We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“peace and sustenance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dailey Renewal Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dailey Renewal Retreat
Ranked #2 of 8 Greensboro B&B and Inns
Hillsborough, North Carolina
1 review
“peace and sustenance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This B&B has been a wonderful refuge for me on overnights as a commuting grad student. I sleep better there than at home, and have enjoyed tremendous warmth and positive energy from the beautiful house and the attentive host. It's close to campus and lots of community events. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    8
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
15
18
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The good: the location is excellent - walkable to good restaurants and the Greensboro Coliseum. Reservations were easy and Ms. Dailey was prompt to return emails and provide information. She also went out of her way to provide a fax machine.
The average: the bedroom was nothing special and could have benefited greatly from a warm rug on the cold wooden floor and an extra quilt on the bed. Breakfast was a disappointment and consisted of bagels and packaged cereal - no protein or hot meal. The bathroom was tiny and shared between two rooms.
Overall, a perfectly fine place to stay a night or two but certainly nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daileyrenewalretreat, Owner at Dailey Renewal Retreat, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Bed and Breakfasts are very popular, hotels are now built as Inns for the purpose of capturing this market. Our Bed and Breakfast is of the orginal model: it is part of the history of Greensboro, built in 1914 by Albert Eugene Fordham a Greensboro patriarch. The hardwood floors are heart of pine, now the most expensive wood for flooring because trees no longer grow to the size "their heart" can be used as flooring. We have area rugs on the hardwood floors. There are several in the room this Guest stayed in. All our rooms have a spare blanket in the dresser. The bathroom this Guest referred to is directly across the hall from the room she stayed in. It was installed in 2011 in a location of the house that doesn't mar the beauty of the archetecture but is convenient for Guest use. At breakfast, this Guest participated in a discussion with another Guest who's an expert on Water conservation, he said: "if everyone were vegetarian, we wouldn't be facing a shortage of water for our food supply; raising meat requires so much water. I taught Organic cooking in the kitchen of The Dailey Renewal Retreat from 2002- 2009; I embrace this philosophy. In 2013 we will introduce our classic French chocolate torte, a complete protein breakfast dessert with the "right" sugar and the "right" fat. Vive la joie de vivre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed at this B&B and enjoyed my time here tremendously. Nice rooms and great location in Greensboro.
I was in town on business and chose to stay here after my stay in a hotel for a few extra days in the area. This is a beautiful, quiet house. I was able to rest much more comfortably than at the hotel. Sometimes those can be so noisy, but this B&B was very quiet.
It is close to everything.
Very quiet!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed there for four nights from 8/8/12-8/12/12 and did not get any clean towel per day, no shampoo or conditioner, no breakfast as indicated and the worst was I got bud bed bited on the first night on my rightside of my hip . There was no clean sheet changed per night and smells like someone pees in the room. It was horrible. DON'T BOOK THIS PROPERTY!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daileyrenewalretreat, Owner at Dailey Renewal Retreat, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Our NC Sanitation rating is 99.0, an A, there are no bed bugs at the B & B. We are a Green faciity, this was explained to the Guest and she was given the option to have new linens each day, she didn't request this. Breakfast is served at 9 AM, she left at 7 each morning, a self serve breakfast was available at that time. She was one of 10 in a party, none of the other Guests were dissatisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludvika
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Dailey Renewal Retreat is a very nice B&B. We stayed for 3 nights and later came back for another night. Jean treated us like old friends. It felt like coming home. Everything was fine. We really appreciated the organic breakfast.
If you are going to visit Greensboro and need a place to stay, we can recommend to stay at this B&B. You will not be disapointed. Jean takes care of you.

Anette and Bernt, Ludvika, Sweden.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Jean greeted us at the door with a warm smile and an open heart. It had been along day of travel, but we felt at peace the moment that we arrived at our haven.
Hot tea and french press coffee where a blessing to have on hand as we stayed at the Inn. We had a wonderful organic homemade breakfast every morning of our 4 day 3 night stay.
Close to everything and very clean.

I would highly recomend this wonderful place to any of my friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AprilBowersAgency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We had a 4-day visit with Jean Dailey in her Greensboro B & B. The house is in a nice residential neighborhood - "10 minutes from everything". Several great restaurants are nearby. Our room was at the top of the stairs with a shared bathroom in the hallway. Every thing was extremely clean. The room was very spacious and a small refrigerator and microwave were available in the hall. There is no maid service per se. Breakfast is coffee or tea, fruit juice and bagels. We were the only 2 guests so had breakfast with Jean every morning. She is very knowledgable about Greensboro and had many great suggestions for shopping, spas, and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug89523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
1.5 mi away
O.Henry Hotel
O.Henry Hotel
#1 of 76 in Greensboro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
2.4 mi away
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
#24 of 76 in Greensboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Greensboro Coliseum
2.3 mi away
The Biltmore Greensboro
The Biltmore Greensboro
#7 of 76 in Greensboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.8 mi away
Proximity Hotel
Proximity Hotel
#2 of 76 in Greensboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dailey Renewal Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dailey Renewal Retreat

Property: Dailey Renewal Retreat
Address: 808 Northridge St, Greensboro, NC 27403-2111
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dailey Renewal Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Dailey Renewal Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing