We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grandover Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A very good place to stay”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

I travel to this area for business and have been doing so for over 25 years. Over the last 10 years or so I have used the Grandover for stays and meetings. This is mainly due to location. However after reading the other reviews I feel compelled to point out that the value received for the rate charged is very good. That is rating only the value of the stay and not the quality of the golf or spa. The restaurant is also very good for the area. If you go there expecting to compare it to a 5 star golf property elsewhere you might be disappointed. However if you compare it based on the stay verses other hotels and motels in the area, it is a very good value. I would give them 4 stars for the traveler and for their handling of business meetings.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlarue111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    161
    72
    36
    32
See reviews for
122
198
21
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a great resort to host a conference. The meeting rooms are spacious with great sound and knowledgeable A/V staff. Wes and John in Banquet Services are great to work with, quick to respond to any situation and will do whatever it takes to make sure your conference goes smoothly.

The guest rooms are clean, comfortable and well sized. My room on the 11th floor overlooked the pristine golf course; it's beautiful. The fitness room has cardio machines and a weight machine which were adequate.

Although it appears to be out of the way, it's actually close to some very good restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moncurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I was the opening Spa Director at the Grandover Resort in 1999. I recently returned for a visit. The grounds and building are beautiful. The guest rooms are generally not too large but the public spaces in the resort are huge and generally not very crowded. there are many many spacious, clean public restrooms. the water from the water fountains in the public spaces was judged by my 9 year old daughter as the best water she has ever had. there is not much nearby the resort and it is not a great place for families. but for a couple looking for a relaxed getaway, I think it is great. Especially if one or both of you like golf, tennis, and spa treatments.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My mom and I stayed here from July 9-13th when my twins were at camp at Victory Junction camp. We both needed to get away and relax but also wanted to feel pampered and relaxed. I have to say that for a 5 star resort, the price we paid during the week was wonderful and I cannot wait to stay again next year, if not sooner.

My mother needed a handicapped room (for the bathroom) and the we asked for a received a wonderful room that was large and comfortable, furnishing were great with two very comfortable Queen beds.

From the moment my mom and I pulled up to the hotel door, in the pouring rain, the assistance and help and service we received was top notch. What I really liked is that despite being such a high end resort it was not pretentious and the staff not overbearing. I was comfortable walking around the hotel in either a dress or jeans. No one minded.

They provided excellent tips on what to see and where to eat. My mom and I spent our first day each getting a hot stone massage and facials (with lunch in between in the spa) and it was a great way to start.

It rained or was overcast most of the time we were there, so we did not sit at the pool, but I have to say the pool with the waterpool is just beautiful and just sitting inside by the waterfall is peaceful and serence.

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful. We only ate at the the pool table for a quick bite a couple of evenings late but the food was great and service very good too.

I have to say my mom and I were both very pleased with our experience and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawblond7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a beautiful resort for relaxation. My husband and I visited on Labor Day Weekend. The resort and grounds are very well kept. The resort has a very peaceful and quiet atmosphere. The room was spacious and very clean. The service was wonderful. We had a Spa Package...the spa is very nice and relaxing. There wasn't very many people there but the service was great. The staff is very friendly; check-in and check-out was a breeze. We arrived at the resort at 11:00 because we had 12:00 appointment at the spa and they allowed us to check-in our room early! (That was a nice surprise.)

The restaurant, in the resort, is excellent! We had breakfast and dinner there and the food was 5-star quality. The resort offers free wi-fi to registered guests.

The resort appears to be "in the middle of nowhere", but Greensboro city limit is only about 4 miles away. We found a huge mall, a movie theater and numerous restaurants.

We will definitely visit the resort again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Senica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just finished a two night stay at the Grandover for a family wedding. The hotel was able to accommodate us all and provided ample space for us to congregate. We enjoyed time at the pool with the fun waterfall, caught up in the bar, and walked the beautiful grounds. The concierge, Karen, was wonderful in helping us find a fantastic baby sitter to care for our children one evening.
Just a couple things to note: the first few rooms of each floor are smoking rooms. The odor in the hallway as we exited the elevator each time was overwhelming. Lastly, although the breakfast we had at the Italian restaurant in the hotel was delicious it took much, much too long. Perhaps more staff needed?
Overall we had a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room higher up for better views. We had connecting rooms looking out over the golf course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cslbwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

I was a guest during the Wyndham Championship and I was very pleased with the Grandiver. Well appointed rooms with great views to the surrounding golf course. Wifi was good but not free. Swimming pool and hot tub, gym and a spa, so you have it all. I particularly enjoyed the spa and their attentive service. The pro-shop is very good too. And of course, the golf course is spot on. All in all a great stay for business conference and/or a golf outing.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank julio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
7.2 mi away
O.Henry Hotel
O.Henry Hotel
#1 of 76 in Greensboro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
7.5 mi away
Proximity Hotel
Proximity Hotel
#2 of 76 in Greensboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
4.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#4 of 76 in Greensboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Biltmore Greensboro
The Biltmore Greensboro
#9 of 76 in Greensboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandover Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandover Resort and Conference Center

Property: Grandover Resort and Conference Center
Address: One Thousand Club Road, Greensboro, NC 27407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grandover Resort and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising above the North Carolina Foothills is the Grandover Resort, a picturesque resort with 247 guestrooms, Spa at Grandover and two 18-hole championship golf courses. Indoor/outdoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, tennis, fitness center, restaurants and lobby bars. We are the perfect choice for meetings or conferences with our flexible meeting space, on-site catering, audio & visual, and much more for you to have a successful meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grandover Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandover Greensboro
Grandover Resort Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing