We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFUL FOR KIDS”

Greensboro Science Center
Ranked #2 of 68 things to do in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the wonders of an aquarium, zoo, science museum, and 3D theater all in one attraction! See sharks, penguins, otters, stingrays, a fishing cat and other amazing animals from around the world in the NEW Carolina SciQuarium. Get eye-to-eye with tigers, meerkats, monkeys, crocodiles and other unique animals in Animal Discovery Zoo. Roam through Dinosaur Gallery, take a journey through the human body, experience extreme weather, and have fun in Kid's Alley in the Museum. Watch amazing 3-D shows that pop out of the screen in the OmniSphere Theater.
Covington, GA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL FOR KIDS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our 5-year-old and 3-year-old really enjoy trips to the Greensboro Science Center. Patience is key, as some animals will seek shelter from the crowds, but will eventually emerge. So the zoo portion is really, really great as peacocks and guineas stroll about, along with the visitors. Inside, there's a presentation based on "Indiana Jones" called "Indiana BONES" which is very well done, but be forewarned the room fills quickly - so CHECK the SCHEDULE and PREPARE accordingly to be there early for a seat. We have not visited since the new aquarium portion opened recently, so I cannot comment on that. But the zoo and interior programs and exhibits are EXCELLENT for KIDS - and as an old guy I learned a thing or three, myself !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OldGeorgiaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    249
    57
    12
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lots to see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very nice new aquarium. Enjoyed seeing the animals in the zoo section the most. The down side was that most of the animals seemed very stressed to the point that everyone in our party mentioned it. It definitely cut down on the enjoyment to wonder if they were ok.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank goinplaces2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Outing for the Whole Family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

With the new addition of the "Sciaquarium" it makes for a very interesting attraction for the whole family young and old. The outdoor animal exhibits are good as well especially the tigers if you get them while they are walking around and active. I would caution you to not get to close to the fence since tigers are just like cats they will spray to mark their territory. They do have a great glassed in viewing area where you can see up close the big cats. Loved the penguins and the big tank with the sharks.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
563 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“a very neat place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I went by on a sunday. Not crowded at all. Its a little small but had a lot of neat stuff to see and do. Nice animals and fish, plus other stuff to do in the hands on part of the center. Has a nice café that is ran by Fresh Foods.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank firebear1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Little Bit of Everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We started with the aquarium. The first exhibit was a swimming cat-looked much like our own domestic short hair but slightly larger. A large tank housed sharks and a variety of other fish. A penguin exhibit was fun-they have their own Facebook page.
A room with exhibits pertaining to the human body was fun and included a variety of interactive exhibits.
An outdoor zoo included farm animals, monkeys, and even two large tigers.
Indoor exhibits included reptiles, insects, minerals, fossils, and dinosaur skeletons.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Greensboro Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing