We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HORRIBLE........” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Greensboro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Place Greensboro
Ranked #11 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HORRIBLE........”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Horrible.........had paid for 3 nights, 1st night we got there late an called for late check in we booked 1double bed room an 1 king when we got there they didn't have any double beds which we were given a king which did not accommodate my family the front desk offered my 17 yr old a bed in the majntance room for the night till they could get us a room in the morning we didn't accept so he slept the floor. In the meantime the second rooms floor stunk like mildew from the shower water running out of the bathroom. That afternoon they switch all our rooms we woke up to bed bugs crawling across my blanket in the morning. Maintenance came searched bed took bug called an told us to vacate the room. So yet again we packed an at this point decided to stay else where. They have refused to give us our money back. We have contacted coorporate an they are just as horrible as the manager was. The bug was definately a bed bug we researched it pictures are exact they are now telling us it was a beetle but they called in the exterminator. REALLY for a beetle I don't think so. I will NEVER stay again an would never recommend to anyone unless you wanna waste your money.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    135
    66
    22
    19
See reviews for
159
74
24
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Faulkner, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here on a visit with friends in Greensboro. Very friendly staff, clean rooms at a good rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadrunnermoore33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

The strength of this hotel is the people.
They care about their guests and do whatever they can to provide help.
Wireless: for as many devices as you bring! This is a big PLUS for me. I've been to "free wifi" hotels in the past that offer this on only one device such as your laptop. Since I have an IPod for non-business communications, it was nice to be able to stay in touch with family members without paying extra for this.
Food: No room service. While they do not have a full service restaurant; what they provide is good. Their free breakfast is awesome (oatmeal is fantastic). You can order food from a simple menu of soup, salads, quesadilla, etc. They will prepare it either while you wait there or wait in your room. If you wait in your room, they'll call you when it's ready. You can then take it to your room or eat it in their dining area. You can also buy pre-made / packaged food (aka "Grab n'Go) and take it with you. Another plus: they have "bakery cafe" with yummy baked goods and in-house starbucks. They also offer domestic and imported drinks. Failing this, there are other restaurants in the area that can accommodate most dining needs :)
Rooms: this is their weakness. The best part of the rooms is the size and layout, except bathroom. However, they need to be updated. Except for the large TV (which I didn't use), the room is somewhat out-dated. The plumbing wasn't the best as the sink in my kitchenette/bar area leaked. Maintenance couldn't repair before I left, not because they didn't try, but because it was a bigger issue.... Bathroom was very small and dark - I didn't like this at all. Also the hairdryer would overheat and shut-down. I had to wait a few minutes for it to 'cool' before finishing my "do". These were annoying, but not horrible. Were these "deal-breakers" – for me, no.
Shuttle: they offer a free shuttle to/from airport. Not all hotels offer this, so this is another cost savings. You simply call them from the airport (your own phone or go to the information desk and they will phone) and they will arrange for a pick up.
Overall, if you are not too concerned about your room decor and don't require a full service restaurant, the hotel is a good economical choice. Economical because you save money on all the "small things" like breakfast, wifi, shuttles. Plus their simple meals are tasty and reasonably priced. The staff, the free breakfast and wifi are all fantastic.
BTW, they had an exercise/work out room which I didn't use, but it looked okay. Can't really say much else about that...?
I will probably stay here again.

Room Tip: I found it easy to order something quick to eat from my room, then go down and enjoy it when it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lady-Harley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I'm on overnight trips 1 or 2 nights a week, and I plan to make this hotel my regular place to stay when in Greensboro. It's not a 5-star hotel, but I'm not paying for that here. For the money, it's comfortable, spacious, and well-appointed, both in the lobby and the rooms. The rooms could use some sprucing up, but the 3 times I've stayed here everything has been clean and orderly. I appreciate the breakfast set-up and the availability of other food and beverage options on site (i.e., alcohol), but there's plenty else nearby off-site as well. This place is convenient to the airport and the big convention center, too. This is probably the most professional and most consistently helpful and friendly staff with whom I've ever interacted. Big kudos for that!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLeopards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Very friendly front desk and breakfast area staff. But that's really the only part of the hotel that looks modernized. My room was clean, but in real need of a soft renovation. Worn, stained carpets, funky bathroom layout. Small window...not much natural light. Thank God I was really tired when I arrived.

There's a big sitting area with old sectional couch that looked like it had seen some mileage, and a cramped sleeping area with two double/queen beds jammed in. Bed had a nice bit of bowl-shaped sag going on, too.

Had hoped it was more like the Hyatt House I'd recently stayed at in another city. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b_radley9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

In an effort to be positive, I have to say that what this hotel had going for it was a very pleasant and helpful front desk staff. But having stayed at 4 other Hyatt Hotels, this property was very disappointing, pretty dumpy and not worth the price. My guess is it used to be a $65/night type place that was bought-out, "upgraded" quickly and given the Hyatt name - The couch in our first room on the 2nd floor had 2 large stains, along with stains on the carpet. We switched to the 5th floor without any problem, and while the couch appeared clean, this carpet was stained as well, you didn't want to take your shoes off. There was also the weirdest odor in the halls and rooms. We were in town for a concert and friends were staying there as well (all of us for the first time) so we stayed put but only because of time constraints. Won't stay here again, the hotel seemed like an imposter in Hyatt clothing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tr0picalChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

My husband and I like Hyatts, and we always use them when we can. We were staying 1 night here, with a King bed and romance package that included chocolate and wine. We checked in around 8 pm, and were told that due to the "heavy rain" the night prior, ALL of the king rooms were unavailable. They could only offer a double, so we figured we could deal with it. We went up to the room, and the toilet was running non-stop. There was no bottle opener, so we put the wine aside for later, and flipped on the tv. Some of the channels didn't come in, and the ones that did were terrible quality...a snowy kind of screen. So, we were unhappy, but were still willing to stay. Then, at 11:30 PM, a bus load of about 60 young teens (kids convention) showed up on the floor, screaming, slamming doors, hanging out in the hallway, running around, playing guitars...no joke. We peeked out into the hallway, and called the front desk and asked to change rooms, but there were none available, They said they would "ask them to stop." So we gave it another 20 minutes, and it was worse. We packed our stuff up, went to the lobby, and told them this is absolutely unacceptable at midnight, and we drove 2 hours home. We asked for a refund, and were told we would get one, but nothing yet. Way to ruin a romantic evening. We will NOT stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rml90107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#5 of 76 in Greensboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Greensboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Greensboro
SpringHill Suites Greensboro
#10 of 76 in Greensboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Greensboro
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Greensboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Greensboro

Property: Hyatt Place Greensboro
Address: 1619 Stanley Road, Greensboro, NC 27407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Greensboro
#25 Business Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Greensboro 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Place Greensboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Greensboro Hotel Greensboro
Hyatt Greensboro
Greensboro Hyatt Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing