We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overhyped”
Review of Green Valley Grill

Green Valley Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Green Valley Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 886 Restaurants in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Friendly Avenue & Benjamin Parkway
Description: Visit us and enjoy informally elegant fine dining and seasonal food using Old-World European culinary sensibilities and flavors. Our wine list receives the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence each year and features 75 wines by the glass. Have your own private wine tasting with our Wine Flights. The freshest food prepared by a passionate team, and served by friendly and competent people, is a recipe for a great dining experience. When you add an eclectic decor and dining alfresco in our Courtyard, you will imagine that you have traveled farther than you did. We welcome you to dine with us seven days a week for lunch, dinner, brunch or late night. Adjacent to the O.Henry Hotel.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overhyped”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Although the food is good at Green Valley Grill, it is not as great as many people tout it to be. Many of the dishes lack flavor and it is a little pricey for the quality that you get. It is not my go to restaurant, however if you are bringing clients in town it is a nice experience for them.

Helpful?
Thank lulu89_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quaintance W, Manager at Green Valley Grill, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Goodness....we are sorry that we left you with this impression. We would like to learn more about your experience. Would you please call or email me?
Audrey Denny, service manager 336-854-2015 or adenny@qwrh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    752
    243
    62
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dewey Beach, DE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful dining experience!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

This was our second trip to the Green Valley Grill. We loved it so much the first time, we could not wait for a return visit. We were in town visiting our son who attend High Point Univ. we were not disappointed I had the Chet's special, prime rib. It was cooked to perfection. The service was attentive but the waiter was not overly friendly. The atmosphere is beautiful. I highly recommend the dessert sampler. Everything we tasted was delicious. Overall I would say we will be back again. It is a special night out and a wonderful restaurant to enjoy with family and friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hobiebeach09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quaintance W, Manager at Green Valley Grill, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much! One of our key mission planks is to provide an outstanding menu plus and impressive selection of specials. We are delighted to hear that we came through on that for you! Chef Leigh Hesling is happy that you enjoyed the prime rib. It's an honor to have you review us twice and see you are an advocate of what we're about. See you next time you visit your son at HPU.

-Audrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I reserved a table for a surprise luncheon for my mother's birthday. The food was outstanding, and the waiter was very attentive. The overall ambiance of the restaurant was perfect, and the prices were very reasonable. I dropped off a birthday cake in advance, and the waiter brought it out (free of charge) with candles after everyone was finished eating lunch. It was a lovely afternoon, and I highly recommend this classy restaurant - I was very impressed :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quaintance W, Manager at Green Valley Grill, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so much! Your kind words reflect our intention of offering prompt, friendly, attentive service. We are delighted you chose us to be part of your mother's birthday surprise! Trusting us with such a special occasion with non-typical elements makes us feel good. See you soon!

-Audrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
165 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“An Oasis Within a Mid-Sized City”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about Green Valley Grill. The menu is creative, the food is excellent, the ambiance is romantic, and, although not an inexpensive restaurant, its prices are well within reason. And, at times, they offer local, seasonal fare.

And the ambiance? Well, you feel as though you are in a 19th century castle. It is an elegant place to dine--artwork, decor, colors--all combine to make one's evening a special occasion.

We usually go there on a married couple date, and we've have never, ever been disappointed. The manager there is attentive both to detail and to his guests--quite a combination. I give GVG a 5 star rating, and this is from someone who's traveled widely to 6 continents. I am sure that there are better restaurants in larger cities, but--believe me--there isn't a better one in Greensboro.

B Shore

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quaintance W, Manager at Green Valley Grill, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We are honored. High praise indeed. Thank you. This puts wind in my sails and I am certain that my colleagues will have the same reaction.

-Audrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great for a change over the normal chains”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Thisnplace was recommended by a friend. Only complaint was the music was way too loud. Second complaint was the staff seated us next to a large group who was having a party when there were pleanty of seats elsewhere. Food was great, service was great, desert was great and we came out of thrre only spending 37 for two entrees, a desert and two drinks. The flat iron steak was awesome. The roated chicken was ok, just expected more chicken.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quaintance W, Manager at Green Valley Grill, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments!

-Audrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Valley Grill also viewed

 

Been to Green Valley Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing