We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for business travel”
Review of Proximity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Proximity Hotel
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Proximity Hotel is a "green" design, construction, and operation. It affords the guest with all of the desired comfort and amenity while maintaining a small environmental footprint. The hotel uses solar power, for some energy needs, and has an impressive recycling program in all of its operations. The room decor is stark/contemporary and the public spaces are chic. The staff is extremely helpful 24-7. The adjacent Printworks Bistro bar/restaurant maintains a casual but elegant appearance and will please any palate (food and wine) and serves 3 meals daily. The hotel is located in an upscale business park and it is extremely convenient to retail, gas, local restaurants, and the interstate. It is truly a great place for a business stay.

I would recommend this hotel to a friend

Room Tip: If you need a tub make sure you then stay in a room designated a "spa" room. It has a lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony V, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

When designing the hotel our intention was that all the sustainable practices employed would only enhance, never detract from our guest's experience. I am delighted that you experienced it as intended!

Thank you for your feedback!

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 509 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

The level of service is absolutely amazing, the decor is wonderfully well stated and modern, and this hotel embodies everything a new, medium sized and hotel should be. It is ALWAYS my first suggestion to someone staying in Greensboro from out of town. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, and you can bet that you'll get your money's worth from this stay. It isnt a hotel thats comfortably close to anything you'd really want to walk to, but it's landscaping and surrounding area are safe and attractive.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony V, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

We are honored to be your first suggestion!

A part of our mission is to ensure we provide the highest quality accommodations at a good value. I am delighted to hear our service and design have helped you walk away feeling we accomplished that, and enthusiastic about recommending us to others.

Cheers!

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Tony Villier & ALL the staff are phenomenal! Rooms have high ceilings with excellent natural lighting. Beds very comfortable. Spa room with deep soaking tub. Print Shop Bistro yummy. Unfortunately, not able to use pool as it was closed. Hotel uses custom London & Checker cabs for guest transportation...way cool! Love Me Tender, Sustainable Romance, International Civil Rights Museum Packages each a fun option. Our new favorite place for a romantic get-away!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony V, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

I am delighted we have become a new favorite!

Being able to stay for a few days and take advantage of the array of packages we have allows us to really treat you to a different experience each day. I am glad you found each one fun, and were able to use our unique London Taxi and Checker Cab to get to your destinations. Keep an eye on our website as we have special spotlight packages that change from season to season and highlight different options.

Thank you for the feedback regarding the pool. I am so sorry the pool had a maintenance issue during your stay. We will make sure it is in tip top shape on your next warm weather visit.

Till then… Warm regards,

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

It's a neat hotel with some very nice features and it's green.
Make sure you check the refrigerator, it was not cleaned before my visit.
The staff is very friendly and accomodating.
The location is convenient for the city and they do their best to accomodate.
Make sure you visit the restaurant also.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony V, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Oh my! Thank you for the feedback.

Our intention is to ensure your room is impeccably clean and well maintained. I am so sorry the refrigerator was missed in this case. We will certainly follow up with our team.

We hire friendly people, then ask them to treat you as our guest! I am glad you found them friendly and accommodating.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience. I assure you, we wont disappoint on your next visit.

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

As a first time guest of this hotel, my wife and I wanted to explore Greensboro, but enjoy a nice room not to far from downtown. Stumbling across the Proximity Hotel due to looking at the Print Shop Bistro, we discovered great pictures of a beautiful and EXTREMELY nice hotel. Well the pictures do not lie and eyes are the only objects that can capture the rooms' great floor to ceiling windows and modern looks. With great decor and an amazing restaurant, this is our ONLY choice when visiting Greensboro, NC.

Room Tip: Stay on top level floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony V, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Wow! We are delighted to be your choice when coming to Greensboro!

If a picture is worth a thousand words, experiencing it is priceless! The loft like feel created with those wonderfully large windows really is striking. Not to mention being in a room bathed in natural light makes you just feel well….right! I love the 8th floor as well with its 12 foot ceilings too!

Cheers!

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a quick getaway combined with my husband's 20th class reunion. It was awesome.

Everything is luxurious from the moment you walk up to the hotel. Lobby is sharp looking with friendly front desk staff. We had a corner king room which has 2 windows. One was a view of Wendover, ha, but the other looked out over trees and part of the hotel property I think. Nice to see that when you first wake up.

We selected 1 of the romance packages which was a nice touch to have waiting for you when you come back in the evening. The staff is helpful in suggesting a package that suits you, or you can pick and choose which options you want. Adds a little to the price, but we enjoyed the extras. Down the hall on each floor is a guest center with hot, cold or room temp water, as well as ice. There is an honor bar with drinks that you leave cash for and a computer and printer. Also a small seating area.

We ordered room service a few times. They were quick and accurate with our order. The food was great and they even brought me a takeout box I asked for so we could save some for a snack later. We sat at the bar in the Bistro before heading out for the evening. You won't be disappointed there either.

Lastly, this is a green hotel, but do not worry that sacrifices will be made. The shower, sink and toilet are fine. Rooms are great...nice to help the earth and still have an elegant stay.

Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony V, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

What a fun reason to visit Greensboro! I’m glad it was awesome!

The variety of packages we have to offer really can make any visit to the Proximity a special one. Our staff certainly seek to meet your desired experience with the right package. They really are a great value. You can even choose to make one up “a la Carte!” Just let us know the look and feel you are going for and we can help suggest some amenities to suit.

Till your next reason to come visit.

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Proximity Hotel in Greensboro, NC recently, and we had a wonderful experience.

The rooms are large and very comfortable. The housekeeping is excellent and the fitness center is more than adequate. We also had dinner at the Print Works Bistro which was very busy. The food was terrific and the bottled craft beer and wine by the glass selections were great.

I would highly recommend the Proximity Hotel for both leisure and business travelers. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: If you want a bathtub, you need to book a king spa room. Otherwise, most of the other rooms have a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simmrouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony V, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

I am delighted you all had a wonderful experience!

Our intention is to be of genuine service to you, our guest, in an environment that is clean and well maintained. I will certainly let our housekeeping team know of your experience. They take pride in our cleanliness. I’m glad it showed!

The Printworks Bistro is a great spot to dine and they really do have a carefully chosen selection of both beer and wine. Thank you for your feedback and recommendation!

Cheers!

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.4 mi away
O.Henry Hotel
O.Henry Hotel
#1 of 77 in Greensboro
572 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
1.9 mi away
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
#19 of 77 in Greensboro
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#5 of 77 in Greensboro
576 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Biltmore Greensboro
The Biltmore Greensboro
#8 of 77 in Greensboro
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Proximity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proximity Hotel

Address: 704 Green Valley Rd, Greensboro, NC 27408-7018
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Greensboro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greensboro
#2 Family Hotel in Greensboro
#3 Business Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range: $279 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Proximity Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built to use 36% less energy and 30% less water than a comparable hotel, the Proximity Hotel offers a glimpse of the future while celebrating the past. Sustainable practices, custom-designed furnishings, commissioned art and innovative loft-like modern design await guests in every corner of the 147-room luxury "green" hotel and its adjacent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Proximity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Proximity Hotel Greensboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing