We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite place to celebrate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Melting Pot - CLOSED

The Melting Pot
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cone Blvd to the South, Westridge Rd to the North
Description: Indulge in an extraordinary dining experience that you won't find at any other restaurant. Here, you'll discover all the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service and fabulous four-course fondue dinners.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favorite place to celebrate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Atmosphere and service are top notch and the best place to celebrate a special occasion with friends and family

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    10
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
142 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“maybe a chain - but it's off the chain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

what can i say - the place has great food - a bit pricey - but the atmosphere, the closeness at the tables, allows for great coziness.

Helpful?
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You May Need To Take Out A Loan To Dine Here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was looking for a special place to treat my daughter's family with a dining experience.While forewarned that the Melting pot was expensive I must admit that I was unprepared for the final bill. You have two options upon seating, you can choose a prix fixed four-course meal or choose individual courses of cheese, salad, entree,and chocolate desert. You might think choosing individual courses would be less expensive. If that is true than watch out. Dinner for three adults, a grandchild of 4 and another of 12 came to $225.00 with a 18% tip. To be fair this included a beer apiece for two adults and a glass of Malbec for the third. Kids drank water and two adults had coffee to end the meal. As to the food, I am a traditional Swiss fondue aficionado and I found their's left an acidic after-taste instead of the velvety, rich taste I am use to. Maybe it came from the kind of wine or quantity thereof used for their base. The second course Bourguignon based fondue was tasty. I found the duck and recommended teriyaki sirloin somewhat bland but loved the shrimp and my dsughter loved the BBQ beef. Another yes on the salmon and a definite no on the ravaolli. For desert whe chose the Dark Chocolate fondue. It was wonderful and helped end our evening on a sweet note.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We love visiting here and the service has been excellent every time. Every part is good and we will be back often.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lolasmama11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I'd go other places”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The cheese appetizer and desserts are amazing. I would never get the entree again. It is really overpriced for having to basically cook your own food. I'd go to another restaurant that is locally owned over this chain.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyS0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melting Pot also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing