We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food”

Giovanni's Restaurant
Ranked #211 of 886 Restaurants in Greensboro
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
north carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

For my wife and I Giovanni's is the best Italian restaurant in the local area. It has a comfortable, inviting atmosphere and the food is truly outstanding. On our most recent visit I had the veal florentine and my wife had a filet mignon. Both were perfectly prepared and delicious. There are several veal dishes on the menu, and all of them are excellent. As for the steaks, they are always cooked exactly as ordered. I highly recommend Giovanni's.

An added note: the restaurant recently added a delivery and take out menu, and while it doesn't offer everything on the dine in menu, it is well thought out and moderately priced. Remember, this is really great food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    20
    9
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Second time no better”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was the second time we had been guests of friends for dinner at Giovanni's. The first time we came, I thought I made a poor choice for an entree and was more than willing to give it a second try. Perhaps it was the fact that it was Valentine's Day, but dinner this time was even less satisfactory. The hostess who greeted said our reservation was for two and acted annoyed to have to rework a table for four. The Valentine's Day menu was limited and three of the four of us selected the shrimp scampi. The vegetable side was steamed yellow and zucchini squash.The shrimp, which had been lighted breaded were awash in liquid from the squash to the point where the coating on the shrimp slid off onto the plate. The forth diner required a gluten free meal, but our waitstaff person never did understand what that meant even though he was given as very clear explanation. A restaurant of this caliber should have staff who understand a common dietary requirement. The evening was saved by the delightful couple with whom we dined. We will not be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
149 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The food here is delicious...”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had not been to this restaurant in YEARS (since they moved from their old location), primarily because we have so many nice options in Winston-Salem. However, we had purchased a Living Social coupon and decided to try it again --- SO GLAD we did! The outside of the restaurant is deceiving (looks like a diner) - the inside is elegant, complete with white tablecloths and signature china. We had a reservation, but still had to wait approximately 15 minutes to be seated --- be sure that you have a reservation on a weekend night. This would be a very nice "special occasion" place, and the prices reflect that thought. The service was very good, but slow (perhaps they weren't expecting the crowd they had that night?) and our waiter was very helpful with menu choices, in spite of the fact that he knew we had a "deal" with our coupon --- his graciousness was notable. The food was delicious - our group of 4 tried various pastas (due to the coupon limitations), but we all agreed that we will return to try some of the more interesting dishes we saw on the menu. The only complaint we had (and all of us felt this way) was that the acoustics in this restaurant make it very difficult to have a quiet conversation --- it was extremely loud and this really detracted from the ambiance. However, we will definitely be going back (even given that it's a 45 minute drive for us) --- it was a wonderful evening out and a very pleasant surprise.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BusyTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Italian Fusion”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Not really sure if fusion is the right description. The entrees have names of what you would expect in any Italian restaurant but there is a difference in the presentation that just makes it seem more delicious. We had a great time. Several at my time got the veal. I don't see it on their regular menu. we were a group of 40 and we had our own menu. The sampler of the appetizers was great.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank rmdtmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Still Amazing”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Love it every time we visit. Definitely worth the drive. If we have a craving for Italian we always visit Giovanni's. Olive Garden and Carrabas do not represent true Italian cuisine. The drinks and waitstaff are truly amazing. We will see you again soon.

P.S
The price range of $30.00 is not accurate. All the veal and chicken dishes are less than $21.00, which include a scrumptious salad and a side. The only thing I can think of over $30.00 is the Surf and Turf.

Thanks Again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing