We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated Courtyard needing a service makeover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Greensboro
Ranked #30 of 77 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My first experience was a line of 3 people waiting to checkin at 8PM and one person on the desk. After 15 mins of waiting and getting to the desk the reception given was less than pleasant, and not very helpful at all. Rooms are the new renovated style and clean/comfortable. The location is near the highway and after some tricky negiotation was given a room on the minor road side. Property needs some serious work on customer service in the evening. The following morning checkout was very nice and helpful, a complete 180. Overall it was fine for a one night stay

Room Tip: Highfloor room that does not sit near the highway, you will hear the traffic all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MATT W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 189 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last year. It is a convenient location for me, but I doubt that I will stay here again.

As a Marriott Gold level member, I expect a little upgrade in service. Both times I was not greeted as a Gold level member and have been given a room facing the highway which is quite noisy. I have had to go back to the desk and ask for a room overlooking the courtyard (they have balconies or patios as well which the street side does not). The rooms are fine except the conversations in adjoining rooms can be easily overheard. There was a small refrigerator (nice touch) in my room that I did not notice until I was packing to leave. The bathroom was pretty basic but functional. They only provided plastic cups in the rooms: a strange occurrence given that every other Courtyard I have stayed in (about 50) has had real glassware. The man in the bistro was kind enough to give me a cocktail glass and was very helpful in other ways. Breakfast came with my room rate and was filling and well cooked. Dinner menu options are limited to sandwiches, again a step down from the normal Courtyard. The pool is outdoors in the courtyard. It was not open yet, or at least I hope not because it was filthy. This is not a bad hotel; it just isn't quite up to par with other Courtyards. There is another Courtyard by the airport that I might try next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard. You might also ask for one with a large balcony (they var...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jegolf20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have stayed at this property for years when I am traveling on business in the Greensboro area. This property has finally finished it extensive makeover and now has the new Courtyard decor.

This is an older Courtyard and has the initial design with the courtyard in the middle of the property, which I always liked. There is something pleasant about being able to sit on your balcony facing the courtyard or actually going down to the courtyard and pool area.

This property sits at the intersection of Wendover and I-40. So, you do get road noise. However, with everything closed, you don't really hear the traffic, especially in the rooms facing the courtyard. Plus, there are plenty of shopping and restaurant options in the area.

I had no issues with the staff. When I arrived, there was only 1 front desk person working and he was very involved with a customer that had multiple rooms with different start and end dates. He handled the situation well and was very apologetic for my wait and offered complimentary choice from the store, which I declined, but was a nice gesture.

This remains my "go to" property in Greensboro. The updated rooms are nice and the pricing for this property as a business traveler is very competitive.

Room recommendation - ask for a room facing the courtyard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bulldog82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I REALLY like this "Marriott" property because it is an ideal location for families and business travelers when they need to shop at major retailers and dine in at various restaurants nearby. The hotel's interior decor was upgraded to a modern/sleek look. The Staff are famous for their friendliness and knowledge expertise of the local area. The hotel food selection is very fresh tasting. The rooms are HUGE in my opinion and the view from their "Courtyard" patio/balcony is pleasant. I always have a comfortable/relaxing experience here that REJUVENATES me each and every hotel stay that I enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelonieTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The upgrades that Marriott has made to its Courtyard properties are nice. The lobby layout is fresh and open. It seems particularly good for business travelers. The lobby cafe is open all day (although did not open until 7 am which seemed a bit late for someone wanting a latte) with a small variety of food and beverage. The actual courtyard itself is nicely laid out with outdoor seating areas for good weather. The rooms were clean and what you would expect. The fitness room offers quality machines but is very limited. Our experience with the staff was mixed. I expected warm Southern hospitality and accomodation. We got that from some staff but not from others. The cafe staff person was not overly friendly and the woman who checked us in seemed slightly confused and bothered. Overall, the property was nice, the staff could be better.

Room Tip: First floor courtyard side opens right up to the courtyard with a sliding glass door - a nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Nice hotel, my family had 4 rooms here on an overnight trip down south. Good location, nice staff. Starbucks is great but the staff seemed confused whether or not there should have been complimentary coffee set up on the weekend. We would stay again!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank MadeInMichigan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here several years ago before the updates. The new courtyard upgrades have made a big difference! Comfortable, clean, convenient. Walking distance to Tripps or Cracker Barrel. Very helpful and welcoming staff from the front desk to housekeeping. No mini-fridge or microwave in our room - but there is a microwave in the lobby. Very close to the highway - so there is some traffic noise.

Room Tip: Rooms facing wendover may be more quiet than those on the back that face the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheaf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Greensboro Wendover
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#7 of 77 in Greensboro
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Greensboro
SpringHill Suites Greensboro
#10 of 77 in Greensboro
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Greensboro
Hyatt Place Greensboro
#18 of 77 in Greensboro
556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greensboro-Wendover
6 mi away
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
#19 of 77 in Greensboro
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Greensboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Greensboro

Address: 4400 W Wendover Ave, Greensboro, NC 27407-2600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range: $94 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Greensboro 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Greensboro features our new lobby with inviting spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The Bistro provides guests with healthy food & beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Our hotel is close to Greensboro Coliseum Complex, Four Seasons Town Center, UNC Greensboro and Greensboro Piedmont Triad International Airport. Business travelers will enjoy our proximity to Daimler Chrysler, Guilford Mills, Syngenta and Xpedx International Paper. We offer a well-equipped fitness center and outdoor pool, a 24-hour business center, and boarding pass printing service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Greensboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Greensboro Hotel Greensboro
Greensboro Courtyard
Greensboro Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing