We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep Coming Back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pho Hien Voung

Pho Hien Voung
Ranked #15 of 885 Restaurants in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Keep Coming Back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

I love this place! PHV remains tops on my list of excellent restaurants in Greensboro. I believe my last review of PHV was April 2013. Most of my visits since then have been for pickup. This was not different and thankfully the food remains top notch. My family all ordered different dishes. Everyone raved over their dish. Two people shared one order of Chicken and fried rice. The wings were uniquely perfect (ordered "mild"). The chicken with snow peas and onions was outstanding! I can easily see why this restaurant remains one of Greensboro's most top rated! The pickup service was right on. I hope to return soon for a sit-down lunch or dinner to test the table service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KbarUpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    58
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent quality and choices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We have gone to Pho Hien Voung several times in the past year, and it's consistently very good quality food with excellent service and reasonable prices. The serving sizes are very generous--we usually have an extra full dinner of leftovers to take home. I haven't found the food over-salted or too sweet at all, as another reviewer wrote. I would have noticed since I don't add salt or sugar in my own cooking. My only concern was that parking on a rainy weekend evening was a bit challenging since part of the lot isn't paved. The weekends can be crowded, but if you don't want to wait, just order take out. It's very quick!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ruth4005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go for the Pho”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Had my first taste of Pho in China of all places. Friends recommended this place and it is now a 'go to' place for the family. In addition to the Pho you must try the fresh spring rolls.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jbgsonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of My Favorite Restaurants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Been going here for years. The lunch specials are a great bargain, portions are generous and the food is delicious. Restaurant is very clean and the staff are all very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
310 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Food Overloaded with Sugar and Salt”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Vietnamese/Thai cuisine is not inherently high on the sweetness scale, but you wouldn't know that from dining at Pho Hien Voung. The Tom Yum Shrimp soup was highly spiced, per my request, and would have been excellent had the extraordinary sugar content not ruined the experience. Far too much sugar was also evident in a pork and green beans dish, as well as in the lemongrass chicken. Although the pork and chicken were of high quality, the vast amount of salt used in both dishes was the final deal-breaker.

Although we specified medium hotness for both entrées, neither had any "kick" whatsoever. There were various unlabeled sauces in plastic containers on the table; some added heat, but also altered the flavor of the food. If a meal isn't prepared to specifications in the kitchen, you can't remedy the situation with squeeze bottles at the table.

We ordered a couple of appetizers, but the entrées were brought immediately afterwards. If you want a leisurely procession of courses, you would be well advised to delay ordering the main dishes until any first courses have already been consumed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MichiganBanjoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Hien Voung also viewed

 

Been to Pho Hien Voung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing