We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great exhibits, beautiful museum”

Greensboro Historical Museum
Ranked #6 of 71 things to do in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great exhibits, beautiful museum”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I live in Greensboro, but had never been here until yesterday when I took my extended family. They speak very little English and this was their first visit to Greensboro. The exhibits were excellent, so that even w/ limited English they understood the importance of NC pottery & textiles. The museum itself is beautiful. We plan a return visit soon.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RRTtraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    47
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Generous People and quite a great amount of artifacts”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We took our son when he was just three months shy of being one. There was alot of history in there. Some to be proud of and some to frown upon; but we enjoyed it and made the best of it. We took plenty of pictures.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cedric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Hill, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gem in Greensboro”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited the Greensboro Historical Museum on a cold January morning & spent 2 hours there. We all thoroughly enjoyed it; myself, my 30 year old niece, and her 2 children, ages 10 and 11. We are on a limited budget & finding a free museum was very appealing. The museum has wonderful exhibits and it is really amazing that there is no fee, just donations only. The 2nd floor with rooms set up with period furniture was beautiful, the Voices of Greensboro exhibit was so interesting with all the different pictures & quotes, Gateway to the City exhibit was especially enjoyable to the kids, where they could pretend to be in a one room schoolhouse, a clerk at a hotel, telephone operator for the hotel, watch old black & white silent movies from 1902 and 1903 and see the antique firefighter equipment. The Presidential Exhibit was great too. We had a very enjoyable morning at the museum and highly recommend it. If you are looking for a museum that offers great exhibits, lots of interesting information and plenty of history, don't pass up the Greensboro Historical Museum.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtns2SeaAndInBetween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is one of the finest small museums I've ever visited. Artifacts, displays, and descriptive history of Greensboro, Guilford County, North Carolina, the sit-ins of the '60s, N.C. pottery and textiles, and more in a lovely building with a well-stocked gift shop with lots of local items and an extremely knowledgeable staff. There are also historically accurate outbuildings on the property. I live in Greensboro and I visit the Historical Museum several times a year, and do a bit of holiday shopping in the gift shop.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank oneandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesapeake
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Free Must In Greensboro”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Make this a must on your visit to Greensboro. The exhibits were so well thought out and interesting. You can go at your own pace and the third floor is especially set up for children with the city in days gone by. Learned alot about the city we were just visiting for a volleyball tournament with a few hours to see one site in this town. Glad we choose this one. Would visit again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Klooster5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Greensboro Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing