We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pace to take the "foodies" in your life!”
Review of Village Tavern

Village Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Village Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 895 Restaurants in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A pace to take the "foodies" in your life!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

One can always expect good food, great service, fabulous selections at this Greensboro restaurant. Any time you drive by the restaurant, the parking lot is full . . . for a good reason. It is probably one of the most consistently good choices for fine dining that Greensboro has to offer. Keep up the good work, Village Tavern Team!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mnhicks55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    107
    48
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always Awesome”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We have had our company Christmas party there every year for the past 10 years. They are very accommodating to our group of 15 employees. Typically they call our office in September to arrange a reservation. When we arrive in December the are always prepared for us and give us superior service. It is a highlight of the year for many of my employees and even though we go at lunch they always let us order from the dinner menu. They charge a standard gratuity but we always add extra because they do the extra for us in order for us to have a great experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mediocre and overpriced, except at bar”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Not sure why this place is so popular, except that its been around for a while. I've been 4 or 5 times. Bar is decent and the burgers are good. Main restaurant menu is overpriced and food is mediocre. First time we went was three years ago, and the food was so salty that I had to send the risotto (!) back. Waiter and manager agreed and I got a burger. Avoided for over a year until a friend suggested it and sat at bar. See above on that. Done that a few times since and then went with friends for dinner and again found the food mediocre although not over-salted. Notting special and would have much preferred Lucky 32 or Harper's for the prices. Skip restaurant and sit in the bar for bar food if you go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johndonaldfaflunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Village Tavern is a good place for a good time”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Village Tavern in Greensboro, NC is a very fun place to eat and meet friends. The menu is very broad. I had the ribs, which were delicious, fall off the bone, Carolina style. One of our group had pasta, another had a burger and one had salmon. All of the dishes were very good. The service was excellent in the main dining room. There is also a very nice lounge that had some screens for sports. This is a great spot for a spur of the moment get together, or for a planned evening out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good food and good service”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Always plenty of handicap parking. Wait usually short. Full service bar. Half-pound bergers are delicious although the insist the can not do medium rare. Fries and especially sweet potatoe fries are great. Prime rib is good but one time, it was excessively salted so I ask for no salt. Service is usually good to excellent. This is a regular destination for my wife and I.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Village Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing