We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Sunday Brunch”
Review of Tripps Restaurant

Tripps Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 886 Restaurants in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Roxboro NC
Level Contributor
134 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A great Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

They open early on Sunday for brunch and they food is excellent. Started with a Bloody Mary at Noon. The omlet was excellent. They serve a very good muffin while you are waiting for your meal. Prices are very reasonable.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank channingway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    71
    37
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Value, Good Food, Pleasant Atmosphere”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Tripp's is conveniently located and rarely has a wait to be seated. I love the entree salad selection (priced under $10) and my husband enjoys the mini-bread loaves and the pasta dishes. He usually brings some of it home and he is a big eater. When we order a dessert, the chocolate ones have been wonderful. Tripp's is a great alternative to Village Tavern, which is often too crowded and priced higher.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLovers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Nice but not as good as we expected. Waitress for very nice. The food was okay. The mashed potatoes were lukewarm. The prime rib was okay. The dining area lighting was a bit too dark.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pam-Mom2NickScottRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Upscale at a Good Value”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Tripps is a long time favorite for everyone in Greensboro. The food is always fresh and the staff is friendly and welcoming. I had the sirloin and shrimp. The steak was cooked a perfect medium rare and the shrimp were crisp with a wonderful spicy cocktail sauce. The servings are generous and the prices are fair.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SharonGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Steakhouse wannabe”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Recommended by Springhill Suites. My wife and I got the free appetizer, firecracker shrimp. Very good. Served in a large glass that is half full of cabbage to create a bigger display.
Cocktails, My wife ordered a Margarita which was served in another large showy glass. She said the drink was OK.
I ordered my usual, Vodka martini, rocks, lemon twist. The bartender obviously had no clue. The martini arrived in a shaker, but this was not left, just poured at the table, more show. The martini was terrible. Lemon juice had been added to it and the twist was a lemon wedge.
Main course, steaks were nicely flavored and properly cooked, but tough. If this restaurant is paying for top class beef and aging it as they claim they are getting ripped off.
I had hopes for the creamed spinach, a steakhouse staple. Wrong. Below average.
Nice salad, Nice bread.
Dessert cheesecake was EXCELLENT. Imported from a New York bakery.

So, overall, this restraint was disappointing. Lots of show but very little substance. The steaks at Longhorn would have been better. I've had better cocktails at hole in the wall bars, and all that would have been less expensive.
They need to pay more attention to food quality, and get properly trained bartenders. The cooks and servers were fine.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tripps Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tripps Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing