We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”

Tex & Shirley's Family Restaurant
Ranked #75 of 886 Restaurants in Greensboro
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We came for breakfast and seated promptly. The first thing that I was disturbed by was there is absolutely no substitution of any kind. My husband asked if he could get 2 pancakes and 1 slice of bread instead of 3 pancakes -no way. We placed our order and it took forever. In the meantime-we sat with empty coffee cups because our server was more concerned with getting ready to go home. The food was okay nothing special. Pancakes were tough corned beef was very salty.
I think the owners need to spend more time here.

Helpful?
Thank Anoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    43
    27
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
205 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Been in Business Since 1948........ Good local spot for Breakfast”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Good food! Breakfasts here are quite very crowded and loud due to crowds. Prices aren't hateful and you definitely get all you can eat. Legendary pancakes. If you're hungry come early and bring your appetite.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
262 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Choices”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Visited yet another year on black Friday morning. Good crowd for breakfast but well handled with no line or waiting. You can have just about anything you could want. My daughter had eggs Benedict, I had eggs, corned beef hash with grits and my wife had blueberry waffle. We all thoroughly enjoy our choices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta NC
1 review
“OMG Best Omelette and Pancakes ever had!!!!!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Came in on recommendation had an omelette and pancakes and wife had vegetable plate and OMG were we surprised and thrilled.... best i have had and wife said vegetables were delicious cannot wait to get back to Greensboro to eat there again!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeckandEd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluemont, VA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Breakfast Favorite, Even at Supper Time”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stop in at Tex and Shirley's every time we are in Greensboro. Love the breakfast and the way we get treated by the staff. Had the pancakes, eggs, hash brown, and bacon special the other day and it was great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tex & Shirley's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tex & Shirley's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing