We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty Hotel, No Daily Room Service, Permit Smoking” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Greensboro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Greensboro
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dirty Hotel, No Daily Room Service, Permit Smoking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel approximately 1x month for the past year. They permitted smoking prior to their recent renovation. I was excited to see they went smoke-free during the renovation. Unfortunately people routinely smoke at the hotel and hotel staff refuse to solve the problem. Additionally, although the rooms are a bit nicer than prior to the renovation, they are not cleaned properly with trash found on the floor in "clean" rooms routinely. Finally they do nit clean rooms daily.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Slloydga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    166
    95
    40
    22
See reviews for
139
116
48
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We found this hotel to be excellent. They were in the process of finishing the renovations and we did not find it to be intrusive in the least. We had not made reservations but there was no problem accommodating us. The room was very well laid out except for the bed being too close to the wall (a queen bed would probably be fine). The bathroom was modern and very clean. The towels were fluffy and plentiful. There seemed to be a fully stocked kitchen ( crockery, dishes, toaster, fridge, microwave, etc.) for prolonged stays. There was even a full closet with a door for clothes needing to be hung up. The laundry room was very welcoming and had snacks and coffee available. Everyone on staff seemed to understand their job was to be done as "service with a smile". The "breakfast lady" was exceptionally good. The eggs with ham and cheese were superior and there was always enough. Their choice of bagels and muffins were fresh and delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel is an older facility and the decor could be updated some. The staff were really friendly and polite and the room clean and comfortable. There were no towels in the room when we got in but the staff bought a full set of towels to the room immediately after I called.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Helpful?
Thank Rodney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

High Point furniture market is the reason these hotels stay in business. While doubling the price is a grudgingly accepted rule for visting at this time, , accommodations did not even meet $75/night places. They ran out of food at breakfasts by 7am, had hot water issues, drinking water issues and odor issues .Second star is for staff who was friendly and tried to be accommodating under circumstances. Poor managerial planning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Hotel has recently been redecorated and they did a nice job.
All hotels in this area are over priced at market time.
My room was comfortable and quite.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
4.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Greensboro
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greensboro Airport
4.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Greensboro
Hyatt Place Greensboro
#10 of 76 in Greensboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Greensboro
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Greensboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Greensboro

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Greensboro
Address: 7623 Thorndike Rd, Greensboro, NC 27409-9421
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Greensboro
#15 Romantic Hotel in Greensboro
#18 Business Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Greensboro 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL NEW --- $2 MILLION RENOVATION COMPLETE AS OF OCTOBER 2013!Come experience the first all suites hotel of its kind in the Triad, the brand new Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham - Greensboro. Our richly appointed suites make the ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. Every suite offers a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, stove top/range, and dishwasher, plus brand new Simmons Beautyrest bedding and Samsung HDTVs. Traveling on business? Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk with complimentary HSIA, or utilize our state of the art business center. Communication is no problem with voicemail, free local calls and two separate phone lines. Hungry? Enjoy a delicious, hot breakfast buffet each morning on the house, or visit our on-site convenience store open around the clock. Work off some stress in our 24 hour Fitness Center, or take advantage of our free guest membership to The Rush Fitness Complex. Staying a while? You can still pack light and rely on our on-site complimentary laundry facility. And don't leave your best friend at home...we are pet friendly,too (fees apply). Conveniently located off I-40/Hwy 421 at Exit 210, just 3 miles south of the Piedmont Triad International Airport (GSO/PTI) in the Deep River Office area, and easily accessible to I-85 and I-73. High Point University, Four Seasons Mall, Celebration Station, the Greensboro Coliseum Complex and a wide variety of restaurants are just minutes away, as well as close proximity to Castle McCulloch, Emerald Pointe Wet-N-Wild and local companies including: RF Micro Devices, FedEx, Volvo, Honda Jet, and many others! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Greensboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Greensboro
Candlewood Greensboro
Greensboro Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing