We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent displays, well presented”

Greensboro Historical Museum
Ranked #6 of 72 things to do in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent displays, well presented”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is exactly what it says it is, the Greensboro Historical Museum. There are great displays of history related to the region from gowns belonging to former 1st Ladies, including local heroine Dolly Madison, to artifacts related to the growth of industry, to the significant Civil Rights activities in the area, to some beautiful wagons, autos, and other early transportation memorabilia. A centerpiece is the Dr. John Murray collection of Confederate long-arms mixed with other significant artifacts of the War Between the States. They have other articles of historical interest from items belonging to veterans of the Battle of Guilford Courthouse to local WW2 Air Corps p-51 Ace Major Preddy. There's something here for everyone. The seem to be under-staffed for the size and extent of collections, given the outdoor displays of historic structures that accompany the regular museum, but the folks who are there are helpful and knowledgeable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    49
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure In Downtown Greensboro”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I've lived in the Triad twice for a total of 7 years and it took a out of town guest to get me to visit this venue. Was I surprised by what I had been missing. If you are any kind of a history buff you'll love this place. Exhibits covering more than three centuries of Greensboro history are presented. When you finally leave you go with a much greater appreciation of Greensboro's contribution to the American and Southern history.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Displays”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I spent some time here after my husband enthused about it. Currently I am in physical therapy for muscle tone in my left leg, but I saw most of the very thorough exhibit, "Voices of the City," which has been on display for several years. Maybe the most enthralling piece was the section of lunch counter from Woolworth's in the Civil Rights era. Second to that would have to be a small exhibit devoted to Dolley Madison, with two of her actual dresses.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MartiAbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Rich History and Free to Enter - Best of both worlds !”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

All the years of living in the Piedmont Triad I had never been to the museum. Actually had an extra hour in the day - so we stopped by. WOW - all the rich history in such historic buildings in a small corner of Greensboro. Now, you need more than an hour - we covered 1/2 the museum quickly in an hour but I would think you need 2 to 4 to do it justice. Shouldn't be a problem since it is FREE ! It costs you nothing but you will walk away rich from all the knowledge you will absorb. From current history to one of the largest and best Civil War displays around the Greensboro Historical Museum must be on your to do list !!! We will pay another lengthy visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Greensboro Historical Museum is a hidden gem. The museum is located in an old church. The "Voices of Greensboro" exhibit traces the city's history from the earliest days to the present. A docent took us through the exhibit and pointed out the highlights. Included among the more recent exhibits was a flight attendants manual salvaged from Flight 93. The flight attendant was a resident of Greensboro and helped organize the overpowering of the hijackers.
For Civil war buffs, the museum houses a remarkable collection of civil war rifles and carbines, arranged by origin. We were also shown the church cemetery, housing many of the early Greensboro residents.
Unfortunately, we only had a couple of hours to spend. We could easily have spent four hous or more.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Greensboro Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing