We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad staff and hollow walls - NOISY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites Greensboro East
Ranked #41 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
LKN2
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad staff and hollow walls - NOISY”
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Stay here only if you want to hear you neighbors or hallway noise ! After pulling up to this new hotel and thinking how nice it would must be, what a surprise !

We had the unfortunate luck to stay there at the same time as they were having a local sports tournament. The hotel was sold out and filled with teenagers. They were well behaved and by no means rowdy.

However, the walls were so thin that we heard detailed conversations from the room next door. The room doors were so LOUD when closing that we heard every entry/exit that occurred in our area. We finally fell asleep after midnight and were woken at 6 with the exit of people leaving their room.

I have traveled on business for over 20 years and never stayed in such a poorly insulated hotel.

On top of that, you're on your own if you want guidance to good food. The front desk lady flat out told us she didn't have a clue about how to get to downtown (3 miles away) since she didn't frequent those type establishments. We were lucky that I had a small map print out that provided basic directions. For GREAT food try the Liberty Oak restaurant in downtown. Superb meal, great wine selection, and excellent service !

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    27
    15
    12
    10
See reviews for
36
16
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
apex
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Lady in the sales department was excellent when giving information about meetings and where to go and what to do while visiting the area. She gave some great ideas and made our stay delightful. She is certainly an assit to this company!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjwillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Ideally located by 85 as we were just traveling through. Very clean and new feel. Flat screens, large rooms. Everything good regarding the building and facilities.
Staff left me with an overall poor impression.
Check-in staff more bothered about asking for a telephone number for my check-in rather than welcoming me to the hotel (6+ hour drive so would have been nice).
Evening staff seemed irritated at having to give directions to dinner twice - let me give UK directions to a USA driver and we'll see if it can be confusing.
Shared breakfast with two staff in full discussion, who were then joined by another 2 staff and the visiting Fed-Ex man. Totally agree that Staff should benefit from the hotel breakfast and keep the Fed-Ex man sweet is good - but being a customer I prefer to eat in peace.
I would recommend staying here due to hotel condition which is excellent - you can ignore staff but you cannot ignore poor rooms.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitz444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Just returned from our trip and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on big tree way-very friendly staff, clean, reasonable price and great location-near mall, restaurants and highways. My only complaint is the air conditioning in our room was a little spotty.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for three night while in the area attending the first and second rounds of the 2009 NCAA Division 1 Men’s Basketball Tournament. This appears to be a relatively new hotel and is still in pristine condition. I made my reservation well in advance by using the Holiday Inn Website and received an excellent rate. Check in was very easy as I was parked and in my room in about 5-minutes. The room was very spacious and extremely cleaned. The bathroom had plenty of towels and the hot was hot. The beds were well made and very comfortable. The morning breakfast area featured a hot breakfast of eggs, sausage, bacon, gravy and biscuits along with the usual pastries, cold cereal and fruit. The breakfast area was very well attended for the entire time. The coffee was a little strong and bitter for my taste but that is a personal choice. Check out was equally quick and easy. All of the employee, including the front desk and breakfast and housekeeping staff were exceptionally courteous and professional. All in all this Holiday Inn exceeded my expectations and I will definitely stay here whenever I am in the Greensboro area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SneakinDeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
12.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greensboro Airport
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greensboro-Wendover
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Greensboro
Comfort Inn Greensboro
#18 of 76 in Greensboro
178 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Greensboro Coliseum
8.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Greensboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Greensboro East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Greensboro East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Suites Greensboro East
Address: 3111 Cedar Park Rd, Greensboro, NC 27405-9657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Greensboro East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE CURRENTLY GOING THROUGH A REMODEL FOR OUT GUESTS BENEFIT, CONSTRUCTION GOING ON BETWEEN THE HOURS OF 9A-6P. New Greensboro, NC Hotel Boasts Excellent Facilities Relax with us at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Greensboro, NC. Our hotel is convenient to the Piedmont Triad International Airport and many area attractions. Vacationing families will love staying at this Greensboro, NC hotel, located along Business Interstates 40 and 85. We offer easy access to universities, such as UNCG, North Carolina A&T State University, Elon University, Greensboro College, Bennett College and Guilford College. Nearby is the Greensboro Coliseum-Home of the ACC Basketball Tournament. The Natural Science Center, the Asheboro Zoo, the Greensboro Arboretum and Wet-n-Wild Emerald Point Water Park are nearby. NASCAR races at the Charlotte, Martinsville and Rockingham Motor Speedways are a short drive away. Corporate travelers will be impressed by our comfortable Greensboro, NC accommodations. Situated in a suburban area of Greensboro, the hotel is in close proximity to transportation centers such as the Amtrak and Greyhound stations, and many large businesses. Nearby companies include the High Point Market (International Home Furnishings Market), Kmart Distribution Center, UPS, Lorillard, Zink Imaging, IBM and VF Corporation. We also provide a business center with email, faxing, copying and printing services, so you can do business on the road. While you stay at our Greensboro, NC hotel, enjoy amenities including an outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center and our free hot breakfast bar. Book your reservation now to take advantage of our great Greensboro hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Greensboro East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing