We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT a Mexican Restaurant - a TACO Joint!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crafted, The Art of the Taco

Crafted, The Art of the Taco
Ranked #6 of 885 Restaurants in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: NOT a Mexican restaurant.....this is a serious TACO JOINT. You will not find authentic Mexican here.....only creative gourmet tacos. A FRESH experience for your tastebuds.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NOT a Mexican Restaurant - a TACO Joint!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a great treat Crafted - The Art of the Taco was! Located in downtown Greensboro, it is a uniquely eclectic taco joint. Definitely must order the stuffed avocado with chorizo, queso dip, and pico served with fried flour tortillas. I also ordered the Bow Tie specialty taco - beer battered fish topped with roasted corn salsa and sweet chipotle aioli. Sides include rice, black beans, chips and pico, fries, sweet potato chips (YUMMY), or side salad. Great beer selection too. It is worth a trip downtown!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AParisGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    140
    43
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good but Claustrphobic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The tacos here are good, but if you're looking for authentic Mexican food, go elsewhere. Some of the sauces give me heartburn, but maybe that's just me.
My main issue with Crafted is that it is a cramped dark room, and the kitchen, which is open, is not well-ventilated, so you go home smelling like, well, a taco?

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
183 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Weird Food But Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our family visited Crafted before going to the Baseball game. This had a mixture of many different types of taco's. These are not your typical Mexican taco's. They have a lot of different combinations, most of which I don't care for. However, I did work with it and did come up with a Pulled Pork Taco. I was very surprised at how good it was. It was very fresh and tasty. They also had a nice selection of different beers. Overall, it was good. My wife who loves this type of food, would grade it much higher than I would. I'm sure we'll be visiting again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rryman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nacho Grandma's Tacos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Creative, artsy, delicious and fun. Would recommend to anyone! I've gone with picky eaters and they were still pleased with their meal. If you can't decide between two taco flavors, they let you try one of each. Great for the indecisive types!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ziggysmommy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great casual different food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Husband, stepdaughter and I had dinner before the baseball game. Although my husband is not an adventurous eater he managed to be good with the pulled pork tacos. My stepdaughter & I split an awesomely flavored appetizer of taquitos. Then I had the bow tie fish tacos...perfection! She had the pork tacos on the menu. Sweet potato chips with aioli dip were a balance of salty & sweet. Beer & wine selection were wide, focused on local. Service was very good. Will definitely return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cbwhite98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crafted, The Art of the Taco also viewed

 

Been to Crafted, The Art of the Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing