We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Darryl's Wood Fired Grill
Ranked #10 of 886 Restaurants in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Veasley St
Transit: Use the Greensboro Transit Authority Bus System. Mon- Sat. use Route 11 stop 3 at the High Point Rd. and Pinecroft intersection, and Sun. take Route 25 stop 3 at the same intersection. More information regarding the Greensboro Transit Authority is available via http://www.greensboro-nc.gov/departments/GDOT/divisions/gta/routes/
Description: Since 1971 we’ve been known for our 100% wood fire grilled steaks, ribs, and Southern classics. We expanded in 2010 with a $2 million renovation that included two outdoor fire pits, an outdoor bar, large patio, themed seating areas, new large bar, business bar, and state of the art kitchen. Although steaks and ribs are our specialty, we offer a large and diverse, made from scratch menu. With a World Class Bar program consisting of 24 craft beers on draft, 24 wines by the glass, and a 10-page menu– we’re sure you’ll find something to please your taste buds. Our two-story restaurant has plenty of room for all your friends and we’re eager to accommodate groups of all sizes up to 130 people. You can even reserve the fire pit areas and theatre room for private events! Enjoy your meal in a glamorous theatre room, floating ferris wheel seat, elevator booth, jailhouse or snuggle up with S’mores for dessert by one of our outdoor fire pits. Located across from the Koury Convention Center and close by the Greensboro Coliseum.
Trinity, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Our first visit and it was delicious! Waiting staff was wonderful. We had a party of 7 and they were very accomodating. They gave our 3 kids a tour of the restaurant and took their pictures in the jail. Fun atmosphere and the food is fabulous. The shrimp and grits are delicious and I had to share my cappucino cake. Everyone we were with loved their meals and we will definitely go back!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank christyc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
You had to share your cake??? Oh no! ;) That cake is too good to share...or is it so good that you have to share the joy? :) Have you been back since this first visit? We'd love to know! Did your children enjoy the tour?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    192
    59
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

First off let me say that the atmosphere was absolutely wonderful. The themes are great and there is not a bad seat in the house. The staff was also incredible and several made a point of stopping by our table to check on us as well as carry on general and helpful conversation. The food was not only great tasting its presentation was wonderful as well. The menu has quite the selection and will satisfy even the pickiest eaters. Darryl's is a must place to go when in Greensboro, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank drmangum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
What a great review! We're glad that your visit was so satisfying! Our Culinary team is absolutely spectacular, and they make sure that each dish is pleasing to the palate and the eye. Thanks for noticing! We see you're near one of our future sites...did you know we're looking to be there in the 2013-2014 timeframe? Have you been back to see us in Greensboro?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Little pricey but good”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Was a little pricey for Greensboro's standards. Outback has a better steak, but that's my opinion. Service was good, even though they were fairly busy at the time. Was open when everyone else was closing

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whitcheywoman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
We're happy to see you had stellar service. It's one of the many aspects of our restaurant that we pride ourselves on. Another being the perfected steaks we prepare. However, it seems you didn't have as wonderful as an experience as we would have hoped with our Certified Angust Beef. It's certainly not like us, and we are perplexed as to how this happened. Is there any other feedback you could provide to us on your visit? What kind of steak did you order?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional Beer List and Food for Great Prices”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I visited Darryl's once about 8 Years ago and had a good experience. About 3 months ago I went back on a whim and was pleasantly surprised with the changes they have made. The beer list was outstanding with flights only costing $5 with 4 choices in 4oz pours. I introduced several friends to this little gem and combined over the last 3 months we have made over 20 visits to Darryls and have never been disappointed. Recently we returned to find that they have now added a RESERVE BEER LIST to their already existing 100 selection list. The RESERVE list choices are great and priced for value. If you are a beer geek and looking for a great place in Greensboro that you are probably over looking, go to Darryl's and take part in some great beer, food and service.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mchamuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for this excellent review and for coming back after all those years! Don't go away that long again. We'd miss you! Shhhh...don't tell anyone, but to be honest, we have quite a few Beer Geeks on our staff, and are extremely happy to welcome fellow Beer Geeks to enjoy in our selection! Is there a beer that you didn't see on our menu? One that you would like us to look into serving? We hope you are still coming as often to visit us! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better than I would have gues”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This place was very good. We had six people in our party and all of the meal were cooked right. I had the rib eye, but with grill marks. Nice job!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lookoutman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Glad you enjoyed our Ribeye over the Wood Fired Grill. Our grill provides some of the best flavor to everything that touches it, especially our Certified Angus Beef items! What all did everyone else order? Did anyone try our Grilled Salmon or Shrimp?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darryl's Wood Fired Grill also viewed

 

Been to Darryl's Wood Fired Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing