We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nickel-and-diming at its finest”

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 886 Restaurants in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Benjamin Parkway
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nickel-and-diming at its finest”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have got to say - I went here once for a family member's birthday and I was very underwhelmed. I don't mind paying more for a truly excellent meal, but what I had here was a meal where I paid individually for every side at the table and got a very small portion of unseasoned steak. Call me a barbarian, but I like a well-seasoned steak. Just the taste of meat alone doesn't do it for me. Three of us ended up costing over $200 when I honestly feel like I have had much better-tasting steak at a casual restaurant like Outback or Longhorn. I wouldn't waste your money on this place unless you're really just looking to be able to brag to your friends later, "Look at me, I'm rich, I went to Ruth's Chris!"

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank calivianya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    31
    22
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth Every Penny”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I have eaten at a Ruth Chris before but my husband hadn't and needless to say, he was impressed!! The Caesar salad is to die for and of course.....THE STEAK, served on a 500 degree plate, was impeccable. Everything we had was excellent including the service. Our waiter(s) were all very attentive and made the evening that much better. Can't wait to return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRuss4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Anniversary Meal”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have eaten at Ruth's Chris before and found it to be a good meal, but didn't think it was anything special for the price. My wife wanted to go here for our anniversary and since it was a special occasion I figured why not.

I can say after this visit, it was well worth the price. We informed them that it was our anniversary when we arrived. We didn't have any idea that they would give us a free dessert with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate on the plate.

I had a caesar salad, the petite filet, and broccoli au Gratin. My wife had also had the petite filet, and potatoes au Gratin. The steaks were definitely some of the best steaks we have ever had. I would recommend getting them cooked a little less than normal since they were still cooking on the very hot plate when it arrived at the table.

The sides and the desert were excellent. The service was some of the best we have ever had. All around an excellent meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Another wonderful meal”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Having enjoyed this restaurant many times we can say the service and food remains top notch. Our steak and shrimp were impeccable and the service is very attentive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Psrman Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This location like all Ruth's Chris locations is top notch. Great service, great food, great atmosphere. My husband and I became engaged at this restaurant nine years ago. We celebrate anniversaries and birthdays here every year. I do not eat red meat on a regular basis, but I always have the petite filet. They also have the best tomato and onion salad I've ever had. Nothing even remotely negative to say ever ....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing