We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

MJ's Steak and Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
MJ's Steak and Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 886 Restaurants in Greensboro
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: West Friendly Ave
Transit: Corner of Guilford College Road and West Friendly Avenue.
greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We loved our meal. Superb food, attentive staff, charming decor. Our visit exceeded our expectation in every way. I had scallops over risotto. It was so good. Thank you MJ's...we'll be back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sail2there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    22
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
136 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth Seeking Out”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

MJ's is an attractive little house converted into a gourmet restaurant. Parking is limited, so I'm glad we went early. The jumbo sea scallops were perfection, and the lobster mashed potatoes were a special treat, chock full of hunks of lobster. The strawberry shortcake dessert was disappointing. Although I asked if it was traditional shortcake with fresh strawberries, the answer was vague, "Yes, we have strawberries in the kitchen." When delivered, the slice of cake was layered with plain cake, vanilla cheesecake, and topped with strawberry mousse. On the side was one large strawberry carved into a rose! The service was a little uneven for a white tablecloth restaurant, but overall it was worth the visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Go N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, MA
Level Contributor
216 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good seafood, ok experience”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We visited MJ's as part of a large party celebrating a graduation. The food was very good. The service was a little shaky. We in the party didn't all know each other, and the check splitting stuff is always awkward, but the waitress could have handled it better. One person wanted to order a bottle of wine, but didn't know what to pick, so she asked another guest to select. The bottle ended up on the selector's check.

I'm not sure what prices should be in Greensboro, but they seemed a bit high.

Rooms in a former house are pleasantly decorated. Parking is tight.

We'd go back, but it might not be our first choice in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrewsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Mediocre”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Worst experience. Service is bad. I ordered medium well steak, it came rare, then when they brought it back it was burnt. My friend ordered shrimp on pasta. It was too rubbery and was too small too. Prices are rather too high.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eden, nc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty good!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great service, good food. Situated on an old house so the place is a little on the small side. Tight parking lot. Will be back in the future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank james200127288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MJ's Steak and Seafood also viewed

 

Been to MJ's Steak and Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing