We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but Wi-Fi only available in Lobby area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro
Ranked #24 of 77 Hotels in Greensboro
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location but Wi-Fi only available in Lobby area.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Location was good, rooms were very comfortable, but not having wireless access in the rooms was a HUGE inconvenience. Do they expect every guest traveling with an IPad, Tablet, Smart Phone to all congregate in the lobby to get a signal? Amenities such as buffet breakfast and pool (small - better called an oversized hot tub), were less than expected compared to most hotels in this class range.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    233
    141
    63
    60
See reviews for
223
115
62
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had the pleasure of again staying at Doubletree when in Greensboro, NC. The hotel is very nice, located amidst just about every kind of restaurant you can think of ranging from a walk across the street to a 5 minute drive. Rooms were spacious and clean and the staff, all friendly and accommodating. Dining is offered at the attached J. Butler's Bar & Grill, which I would rate average while very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This property has the potential to be excellent but during my stay I encountered too many issues to over look and since my last several Hilton brand stays have been less than great it didn't help and made it hard to overlook the little things.

I arrived late, after midnight, and when I entered the room I was hit with a blast of heat. The heater was on and it was about 85 degree in the room! Not exactly a comfortable temperature in a room. It was late, I was beat and didn't feel like moving anymore for the day. The next thing I noticed was the bathroom was less than clean. Again, tired and didn't feel like dealing with it.

The following morning after getting less than a few hours of sleep I went down for breakfast and the best word to describe the quality of breakfast is...well, there isn't one because there wasn't any quality.. Their standard powered egg mix was runny, bacon was fatty and under cooked, sausage had an odd flavor and was barely microwaved, biscuits were hard and cold, and they were out of certain items because "their truck hadn't arrived yet" based on the servers statement. The second and third morning wasn't much of improvement.

Because of a very hectic work schedule, I opted for room service at night and it was decent but overpriced as with any hotel. The chicken quesadilla was very good.

After I returned from work, at around 3:45pm, when I entered the room I noticed I did receive any housekeeping services that day. There was no "do not disturbed" sign left on my door, no letter under the door explaining why, and simply no services rendered.

Now, I expressed my issues and spoke with, I believe her name was Crystal, who was the General Manager. I explained everything I had experienced and she was very apologetic and said she would look into the issues I had a little further. She also took off the charges for my first night of the stay. I appreciated her listening and attempting to correct the issues.

It is a nice property and has a good location, if I didn't experience the issues I did I would have easily given it five stars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCTVTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTManager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our property during your stay in our area. We are very sorry for the problems you encountered. We have fixed heater issues and have addressed the other issues with our housekeepers. We’re glad in some small way that we could remedy your stay. We hope that you give us another opportunity for a better experience.
-Crystal Bonaparte, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable bed. Was told no wireless in room despite some stray signals. But really do they expect us to use our iPads in the lounge? very inconvenient. No newspapers on Sunday. Breakfast buffet in restaurant nothing to write home about. Should have hit the waffle house down the road

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank chriw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTManager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We appreciate your feedback on the Internet service at our hotel. We’re sorry for the inconvenience and are currently addressing this issue with our service provider. Thank you for providing feedback from your stay and we hope you’ll consider staying with us again when your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The front desk couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating in taking care of our large group there for a wedding weekend! Nice rooms, great rate! Very friendly service. We had an excellent stay! Would definitely recommend!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ej D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTManager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
It is so wonderful to hear comments like this. We strive to make sure that all of our guests have an experience like yours. Please stay with us again soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is outsstanding and the staff has a so much to do with this. It is within very close proximity to a large mall, many restaurants and other retailers. We needed a little extra help with our room selection and we asked to speak with the manager, Chad Baker. Other than this gentlemen's age, you would think Mr. Baker has 30 years experience in the business. He has also set the tone with his staff. Thank you for an outstanding stay.

Room Tip: Simply ask for assistance when you check in. The staff will help you with your every need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank douglas08131953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My stay here was an excellent one. The staff is super friendly going above and beyond toile my stay a relaxing one. The ro was clean and the bed was so very comfortable. I will stay here from now on whenever I am in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaIfft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Greensboro Coliseum
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#5 of 77 in Greensboro
553 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Greensboro
Hyatt Place Greensboro
#15 of 77 in Greensboro
514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Greensboro
Drury Inn & Suites Greensboro
#12 of 77 in Greensboro
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro
Address: 3030 W Gate City Blvd, Greensboro, NC 27403-3652
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find a rewarding experience nestled in the heart of Greensboro at The DoubleTree by Hilton. Centrally located just 15 minutes from Piedmont Triad International Airport, just off interstates 40 and 73. From reservation to check out, a warm and inviting staff will create a simple and pleasurable stay beginning with a warm chocolate chip cookie at check in and the luxurious comfort of our Sweet Dreams bed. Here at The DoubleTree by Hilton, we know it's the little things that matter most and we are dedicated to anticipating your needs to make your stay the best it can be. Come stay with us, there is a warm cookie and a sweet dream with your name on it ready and waiting for you!Accommodations Include: 175 Guest RoomsSweet Dreams by DoubleTree sleep experienceWiFi throughout the hotelCable T.V. with premium channelsAlarm clock radio MP3 connectivityUSA Today availableTelephone with voicemail and data portIn room coffee/tea providedAt your service:Same day laundrySelf parking24 hour Business Center24 hour Fitness by PrecorIndoor PoolSundry Shop with ATMSurrounding Attractions:Greensboro Coliseum ComplexGreensboro Aquatic CenterACC Hall of FameFour Seasons Towne CenterThe Koury Convention CenterNC A&T UniversityUNCGGreensboro CollegeGuilford CollegeGuilford Technical Community CollegeHistoric Downtown GreensboroThe International Civil Rights Center & MuseumWet- n-Wild Emerald Point Water ParkThe Shops at Friendly CenterFriendly Shopping Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Greensboro Hotel Greensboro
Doubletree Greensboro
Greensboro Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing