We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A destination unto itself”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Proximity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Proximity Hotel
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A destination unto itself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2009

It's hard to come up with a criticism of the Proximity, except I wish it was a chain. It had everything we were looking for in a night away and more. It seems they've taken everything into consideration, including room layout. We spent a good amount of time just enjoying the design of the lobby and common areas, then our room. All the things that absolutely should be in a good hotel room are there--comfortable bed, sitting area, clean bathroom, microwave, refrigerator, free Internet access. It's also missing some annoyances like hallway noise, LodgeNet, and sadistic parking.
The Proximity is known for its eco-friendliness, but it would be an outstanding hotel even if that weren't the case.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redh4wk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    81
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
73
153
21
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Airy, NC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

The Hotel staff was excellent and very helpful! Very stylish Hotel with Great restaurant on Site. Great Location near many things to see and do including wonderful restaurants and shopping!

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MayberryTourism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

The boy-toy and I stayed here on a whim, last minute decision on our way out west to Boone/Blowing Rock. We had both heard about it separately, and he had seen a last minute special on-line. So I called from the road: they honored the on-line last minute special, and then even upgraded us to a top-floor corner room once we arrived. Our only problem was that we were leaving the next morning, so we didn't get to fully enjoy the hotel. The swimming pool with lanes appealed to the bf. Loved that the elevator runs off it's own stored up energy (and how it is possible that this is the first and only in North America?! and it's in Greensboro?). That there was solar paneling all over the roof. That windows open (not that we tried that, it's crazy hot in middle NC now).
Hmmm, okay, one downer- the breakfast the next morning was not amazing. It was fine, just okay. But the bar the night before stayed open late and I enjoyed a few girlie drinks while the beefcake tried out some scotch.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everitt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

Amazing. They say they are the 'Greenest Hotel in the US'. So, I half expected spartan, ugly decor. Not at ALL! There are many things they have done to make it 'green' - solar panels for the hot water, low flow faucets and toilets, etc. You don't even know it. When I opened the door to the room, I actually said 'Wow'. When is the last time that's happened? Never for me. The property is modern, luxurious, and the staff is excellent. The room was comfortable, well appointed and lots of light from the giant windows. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuigsTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed here for one night and must say it was fantastic! The hotel is very modern, rooms are great, the Bistro staff is superb (Neals and Amy were great!). We were extremely happy with the Proximity, would stay here again and would DEFINITELY recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wshale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
109 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

The hotel still looks brand new and is a first class place. The rooms are large and have large windows. The bathrooms are also huge! The staff at the hotel really make everything come together. They simply can not do enough for you and are there to answer any question. And of course all of the green features of the hotel are a nice touch as well. I highly recommend the Proximity Hotel if you are visiting Greensboro.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WebBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

We stayed at the Proximity Hotel for a week-end trip. On check-in we were upgraded to a larger room with a view of the parking lot. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. The refrigerator in the room made a loud hum and we had to unplug it. There are no drawers so your clothes will be stacked on a shelf. The location was easy to find and close to shopping centers. Wireless Internet is free and fast. The hotel restaurant Print Bistro was just OK. Service was excellent but food is not a destination stop. Our only service glitch in the stay was that the front desk staff gave us directions to a restaurant in Greensboro that had moved to another location. We never found the place and ended up somewhere else. Make sure you go to the Triad Theater for a performance as they do outstanding productions.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.3 mi away
O.Henry Hotel
O.Henry Hotel
#1 of 76 in Greensboro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
2.1 mi away
The Biltmore Greensboro
The Biltmore Greensboro
#8 of 76 in Greensboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#4 of 76 in Greensboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
4.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Greensboro
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Proximity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proximity Hotel

Property: Proximity Hotel
Address: 704 Green Valley Rd, Greensboro, NC 27408-7018
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greensboro
#1 Green Hotel in Greensboro
#2 Family Hotel in Greensboro
#3 Business Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Proximity Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built to use 36% less energy and 30% less water than a comparable hotel, the Proximity Hotel offers a glimpse of the future while celebrating the past. Sustainable practices, custom-designed furnishings, commissioned art and innovative loft-like modern design await guests in every corner of the 147-room luxury "green" hotel and its adjacent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Proximity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Proximity Hotel Greensboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing