We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-rate food”
Review of Mark's Restaurant

Mark's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Mark's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #75 of 910 Restaurants in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: W Friendly Ave
Transit: Connection To Municipal Bus Lines.
Description: Marks Restaurant is a casual fine dining establishment founded in 2011. The Menu changes seasonally and features mostly organic and local foods whenever possible with some of that even being grown in the organic garden behind the restaurant. Mark's offers small plates designed for "sharing" as well as traditional coursed meals, a seasonal handcrafted cocktail list with many local distilleries featured in them, a well thought out wine list, and 4 draught beers on tap with an emphasis on local breweries.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This restaurant is a great place to go to get some of the best prepared food in Greensboro. Mark Freedman has more than surpassed everything that his former restaurant, Mark's on Westover, was. Impressive! This location sits in a quaint setting in western Greensboro outside the assiduousness of what is downtown. When you walk in, you get the special feeling of fine dining with white linen tablecloths, wood floors and the large windows that view the greenery of the outdoors. During warmer weather, there is a beautiful patio out back surrounded by Mark's fresh herb garden.

The courtesy and service extended are top notch. There are so many flavorful items on the menu that it is difficult to make a choice. The Grilled Ostrich with a sweet pepper, corn flan and edamame succotash was cooked to perfection at medium rare. The meat tastes like beef but on the finish there is a little kick with a hint of spiced jerky. Definitely a taste to savor! The Veal Marsala finished with black truffles had an unexpected essence which melted in your mouth. Finally, the Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee was exquisite for dessert.

Mark's should definitely be one of your top choices for dining in the area!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank orangecamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, General Manager at Mark's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your evening here at Mark's! We really hope to see you again soon! Thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 107 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

We went to Mark's in October to celebrate my son's birthday. The whole family went, including my 6 year old grandson and 18 month old granddaughter. The restaurant was very nice and the the host and servers were exceptional. We were worried about the menu for the kids but they were most accomodating, letting us ask for anything we wanted for them. The whole meal was excellent and the atmosphere most charming. We definitely will be back again. I rate it among the best we have tried in Greensboro.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nana2connor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, General Manager at Mark's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Thank you! We aim to be one of the best restaurants in the Piedmont Triad! we certainly appreciate you sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent ambiance! Outstanding service and a great variety of menu offerings with creative presentations available to choose from.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, General Manager at Mark's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor Mike C! We hope you will dine with us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

For years Mark's had been one of the best restaurants in Greensboro. Then it closed.
It opened again in a new location and after my most recent visit I see its beck on top again.
Everything about our latest experience was excellent. Food, service and atmosphere were great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ourstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, General Manager at Mark's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

That is so great to hear! Thank you for your feedback and we really appreciate you sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We hope you will join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have not dined with Mark since he was on Westover, until tonight. We had forgotten what a great restaurant he has. The quality of the ingredients, preparation and service was exceptional. We had the pork chop and ostrich, and both were delicious. Mark takes great pains to secure the finest ingredients, which cost more, but given that fact his prices are reasonable, including the wine. He has capable and loyal wait staff as well, accomplished without being pushy or snooty. I like the way they state the price when giving the evening's off-menu specials. The ambience was quiet and classy too, and the bar is very attractive. A guitarist was performing unobtrusively as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CarolinaTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, General Manager at Mark's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Thank you for your feedback! We certainly hope you will be back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mark's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mark's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing