We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Class!”
Review of Proximity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Proximity Hotel
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a Good Hotel with high sustainability standards. I always stay here during my business trip, feel comfortable and safe. Just one point: the music in the lobby and around the floors is too loud!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Massimo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 509 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Proximity has good energy. I'm not really into much new age thinking, but everything about this hotel is calming and comfortable, and it's one of the greenest hotels in the country. I travel to Greensboro often and I try to stay at the Proximity whenever I'm in town. I have zero complaints about the amenities, staff, or accommodations. I would highly recommend staying there to anyone passing through Greensboro.

Room Tip: I have stayed here over a dozen times and have not had a 'bad' room, although some do have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aficionado S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here for New Year's celebration and had an amazing time. Beautiful facility with comfortable beds. We walked around the little creek outside and enjoyed the little strip of nature in the middle of town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here on business and the staff was helpful. The room was clean and otherwise pleasant.

The restaurant on the property was excellent. Breakfast was included in my rate, and instead of it being a buffet...it was from the menu. When I made changes to the item, no one hesitated. They were very accomodating.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LFPhileas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I had one night at this hotel. The staff was very helpful and responsive to requests.. We stayed in a King Spa room. The windows were floor to ceiling, overlooking a creek and grassy area. The ceilings were almost 12 feet, making the room seem larger than it was. The tub was very nice and the bed slept very well. Room service was prompt and the food was good. The room had a coffee maker, microwave and mini fridge. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 8th floor. Tall celings and large windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PB62757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We so wanted them to be top notch. They put us in a room they called a king but actually had a Murphy bed. And cost a fortune. We asked if they could get our kid something hot to eat early for breakfast and they said yes but then didnt do it. Just disappointing. We wanted to love this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fellowdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony V, General Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Gosh, we're so embarrassed we didn't take great care of you. Thank you for the feedback.

I'd love to hear more about your experience. Please give me a call at 336-478-9101 when you have the time and inclination.

We want you to love us too!

Cheers,

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was the most positive hotel experience I've ever had. I attended a conference at the Proximity including a 3-night stay, and every moment of it was pleasurable. The place is beautiful, with spacious rooms, floor-to-ceiling windows (and my room overlooked the lovely patio down below), all the right amenities. It was nice to have the option of opening a window - some buildings don't even have that. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are quiet! I never heard any sounds from rooms next door or above me. And the food is excellent!(They also accommodate special needs diets, like gluten-free, very well.) I guess I would use the words "casual elegance" to describe the atmosphere, to say that it felt very comfortable, warm, and hospitable. Besides the place being beautiful, the service was impeccable. Every single server and staff member I came into contact with at the hotel and in the Bistro was gracious, friendly, warm, very attentive, in a way I've never experienced before. Coming from New England I thought perhaps it was the "Southern hospitality", but other conference attendees agreed that this was particularly special. The staff exude genuineness and kindness, the opposite of the formality and stuffiness one might find in other high-end hotels. The man who shuttled me to the airport introduced himself, shook my hand, and at the airport shook my hand again, looked me in the eye and said "don't be a stranger, now." This doesn't happen everywhere!

Room Tip: I enjoyed having a view of the courtyard - although I did hear the music playing out there (softly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen3102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.4 mi away
O.Henry Hotel
O.Henry Hotel
#1 of 77 in Greensboro
572 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
1.9 mi away
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
#19 of 77 in Greensboro
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
2.1 mi away
The Biltmore Greensboro
The Biltmore Greensboro
#8 of 77 in Greensboro
379 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#7 of 77 in Greensboro
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Proximity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proximity Hotel

Address: 704 Green Valley Rd, Greensboro, NC 27408-7018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Greensboro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greensboro
#2 Family Hotel in Greensboro
#3 Business Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range: $269 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Proximity Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built to use 36% less energy and 30% less water than a comparable hotel, the Proximity Hotel offers a glimpse of the future while celebrating the past. Sustainable practices, custom-designed furnishings, commissioned art and innovative loft-like modern design await guests in every corner of the 147-room luxury "green" hotel and its adjacent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Proximity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Proximity Hotel Greensboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing