We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better service at a Super 8”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Scottsville, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Better service at a Super 8”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

My family got in late at night and checked in. We parked, unloaded our things only to find that the key cards had not been activated! We had to lug all of our luggage back to reception to have the keys activated. The vending machines were only located on certain floors and the person at reception told us the wrong floors. We rode the elevators after midnight trying to find something to drink! There was no in-room wireless at all so my iPad didn't work. The shampoo and conditioner bottles in the room were half empty, which is just disgusting. We asked for extra towels only to be told that there were no extra towels available. There were also no extra blankets or pillows in the room and when I called and asked for extra, I had to argue with the staff member about whether there were any in the closet. The staff was surly. Overall, I was very displeased and certainly will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBooBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    220
    135
    56
    57
See reviews for
201
113
58
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

The Housekeeping staff and Maintenance staff went out of their way to be helpful in every way. My ten day stay was very comfortable...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

The front desk staff both at check-in and check-out were great, and room service was quick delicious and great staff as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChadBaker, Assistant General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Thank you for your comments about our property. Our goal is to provide great customer service to each guest. I will pass on your knid comments to the entire team and J. Butlers Restaurant. We hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Stayed here with my family for New Year's Eve. We got a great rate and were really pleased with the lovely rooms. Check in was very easy and we each got a yummy warm cookie. I was concerned that our room was right next to the elevator. Knowing it was New Year's Eve, I expected a lot of noise overnight, but we didn't hear a thing. Overall, the hotel exceeded our expectations for the price we paid ($75/night).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChadBaker, Assistant General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Great to hear you enjoyed New Years in Greensboro this year. I am also pleased to hear you enjoyed our signature DoubleTree chocolate chip cookies with walnuts. Thank you for your kind comments and the entire appreciates you choosing our property to celebrate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

No in-room wireless, so iPads and iPhones must operate on the sketchy 3G available in the area.

The hotel is average at best and I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwardaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChadBaker, Assistant General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
We are currently working to get a wireless network throughout our entire hotel. In the meantime we do offer wireless in the lobby, restaurant, and all meeting rooms. We will continue to make changes to better serve our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayed on New years eve 2011. Great rate. J Butlers restaurant next door was very good and reasonably priced. Highly recommend if in the Greensboro area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radionite1043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChadBaker, Assistant General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
I am gald to hear you brought in the New Year at our hotel. We are very nicely located off I-40 and the restaurant J. Butlers provides a very convienient location to dine for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mars Hill, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

I stayed at the Greensboro DoubleTree for one night to break up a long trip to Raleigh at Christmas. The location is excellent, right next to I-40, with easy return access. The public areas are comfortable and attractive. The lobby is a soaring, light-filled space that leads invitingly to Reception. There I was fortunate to be greeted by Chad, who was courteous and prompt. I didn't know at the time that he was the assistant manager, but now I can see how, under his supervision, the other members of the staff are professional and efficient. (I suspect that he must also work for a good manager!) The room I was assigned was more spacious than I have come to expect from Hilton properties in general, so that was a welcome surprise. It was also attractively furnished. I must also commend Tanya who was on duty when I checked out. I might mention as well that I was treated with attentive patience in the restaurant; not all servers are as courteous to solo travelers as those at J. Butlers were. In short, I have found a new layover spot on my trips to the Triangle, and if I ever have need to stay longer in Greensboro, it will be at the DoubleTree.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJK1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Greensboro Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#4 of 76 in Greensboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.9 mi away
O.Henry Hotel
O.Henry Hotel
#1 of 76 in Greensboro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Greensboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro
Address: 3030 W Gate City Blvd, Greensboro, NC 27403-3652
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find a rewarding experience nestled in the heart of Greensboro at The DoubleTree by Hilton. Centrally located just 15 minutes from Piedmont Triad International Airport, just off interstates 40 and 73. From reservation to check out, a warm and inviting staff will create a simple and pleasurable stay beginning with a warm chocolate chip cookie at check in and the luxurious comfort of our Sweet Dreams bed. Here at The DoubleTree by Hilton, we know it's the little things that matter most and we are dedicated to anticipating your needs to make your stay the best it can be. Come stay with us, there is a warm cookie and a sweet dream with your name on it ready and waiting for you!Accommodations Include: 175 Guest RoomsSweet Dreams by DoubleTree sleep experienceWiFi throughout the hotelCable T.V. with premium channelsAlarm clock radio MP3 connectivityUSA Today availableTelephone with voicemail and data portIn room coffee/tea providedAt your service:Same day laundrySelf parking24 hour Business Center24 hour Fitness by PrecorIndoor PoolSundry Shop with ATMSurrounding Attractions:Greensboro Coliseum ComplexGreensboro Aquatic CenterACC Hall of FameFour Seasons Towne CenterThe Koury Convention CenterNC A&T UniversityUNCGGreensboro CollegeGuilford CollegeGuilford Technical Community CollegeHistoric Downtown GreensboroThe International Civil Rights Center & MuseumWet- n-Wild Emerald Point Water ParkThe Shops at Friendly CenterFriendly Shopping Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Greensboro Hotel Greensboro
Doubletree Greensboro
Greensboro Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing