We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True taste of the South :-)”
Review of Yum Yum Ice Cream

Yum Yum Ice Cream
Ranked #3 of 28 Dessert in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“True taste of the South :-)”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Like many of the other reviewers, my family has been coming here for years. The hot dogs are ALWAYS delicious. The ice cream is also terrific and I never worry that anything will not be up to par. I only wish they would make their Chocolate Banana ice cream more often. I even think the decor is great. The restaurant is always clean, workers are very pleasant and food is very inexpensive. One of my all time favorite spots. Thank you Yum Yums for being a Greensboro institution.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Belinda14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    21
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, N.C.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“My favorite hotdog in G'boro”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

1219 Spring Garden St, Greensboro, NC 27403
Smack in the middle of the drive through UNC-G
A home town favorite since forever. When I was a kid I loved to go not only for the 'dogs but the hand dipped homemade ice cream. I may be pushing 60 but nothing's changed much except for their move across the street as UNC-G expanded.
A tip for ordering when it's crowded: don't block the door! Move down the counter and get behind someone there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RowdyCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yum Yum Yum!!!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great hot dogs and ice cream. They understand what all the way on a hot dog really means! Friendly, fast service and a great hot dog! Save room for a hand dipped ice cream cone. This is one of Greensboro's hometown traditions! We like Stamey's BBQ and Yum Yum 's hot dogs! The coke in real glass bottles is always a hit with kids too. Long live Yum Yum!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a college hot dog joint with good ice cream. An institution and a must visit when in Greensboro. Don't expect too much and you'll have a good time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Greensboro Institution”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Yum Yum's is a Greensboro institution serving ice cream for over 100 years. The appeal of Yum Yum is that it is what it is. and its been that way long before they moved to the current location in 1970. they serve ice cream, hot dogs, soft drinks, bags of chips and Nabs. The decor is, well, unique. and truly vintage. I'm sure they bought everything used way back when. The ice cream is made in the store and is terrific! You can't beat the fresh, locally made ice cream. I love the hot dogs because it's what I grew up on. Steamed buns, bright red Jesse Jones weiners, homemade chili, slaw and onions. Your basic Carolina hot dog. Nothing beats eating a couple hot dogs, drinking a Coke from a bottle, eating a bag of Lay's chips while sitting on the wall outside Yum Yum's. Finishing it off with an ice cream cone is perfect. And it was exactly that way back in 1970.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaking3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yum Yum Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Yum Yum Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing