We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Special Occasion Place”

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #59 of 895 Restaurants in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Benjamin Parkway
Burlington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Special Occasion Place”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We've dined at the Greensboro location many times for special occasions over the years. We ate here for our 29th wedding anniversary this past Sunday night and it did not disappoint. Our meal was delicious. We chose the option that included a salad or soup, meat, side and dessert. The restaurant is pretty. The restaurant is very expensive, but is worth it every once in awhile.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edel27215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    32
    23
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ruth Chris Greensboro Needs Work”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

On our recent visit to Ruth Chris, my husband and I were looking forward to a nice evening out to celebrate our 37th wedding anniversary. We had experienced the Myrtle Beach location so felt we knew what to expect. Service was a bit rushed to begin with and then later in our meal, we could find no one to wait on us (too many tables?). My husband and I both ordered martinis to start. My husbands came out filled to the rim but mine was only 3/4 of the glass. In hindsight, I should have sent it back but did not. We liked our server and when he was there, he was good. I also found that the butter flavor on my petite filet was too strong and although I ordered it cooked medium, it was more well done than I would have liked. The one thing that did upset us over everything else was there was a very large party (12-14) in an adjoining room that were very loud. We could not hear each other talk or hear the music when they were rowdy. Several times they got quieter but then they would roar to life again. We complained to our server and he said that he had spoken to the manager but nothing was done. We enjoyed our experience at the Myrtle Beach location so much that I guess we just expected too much from the Greensboro location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I made reservations for my parents on Father's Day & wanted them to experience what I experienced at Ruth's Chris. I thought it would be nice to pay for my parents' meal & surprise them so I drove from Raleigh to their location to sign the credit card form, was told that my parents were going to be taken care of & I was on my way out the door. My parents enjoyed the food they had ribeye, lobster, green bean casserole & the lobster bisque & it was delicious. After their dinner I get a phone call from my parents telling me that their server still handed them their check which made me LIVID since the manager told me everything was already taken care of including the tip . My parents then went on to say that she told the server that she thought I had already taken care of their bill since I came in the day before to fill out the credit card form so she goes & grabs the manager & he comes out & says that it was their mistake & yes I did take care of it. I feel if I'm paying 260$ including tip the food service & experience needs to be amazing & it was disappointing to hear about their experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xdoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Not my favorite”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Terrific steaks, good sides, but like Fleming's, it's very expensive. What I dislike is whatever they slather their steaks with prior to serving them. To my tastes, the butter, oil, whatever it is, detracts from the steak's flavor.

Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“enjoyed”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We enjoyed this place very much. Combination dinners seemed to be the best value. The filet was very good but the Greek salad and creamed spinach stole the show. Service was just right. Hope to return sometime. Price makes this more of a special event type restaurant unless you are on expense account!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing