We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Interactive Tour”

International Civil Rights Center & Museum
Ranked #1 of 70 things to do in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The International Civil Rights Center & Museum (ICRCM), located in Greensboro, N.C., is an archival center, collecting museum and teaching facility devoted to the international struggle for civil and human rights. This national landmark and national site of conscience celebrates the nonviolent protests of the 1960 Greensboro sit-ins that served as a catalyst in the civil rights movement. Our vision is to memorialize the courageous stand of the Greensboro Four as they launched, for posterity, the sit-in movement Feb. 1, 1960. We hope that the ICRCM, with its focus on the sit-in activities at the F.W. Woolworth lunch counter in Greensboro in 1960, will inspire the vigilance and fortify the spirit of all oppressed people to step forward in the ongoing struggle for human freedom.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Spectacular Interactive Tour”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

It put us right ay the very scene of someone of the most controversial moments in our African-American history. I was taken by surprise at how they computer generated the images onto walls and through virtual glass. It is a site and tour to see; even our son enjoyed the tour.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cedric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    649
    128
    33
    17
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredible interactive museum - must see for all ages”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We as Americans should all take the time to visit. I had some down time last year when in Greensboro and as a reflect back it was the best spent time for my personal education in years. I wish my kids in California were with me. Form the brave young men to staged the sit in at the diner counter to the history of civil rights in this country you get to experience what it might have been like to be Black and of color in America. Some of the exhibts are haunting.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Eye opening”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The museum uses photos and videos in an innovative way to communicate what it was like to go through the 60's in the southern U.S. You can only tour the museum with a guide, which I appreciated because most tours led by a person are more informative for me than those which aren't.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank trusted-advice-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for adults”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were required to go on a tour and were put with a group of about 30. Couldn't really see what the guide was referring to, and had it been self-guided I think my young children would have enjoyed it more. Building was beautiful, but moving through at own pace and activities for young children (e.g., things to look for, worksheets) rather than a mandatory guide would have been better for us.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Seatac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rooms available for groups”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The museum itself is full of history and beauty, but if you want to reserve a room for a meeting, they will nickle and dime you for everything!
The event person is hard to reach, return calls and makes you want to go somewhere else.
No wonder this place is struggling financially!
This could be a goldmine for the area and has been promoted as such, but needs to have someone that cares about the facility and has packages that are feasible for groups.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank RULISTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Civil Rights Center & Museum also viewed

 

Been to International Civil Rights Center & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing