We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 1618 Midtown

1618 Midtown
Ranked #110 of 886 Restaurants in Greensboro
Cuisines: International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A name is but a name, or is it? It's a question the proprietors of 1618 Wine Lounge, newly renamed 1618 Midtown, have contemplated for several years. The establishment opened in 2011 in the Irving Park Plaza as a 38-seat lounge and bar, serving artisan cocktails, craft beers and wine. "In the beginning, we were mainly an after-work spot, with patrons enjoying cocktails through the early evening," said co-proprietor Nick Wilson. Through the years, the Wine Lounge evolved into much more than a place to hang out and enjoy a glass of wine and appetizers with friends. With customers' desires for an expanded menu growing, major renovations began in 2013, adding a 28-seat semi-private dining room to the back of the restaurant and a full kitchen, increasing the restaurant's capacity to create a wider menu.
GREENSBORO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

The atmosphere is wonderful. The food is very good and the drinks are real drinks. I really enjoy the eating there or just go by and get a nice drink before going home.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PHS_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
169 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great place for wine and dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Love this place. You can try different wines as you can get a 1 oz., 3 oz. to a 6 oz. pour of many wines. I also loved that you can get small or large plates. I have had the fish taco (you can get a serving of 1 or 2) and I had the Kobe beef burger on another occasion. I found the food to be excellent and much better than most wine bars in Greensboro, NC. On both occasions we were seated in the back which was great because we are in our 60's and it was less noisy and easier to carry on a conversation. However, for the younger set - all looked like they were having a great time nearer to the actual bar. They will take reservations for parties great than 5.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Good wines, pleasant atmosphere, creative small plates. Great for an early evening stop or a late night visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Much Nicer......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

It is much nicer to go here now that they have the additional space and the wider menu. Half price bubbles on Monday continues to be a favorite. You do, sometimes, have to be aggressive to get service, but that is typical of most any bar and this is more of a bar than a dining experience. Drink selections are good, however, and the specials often make it perfect for a night out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sg4427408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent small plate, poor bartender service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Came to the restaurant as they were opening with a friend. We grabbed two seats at the bar and started with some cheeses which were nice. Both ordered glasses of wine which seemed like an awful production for the bartender to manage. We were nearly done with the cheese plate before he came back to double check which wine we wanted. The food was fine, but overall just expected better service.

For the price, there are better options for wine and small plates in Greensboro.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MysteryMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1618 Midtown also viewed

 

Been to 1618 Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing