We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mighty Fine Breakfast, Mighty Nice Folks”
Review of Herbie's Place

Herbie's Place
Ranked #211 of 913 Restaurants in Greensboro
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Most every time we visit grandchildren in Greensboro, we try to find time to eat at Herbie's. Plentiful parking, spacious dining hall, clean restrooms - really nice people and breakfast food that's as good as breakfast food gets, all at a reasonable price. It's kinda like a glorified Waffle House in terms of menu, so don't go expecting the Waldorf-Astoria eggs Benedict. But in terms of real-life people serving other real-life people breakfast, being friendly and providing a really nice start to the day, Herbie's IS the place !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OldGeorgiaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia C, Owner at Herbie's Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

OldGeorgiaBoy,
We truly appreciate your kind words regarding Herbie's Place. It is always our goal to provide a fun, welcoming, family environment for all of our guests. We are glad that you are experiencing that. Thank you for your patronage and we hope you will bring your grandchildren in the next time you are visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 62 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Think Waffle House but not as dirty/sketchy. Large bar to belly up to. The food was really good with a wide array of options. good for anytime but especially good for a hangover.

Thank BeerFoodNaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia C, Owner at Herbie's Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are so glad that you have enjoyed Herbie's Place. Thank you for recognizing our huge selection of menu items and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We visited Herbie's Place on our way back from the Greensboro Science Center. It's on the most direct path from the Center to Winston-Salem. We really weren't expecting much based on previous reviews. We were wrong.

Although the building is situated on a very heavily trafficked thoroughfare, it's set well back from the road. Indeed, one of the windowed sides of the dining room looks out upon mature greenery complete with active bird houses.

Inside, the diner is prototypical, with vast expanses of stainless steel in the open kitchen area, stools at a counter, and many fixed-seat tables. The menu is also diner-typical, featuring burgers, salads, and lunch specials, as well as a fairly extensive, and appropriately priced, children's menu. Which was great because we had two 3 1/2 year olds in tow.

I ordered a double cheeseburger, all the way, that came with almost perfect hot chips for about $7. My nephew ordered chicken fingers, which came with French fries for about $6. (I may be off somewhat on the prices. At the time I thought they were more than reasonable for the quality and amount of food served.) Our server brought the meals while they were piping hot. She also brought one of the girls a chocolate milk which she proceeded to spill while attempting to open it. Both the waitress and a bus person sped over not only cleaning up the mess but also assuring the child that she wasn't in trouble. How like home.

The only significant criticism I have of Herbie's is the lack of attention to their rest rooms. They're not filthy, but they are a long way from spotless.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia C, Owner at Herbie's Place, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Bren,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review about Herbie's Place. We truly appreciate customers like you and take all of your feedback into great consideration. We hope that you had a blast at the Science Center and hope that you will be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I visited on 7/7/13 for a late breakfast. I had the Denver omelette which was great! I got it with all egg whites, happy to be able to customize. The grits were a little bland but some salt and pepper freshened them right up. My coffee never ran low and the service was friendly and helpful. I'll be back soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hovym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

fast service, great prices, been there a few times food always hot and good.Try the cheese burger, not five guys, but half the cost.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beachbum045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia C, Owner at Herbie's Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

beachbum045,
We are glad to hear that you are so happy with our service! We pride ourselves on giving our customers great value. Please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herbie's Place also viewed

 

Been to Herbie's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing