We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't beat a $6 lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
Ranked #320 of 885 Restaurants in Greensboro
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
Ontario
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Can't beat a $6 lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Cheesburger, fries and coke for under six bucks, hard to beat and yes it was good. Five minutes from the hotel too so great for a quick take out

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank chrisneilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    25
    14
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Food was great, but the service was very slow. I was with my son, and a family of four that sat down after we did got served before we did. The manager berated an employee right next to our table. You just don't do that.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthaS670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“No service left and went next door”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have never ! Several couples/families got up and walked out - I told them we were going to the restaurant next door - surprisingly they followed and we left our cars at Steak n' Shake - young and old alike. We should have sued - like some would have but we didn't, nor did we call the media - which we should have after other restaurant chains have been done by a certain race. The mostly ethnic work force walked around by tables and lobby and ignored the mostly non ethnic diners. Some were sitting before we got there, we sat down and for 20 minutes watched as they were a buzz about everything but doing their job ignoring every customer ( they were NOT filling orders ) and we finally got up and told some of the others that were still sitting - we are going next door - come go with us. I have not nor plan on returning to this chain. This country has come to far to regress to such standards. We have many ethnic friends and co workers who are like family and were shocked when we told them of this circumstance at Greensboro's Steak & Shake. It has been a while prior and things may have changed some since then - - they are still there = however they left a bad taste with many that night - and we still remember.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wilkesboro, NC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“s - l - o - w”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Slowest service I ever got in a restaurant. Took forever for us to be seated (and there were lots of empty tables). While we were standing there waiting to be seated a customer leaving the restaurant looked at us and said "it's very slow!" Once we finally were seated it took forever for the waitress to come to our table. We ordered common stuff from the menu but it took a very long time to get the food. The food, once it arrived, was tasty!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank freakingumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Super restaurant to check out when in the mood for a greasy burger and yummy milkshake. The fries are great. This place is always hopping so you can sometimes expect a short wait but the food typically comes out quickly and is worth the price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hovym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

Greensboro, NC
 
Greensboro, NC
 
Greensboro, NC
 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing