were extremely slow which meant long wait times. We took the stairs often to avoid waiting.
We will definitely stay elsewhere when in Greensboro from now on.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 2Bares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We are deeply saddened about your experience here. Our first duty is not only to ensure the satisfaction of our guest, but also to provide special comforts that make our guests feel at home again. This clearly did not happen with your stay and we offer our sincere apologies. I have spoken with our Guest Services Manager about your experience with our staff in order to ensure that the incident is not repeated. Also, our maintenance team has been dispatched to check out your concerns with the rooms as well as the elevators and pipe noise. We understand that first impressions are important. We only hope that you will give us another chance to prove our determination to deliver an exceptional experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and recently stayed at the DoubleTree in Greensboro and were a little disappointed. Our room was not quite as clean as I would have preferred and a little small for the money spent. The hotel was full during our stay and rather loud. Overall, we would not be inclined to return as we have spend much less and had a much nicer room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyP1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

I too am disappointed that your stay was not the value that you expected. Your room should always be clean and impressive when you stay with us. We really do want to see every guest walk away with a rewarding experience. I apologize for any noise disturbances as well. If you will send me your information, I will notate your records so that you can be placed in a room away from any large groups for future Hilton stays. We really hope that you will give us another shot to provide you with exceptional service. We value your loyalty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful. The bed and bath were clean. But in general the hotel carpet had many stains and looked dirty. We had 3 light fixtures that were broken in our room and we let the staff know but it wasn't changed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

I am glad to hear that our staff was friendly and responsive. I apologize that there were some maintenance issues when you stayed. I do invite you to stay tuned to news from our team as there are some great changes coming very soon that will take care of any maintenance concerns that you had. You are a valued guest and we want to provide you with that rewarding experience that you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

My 10 year old daughter and I stayed here the night before an event to be held in the hotel. Self parking was easy and convenient. Lobby was spotless. Reception desk saw us immediately and we were given our keys right away. The elevator was slow, and strangely small - and was not working well the following morning which necessitated a couple of round-trips over 12 flights of stairs. This unwelcome workout was the only bad part of our stay. The hotel room was large and comfortable, looked brand new. Bathrooms were perfectly maintained. The event held in the ballrooms also was beautifully done. Overall we were impressed with this hotel and would certainly stay again...on the 1st or 2nd floor.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluesnail1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thanks for the feedback. We are delighted to see that overall you were impressed with your stay. I apologize for the elevator issue. It has been corrected and you shouldn't experience that again. We want to ensure that all of your stay is the best it can be and we look forward to having you again when you're in town. Also, there is another elevator that is larger and convenient to our lobby as well. Like us on Facebook for newsfeeds about local happenings in the area and at our hotel. We have some exciting things coming our way! You can find us by typing DoubleTreebyHiltonGreensboro in your Facebook search bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Wonderful staff, nicely appointed rooms, and great location. I have stayed in several hotels in this area due to work and Greensboro has some nice hotels, but this hotel stands above the rest, my mother is not a big fan of hotels but she raves about this one. I definitely will stay again, great value for all of the amenities that you receive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you Sharon,

It is an absolute honor to read your review. Everything about our brand gears towards making our guests feel comfortable and at home again after tiring travels. I am so glad to see that you and your mother enjoy staying with us. By the way, we are giving away a free weekend stay with breakfast and a $50.00 Amazon gift card in our Thankful Thursday’s sweepstakes on Facebook. This is the last week of it and one lucky winner will be chosen this Thursday. If you haven’t already, login to our Facebook page and click on the Thankful Thursday’s Tab to enter. It’s very easy, just follow the steps and tell us what you are thankful for. Enjoy your holidays and good luck!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a Hotel you want forget best place to stay in the world friendly staff clean rooms great food this hotel has it all the location is perfect it is center to everything the staff go above and beyond to satisfy you

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#7 of 77 in Greensboro
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Greensboro Coliseum
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Greensboro
Hyatt Place Greensboro
#18 of 77 in Greensboro
555 reviews
7.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greensboro - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro

Address: 3030 W Gate City Blvd, Greensboro, NC 27403-3652
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range: $104 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find a rewarding experience nestled in the heart of Greensboro at The DoubleTree by Hilton. Centrally located just 15 minutes from Piedmont Triad International Airport, just off interstates 40 and 73. From reservation to check out, a warm and inviting staff will create a simple and pleasurable stay beginning with a warm chocolate chip cookie at check in and the luxurious comfort of our Sweet Dreams bed. Here at The DoubleTree by Hilton, we know it's the little things that matter most and we are dedicated to anticipating your needs to make your stay the best it can be. Come stay with us, there is a warm cookie and a sweet dream with your name on it ready and waiting for you!Accommodations Include: 175 Guest RoomsSweet Dreams by DoubleTree sleep experienceWiFi throughout the hotelCable T.V. with premium channelsAlarm clock radio MP3 connectivityUSA Today availableTelephone with voicemail and data portIn room coffee/tea providedAt your service:Same day laundrySelf parking24 hour Business Center24 hour Fitness by PrecorIndoor PoolSundry Shop with ATMSurrounding Attractions:Greensboro Coliseum ComplexGreensboro Aquatic CenterACC Hall of FameFour Seasons Towne CenterThe Koury Convention CenterNC A&T UniversityUNCGGreensboro CollegeGuilford CollegeGuilford Technical Community CollegeHistoric Downtown GreensboroThe International Civil Rights Center & MuseumWet- n-Wild Emerald Point Water ParkThe Shops at Friendly CenterFriendly Shopping Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Greensboro Hotel Greensboro
Doubletree Greensboro
Greensboro Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing