We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For us on a budget !”
Review of Shoney's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shoney's
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
California City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“For us on a budget !”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

And if you are retired and what a taste that's close to home, but not quite. And does not leave your pocket book dry. Then these guys are my choice.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnnaIreland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    6
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not so impressed”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I had the "blackened chicken" and it turned out to be a seasoned chicken breast that was not even of good quality. The soup on the salad bar was not ready by the lunchtime which is when I arrived. Not impressed at all.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank senegallove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

My grandmother never made food taste like that ! The next I have to come to this area they'll probably be closed for lack of sales.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Savings for those who can put it down!”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Another one that was close to my place of stay while away at the Red Roof Inn 615 Regional Rd. More to that at home cooked meal feeling as well as flavor and these guys do, do take out as well. And if I must say the macaroni is not my cup of tea from these guys, so I would say to stay away from the macaroni and enjoy your meal

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food but bad service”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Chicken pecan salad was great! Waitress offering a takeout container with the receipt and credit card inside was just unsanitary.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoney's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing