We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Remembers Me”
Review of Positano

Positano
Reserve with OpenTable
Positano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #83 of 887 Restaurants in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Target Shopping Center
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staff Remembers Me”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Since it's close to my workplace, Positano is easy to dash into for a meal to go, and the restaurant is a lovely place to meet for a nice meal after work. My husband and I are both fans of the Chicken Picatta, and they make it gluten-free for me with gluten-free pasta, and leave off the Parmesan cheese from the spaghetti side for my lactose free husband. I dropped in a couple of times over the last month or so for our meal to go, and the bartender on duty remembered me from before, a pleasant surprise. Centrally located in Greensboro, it's a great date-night restaurant for a romantic meal, then close to shopping and movie theatres. Just a hop, skip, and a jump from downtown, the baseball stadium, and several national and city parks. The food is consistently delicious, the staff courteous and friendly, the restaurant beautiful and comfortable. Go dressy or casual, but go hungry; the portions are generous. One of our favorites!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    18
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth the trip from Durham”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

In Greensboro for a show and found Positano courtesy of Opentable. Service and food were both very good. Large portions resulted in 2 to go boxes. The calamari was hot and crispy. Hubby had the pasta carbonara. A salty, creamy indulgence. I had the pizza margarita. Being a native New Yorker I am picky about my pizza and this was very good pizza. If we lived in Greensboro, we would be frequent visitors to Positano's.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colleen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oz
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Cuisine in NC”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Full Disclosure: As an Italian-American who grew up in NYC and whose grandfather owned a restaurant in Boston's famed North End, I tend to be a harsh critic of Italian restaurants. Many Italian restaurants in the south have a special affliction developed from trying to please the locals; this often results in sweet but overly-spiced sauces, unadventurous entrees and bread that could best be described as Crustless Wonders.
Then there's Positano. While the restaurant is happy to serve up the usual crowd-pleasing dishes from Veal Parmigiana to Spaghetti and Meatballs to Pizza, the best cuisine would be the dishes featuring the more authentic southern Italian fare. The owner is a native of Positano, a beautiful seaside town south of Naples. So, it's not surprising that his restaurant features a number of excellent seafood dishes served fresh and with a variety of sauces.
There are more than a dozen different sauces on the menu to adorn a variety of meat and fish plates, and your pasta (as a side or main course) is not limited to simply ziti or spaghetti. In addition to the above, linguine, capellini, fettuccini, rigatoni, and a half-dozen ravioli options await.
Bracket your meal with a choice from a dozen appetizers and some of the best deserts in the Triad, a reasonably-priced wine list and excellent, knowledgeable waitstaff, and you're in for a treat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scafeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Italian Delight”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food is just right, the atmosphere (in the booths, anyway) is romantic, and the staff acts like they're family - to each other and to you. I make sure to go here every year on my birthday, and my next-door neighbor does, too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GogoGSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A real disappointment”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I had not dined at Positano in quite a while and decided to try it again. I ordered the smoked chicken ravioli and she had veal parmesan. My meal was delicious but my wife's was not. The veal was tough as shoe leather and she ended up not eating over half of it.

I realize that Positano could have had a bad night (although we arrived there before 5pm) or simply made a mistake. I also realize that we should have brought the matter to the attention of the manager much sooner than the waitperson's final check.

Regardless, it will likely be a few more years before we return.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing