We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Great Staff!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The front desk staff, the wait staff and the managers all had great personalities and were more than helpful. I had an issue with my online submission not updating my stay and the front desk staff went out of there way to make up for the confusion. I did not try the restaurant. I would definitely stay here again sinc eit is rare these days to receive such customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaJ441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    136
    74
    36
    19
See reviews for
87
64
20
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a fairly standard chain hotel but the staff really make this place memorable. The team both at breakfast and in the bar in the evening are friendly and make you feel very welcome.
The rooms are a good size with all necessary fixtures and fittings. Comfortable beds and clean bathrooms the staple needs when away from home are more than adequate. I missed having a robe in the room. The weekly internet charge is the best option if you need to regularly access.
The hotel is quite noisy however and a lot of the rooms have very thin walls as they have connecting doors.
Breakfast selection is great and the Buffet choice is fabulous and if you have a sweet tooth you must try the breakfast blueberry pancakes.
The portion size in the restaurant is very generous and far too much for me, but the quality and rates for a business hotel are good.
The swimming pool was closed all week which was a disappointment but I guess this means it will be nicely refurbished for future guests.
Location wise this is close walking distance to restaurants and the small city park, however for a lone female traveler I felt a little vulnerable walking the streets in the area after dark.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is a classic convention hub. The place is massive and its easy to get lost. If you park your car in the wrong lot its almost like walking through the maze of a casino lobby to find your way.

The rooms are fine, clean, but nothing updated. There are lots of restaurants and dining options inside which is good because there really isn't anyplace to walk to.

All in all there was nothing bad about the stay but nothing great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beccaniece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Valets help make the arrival special. They were very attentive to our YaYa group. We had a great breakfast in the restaurant. We will be returning in the Spring for a baseball game. We will stay at the Marriott again. You can not beat the location.

Room Tip: If you need an adjoining room, the ninth floor is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inletgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel was fine. It was very clean and the staff was extremely friendly. It's a little pricey, but better than staying in an unsafe dump - and there are plenty in Greensboro.
Room was spacious, bathroom was spotless. We were given a code for free wifi.
The lounge made good drinks and snacks but they were pricey.
The staff was very attentive and very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamrizzbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donato P, General Manager at Greensboro Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have the opportunity to visit with us again. It was our pleasure to have you. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Weekend Getaway......The staff at this hotel are amazing from the moment you walk in the door. I have not stayed at a hotel besides an all inclusive vacation where staff was so courtous. The hotel is very clean, room was very clean, and beds were comfortable. Hotel is showing some age. Bar area is very small and completely out dated. If you are looking for a happening hotel this is not it. Drink prices are outragous but this is with every Marriot. Hotel location is about 1/2 mile walk to restaurants and other bars but G-boro dowtown area doesnt have much to offer so this is not that big of a deal. We had 2 nights booked and ended up only staying 1 night because hotel and area was so dead with nothing to do. I give this hotel a 2 star because of its age, setup, and downtown Greensboro but the staff are amazing only if they were in another Marriot location. The Marriot in downtown Raleigh is much more happening, modern, and in better location for a NC weekend getaway. Will not be returning to Greensboro any time soon.

Room Tip: I had no problems with noise at hotel so I dont know what people are talking about. Some noise is g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donato P, General Manager at Greensboro Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Greensboro. Some exciting news, our hotel will be undergoing some changes starting in June of this year. We will be fully rennovating our lobby area, lounge and meeting space. I do hope you have the opportunity to experience the finished product once it is completed. We are sure you will find it to be much more modern and up to date. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Rooms were ok but I've stayed at nicer Courtyards & Fairfield Inns. You could hear every detail of the conversations in the rooms next door down to some poor soul puking his guts up at 3am!! Never again will we stay here. I enjoy my privacy and this is not the place for it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pharmdoc06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.4 mi away
The Biltmore Greensboro
The Biltmore Greensboro
#8 of 76 in Greensboro
322 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
2.1 mi away
O.Henry Hotel
O.Henry Hotel
#1 of 76 in Greensboro
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Proximity Hotel
Proximity Hotel
#2 of 76 in Greensboro
473 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#4 of 76 in Greensboro
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greensboro Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greensboro Marriott Downtown

Property: Greensboro Marriott Downtown
Address: 304 N Greene St, Greensboro, NC 27401-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greensboro Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Marriott, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Greensboro Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greensboro Marriott Downtown Hotel Greensboro
Marriott Greensboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing