We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly staff. Lovely and clean hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Proximity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Proximity Hotel
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
95 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff. Lovely and clean hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times and in all cases have found the rooms clean and comfortable and the staff to be very friendly. We had a nice, quiet room with 2 Queen beds, a refrigerator and microwave oven. What else could you want?

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the elevators.
See more room tips
Green Features: I appreciate the hotel's efforts to be environmentally sensitive and wish all hotels would offer cans for both trash and recyclables.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwhgranite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony V, General Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are delighted your experience was consistent with our intention! Thank you for sharing your experience.

Till your next visit....Cheers!

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    81
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
73
153
21
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Proximity Hotel is like an Oasi in Greensboro its so different and higher quality than anything else around the area.
Beautiful entrance and great wellcome.

extremely large and confortable bedroom and bathroom, very good service
i would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: corner rooms are the best for light and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paolo2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony V, General Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We’re happy to be an oasis for you!

Any stay really does start with the arrival. Thank you for posting the picture! Our staff loves matching the beauty of our entrance with a warm welcome.

Our corner rooms and center rooms boast three large windows, and are great for natural light. We’re glad you found the corner room to your liking.

Thank you for your recommendation. Till the next time you visit…..Cheers!

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in December 2012 for 2 days. I found it to be very unique and different from your typical cookie-cutter hotel (i.e. Hyatt, Marriott, Hilton, etc). This is a very modern and eco-friendly hotel. Very spacious rooms. Large modern bathroom. Wide open views from the windows. Food was delicious. Can be pricy, so it helps if you have a rental car and venture out to cheaper places. Not many bars/restaurants are around this hotel, so a rental car would serve you good. I highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure when staying in Greensboro. Either way, it is a great deal!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor so you have a better view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very eco-friendly hotel. You can tell when they built this place that this was one of the core issues they integrated into the building.
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paymon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony V, General Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. It was everything we intend!

Next time you are back, ask about our livery service or complimentary loaner bikes. Either are a great way to get our and explore the nearby area. The Shops at Friendly has a wide array of shops and there are more than 15 restaurants within one mile of the hotel. Our Sister restaurants Lucky 32 and Green Valley Grill are also within walking distance.

Till your next visit…Cheers!

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
352 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The only thing good about this hotel is its advertising, it has all the romance of an office park, which is where it is located. It tries to be hip but frankly is just another business hotel, maybe a bit newer or better than others in the area, but nothing special.

The staff try to please but they are not properly trained, for example, as the doorman was "helping me" with my bags he caused me to get wedged between the door and the frame, and he didn't even think of pressing the stop button. The original room they gave me was just outside the "living room" I asked to be moved to a room farther away and it took almost an hour until they finally gave in and accommodate my request, it was obvious that they did not want to change the room and were expecting that I would just get too frustrated and stay in the room they assigned. The hotel was far from being full when I checked in.

The restaurant was ridiculously expensive for what it is, and so is the hotel. I was very disappointed as the advertising describes the hotel as charming, modern, romantic getaway. It was modern, but nothing else.

Room Tip: Stay away from the living room, if you get a group chatting or working there it can get very noisy
See more room tips
Green Features: Nothing special but a couple of recycle bins in the room, in fact I left the towels hanging for re-use and they changed them anyway. They claim they generate electricity for the elevators and recycle the air, nothing to be too impressed with.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_R33480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony V, General Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Oh my! Thank you for the feedback.

I think a double queen room was booked. We don't have many, so I bet that complicated the room change. I am so sorry.

As for the rate, as with other hotels, our rates fluctuate. You were here during one of the busiest times of the year. Shoot. Again, thank your for sharing your feelings.

If you have the time and inclination, it would be an honor to get to talk with you about your experience. tvillier@qwrh.com or 336 478 9101

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
153 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was happily surprised to find the Proximity in Greensboro. The rooms in this sleek boutique hotel have high ceilings and are very comfortable. Though not the largest room, it was well appointed and the bathroom was well-suited with two sinks. There are computer and water stations in the hallway and a seating area too. Nice workout facility that might be open 24/7?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredS2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony V, General Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We’re happy you found us! It is wonderful to hear you found the room comfortable and well appointed.

Our fitness studio is open 24/7. There are also some running and biking trails which are great to use nearby. If you can’t bring your bike, our complimentary loaner bike program is a great way to experience them.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Greensboro.

Cheers,

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
150 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I´ve stayed for business in April and I was surprised by how great are the rooms , the bathrooms are of a very good size and all the amenities are of very good quality, I liked the Honor bar just out of my room , but the PC wasn't working.

I had breakfast at the Printworks restaurant and was good and very fast service.

Green Features: the best in the market, every aspect of eco friendly practice is being used at this hotel
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony V, General Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We’re delighted we surprised you!

Our guests have often raved about the Aveda bath products! They are a nice touch in the rooms. Our Honor bar has been a favorite as well. It is both convenient and a fun element in the hotel. We're glad you liked it.-+

Sorry the PC wasn't working when you were there. We have since had it fixed. It is such a convenient place to check e-mail and to print a boarding pass. We have one on each floor.

Till your next visit…..Cheers!

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCNY326
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband surprised me with a romantic birthday weekend in this hotel. I was accompanying him the weekend before a business trip. We were from out of town and not sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is gorgeous, modern, and immaculate. The service was exemplary.. The restaurant was great and in a beautiful setting. It is the kind of hotel you would expect in Portland or Boston - but it's not and that's my issue with this hotel. The rates were high for a hotel in Greensboro - and not located in the downtown area. Shuttle service was offered but at an additional price. So, overall a lovely stay but a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCNY326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony V, General Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for the note.

What a fun surprise! It sounds as if your experience was exactly what we intend.

On price, like all hotels, our prices vary up and down depending on demand. My bet is that you visited when our city was busy.

We have a fleet of really neat cars and vans, including three London Taxis and a 70's vintage Checker. Using them to get to and from the airport is complimentary, to downtown the price is about the same as a taxi. We do have bikes available complimentary....I wish we'd suggested that. At any rate, thank you for all of your feedback. It is all helpful.

Cheers,

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.3 mi away
O.Henry Hotel
O.Henry Hotel
#1 of 76 in Greensboro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
2.1 mi away
The Biltmore Greensboro
The Biltmore Greensboro
#11 of 76 in Greensboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#4 of 76 in Greensboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
4.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Greensboro
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Proximity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proximity Hotel

Property: Proximity Hotel
Address: 704 Green Valley Rd, Greensboro, NC 27408-7018
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greensboro
#1 Green Hotel in Greensboro
#2 Family Hotel in Greensboro
#3 Business Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Proximity Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built to use 36% less energy and 30% less water than a comparable hotel, the Proximity Hotel offers a glimpse of the future while celebrating the past. Sustainable practices, custom-designed furnishings, commissioned art and innovative loft-like modern design await guests in every corner of the 147-room luxury "green" hotel and its adjacent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Proximity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Proximity Hotel Greensboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing