We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Greensboro
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Easy access off I-40, plenty of free parking.
Friendly and helpful staff. Warm cookies at checkin.
Clean well maintained rooms. Plenty of restaurants within a short distance of the hotel.
I did not experience any problems during my stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChadBaker, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

You have stated exactly what I believe our property encompasses. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff work very hard to keep the property in great condition. Our front desk staff works very hard to provide great customer service. Also the location is second to none. Thank you for your kind comments and drop by anytime for a DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie with walnuts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

780 - 786 of 845 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for a recent convention across the street. Stayed there to avoid the convention crowd and site said it was walking distance to convention center at Sheraton. While it is close, there is a very busy street to cross, a large underpass on I-40 to go under (didn't look too well lit at night) and then there is no quick access to get to convention center without going a distance around the fence. Ended up driving and traffic is very heavy at rush hour times. The hotel is very nice but was surprised by the "wired" internet only and is was extremely slow in speed (will not support streaming video). Also, there is no contenental or full breakfast without paying and using the attached restaurant. Restaurant was good but nothing I ate there was memorable. All in all, the hotel is good but nothing there is exceptional that would make the stay exceptional.

Room Tip: No other restaurants within walking distance. Use unmarked side entrance to parking lot to avoid il...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reliabilityguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChadBaker, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Thank you for your response. We apprecaite you choosing the DoubleTree Greensboro. We are very close to the convention but as stated there is a busy street to cross to get convention center. However, our property is the closet hotel to the convention center. I would like to welocme you back to our property because I feel that we can make your next stay exceptional. Our goal at the property is to provide great service to each and every guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I use to live in Greensboro but now live in TX. I visit from time to time and it is always a short stay. I choose the Double Tree due to its awesome location to the mall, movie theater, dining and ease of access to the highway. The staff looked at me like I was lost when I came in at 3am but after showing proper ID they were more than happy to help me out.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChadBaker, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree Greensboro. We welocme you back anytime you decide to travel in from Texas. Our property is very close to many entertainment options including Four Season Mall, movie theaters, and dining option. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This hotel is attractive and well-maintained. The guest rooms are spacious and pleasantly decorated. I found the location easy to get to and quite convenient to my downtown Greensboro meeting.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dearnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChadBaker, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2011

Thank you for your response. Our property is in great condition thanks to our great houskeeping and maintenance staff. We are located very close to Historic Downtown Greensboro just off of I-40. We welcome you back to property in the future where you will always be greeted with a warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very roomy with king size bed and free wired internet. Guest Services excellent! There is a small store and on-site restaurant with breakfast buffet. Close to I-40 & I-77 and lots of restaurants. Had to take cold shower next morning due to mud and dirt in hot water line, but not hotel's fault. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lealey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChadBaker, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2011

Thank you for your response to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotels Greensboro. We pride ourselves on providing great service to each and every guest and it sounds like that is exactly what you experienced. Our property is very practical with very spacious rooms. I do apologize for the shower as it was a city wide issue and the water had to cutoff for a period of time. This caused sediment to come out of the shower head when it is first turned on. Thank you for your understanding and I hope we will see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Staff was very organized, pleasant, prepared. Food was delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deanna k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChadBaker, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Thank you for the response. Our catering /event staffs led by Omar and Pamela work very hard to insure meetings are seamless and enjoyable. We welcome you and your group back to the property anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I have not stayed at this location sense it was a Howard Johnson's back in the 70s. I was pleasantly surprised to find bright lobby, nice clean rooms and very friendly people. Bed and pillows much nicer than a Hampton. Inn. It has a clean restaurant attached for casual meals. l would rate Double Tree a great value for your money. Will be back

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranges_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChadBaker, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Thank you for your comments. This is definenetly not the Howard Johnson of old. It is a fresh, vibrant DoubleTree and we appreciate you noticing the hardwork put in to turn this into a great property. J Butlers restaurant is attached to the property and provides a great place for causal dinner with friends. We look forward to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#6 of 77 in Greensboro
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Greensboro Coliseum
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Greensboro
Hyatt Place Greensboro
#17 of 77 in Greensboro
556 reviews
3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Greensboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro

Address: 3030 W Gate City Blvd, Greensboro, NC 27403-3652
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range: $104 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find a rewarding experience nestled in the heart of Greensboro at The DoubleTree by Hilton. Centrally located just 15 minutes from Piedmont Triad International Airport, just off interstates 40 and 73. From reservation to check out, a warm and inviting staff will create a simple and pleasurable stay beginning with a warm chocolate chip cookie at check in and the luxurious comfort of our Sweet Dreams bed. Here at The DoubleTree by Hilton, we know it's the little things that matter most and we are dedicated to anticipating your needs to make your stay the best it can be. Come stay with us, there is a warm cookie and a sweet dream with your name on it ready and waiting for you!Accommodations Include: 175 Guest RoomsSweet Dreams by DoubleTree sleep experienceWiFi throughout the hotelCable T.V. with premium channelsAlarm clock radio MP3 connectivityUSA Today availableTelephone with voicemail and data portIn room coffee/tea providedAt your service:Same day laundrySelf parking24 hour Business Center24 hour Fitness by PrecorIndoor PoolSundry Shop with ATMSurrounding Attractions:Greensboro Coliseum ComplexGreensboro Aquatic CenterACC Hall of FameFour Seasons Towne CenterThe Koury Convention CenterNC A&T UniversityUNCGGreensboro CollegeGuilford CollegeGuilford Technical Community CollegeHistoric Downtown GreensboroThe International Civil Rights Center & MuseumWet- n-Wild Emerald Point Water ParkThe Shops at Friendly CenterFriendly Shopping Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Greensboro Hotel Greensboro
Doubletree Greensboro
Greensboro Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing