We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Lunch”

Southern Lights Bistro
Ranked #78 of 886 Restaurants in Greensboro
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Markland Dr.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
164 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great for Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Tomato Basil soup and Chicken Salad scoop were just the right combination for lunch. Service was great. Nice to sit outside for lunch in this beautiful weather.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janiceboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    27
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean, crisp and delicious.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Excellent Tomato Bisque, Sea Bass, and had an appetizer special of Chorizo Spring Rolls. WOW! Would definitely return and recommend to others. A neighborhood gem.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rmwein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“It's okay...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Seems like they are trying to be upscale with the menu and pricing, but the serve coke out of cans! Good service, decent food, but a little overpriced. If you are looking for a nice night out, i would much rather prefer several others in Greensboro over this.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Demott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Different from the original but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We started coming here for our Girl's Nights Out after our previous two locations quit serving chocolate mousse. It definitely has a different feel than the original location. It's less "neighborhood gem" than it used to be. It's also a little pricier. However, if you aren't expecting it to be the original, and you know the prices are higher, it's a great experience. This past visit, our service was amazing. The waitress we had was incredibly friendly and helpful, but she didn't hover. The food is always delicious- I got the turkey sandwich, but if you like burgers, their Reference burger is, hands down, one of the best in town. Get it with cheese. We will continue to go here! (Also, they are on Open Table, which I really appreciate.)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LibbyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not the same”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Sadly, the new Southern Lights is nothing like the original. When it first opened it seemed like it had a pretty good chance. They had several small portion entrees, and quite a variety. The menu seems to shrink and increase in price every time I go. The food it average, I think, but there are few choices. The last time I went my daughter and I had an appetizer and a glass of wine and the bill was over 50 dollars.There are so many better places to eat in Greensboro.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gsoncnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Lights Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Southern Lights Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing