We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time visit”

The Bog Garden at Benjamin Park
Ranked #4 of 68 things to do in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This garden features an elevated boardwalk which meanders through 7 acres of natural wetlands. Stone pathways traverse a forested hillside, and visitors can enjoy the sounds of water at Serenity Falls - a re-circulating waterfall - while viewing the many varieties of plants, birds, and other wildlife inhabiting the area. The garden is open year-round from sunrise to sunset. Admission is free.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“First time visit”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

To find this in the middle of the city is very refreshing. We saw ducks, an owl, great blue heron and a gorgeous recycling man made water fall.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lybi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    79
    19
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“love the walking trails”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

make sure you have your walking shoes! great place to enjoy a leisure walk as well as a jog! The area can be busy so time it during school hours if possible.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NCvisitor55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice detour”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My eldest son was on a college visit to UNC-Greensboro and we took our younger sons to both the Bog Garden Very pleasant walk through wooded area with raised wooden boardwalk. Saw a number of ducks and one mother duck with her ducklings. There is an attractive water feature/waterfall, which is good for photos. The Tanger Family Garden is across the street, and I would recommend combining the two.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ACCATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice walk”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

A real nice walk. A nice easy boardwalk made it real pleasant. Pretty wildlife scenery. Saw a lot of mallard ducks and baby ducks. I think I caught view of a wood duck

Helpful?
Thank Drouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
707 reviews
300 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 641 helpful votes
“A walk through the woods”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Bog Garden at Benjamin Park provides an opportunity to walk through the woods to the Starmount Farms Lake. The best option when visiting this garden is to park at the adjacent Tanger Family Bicentennial Gardens and walk across the street to the Bog Gardens. There was a second entrance on the other end of the park but don't know if there was parking available there or not.

The Bog Garden is fairly small and will not take you long to navigate. There are a couple parallel paths, with one a boardwalk that goes along the swampy areas. Towards the end of the trail is a man-made falls that are nice to enjoy. There are some nice views into the woods and of the lake, but other than some waterfowl, there is not much to see.

I would recommend combining the Bog Garden with the Tanger Family Bicentennial Garden. This way you will get the most out of your visit. Otherwise your visit will be very short. The Bog Garden is a nice area to walk through, but it is small.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bog Garden at Benjamin Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing