We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
Ranked #20 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Potomac, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“You can do better”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Poor service, tired rooms, moderately high prices. Try the Proximity or O'Henry much better on all counts at a comparable price. Room service lost my order, car service they recommended was really awful, some communications issues with front desk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    140
    78
    36
    19
See reviews for
89
66
20
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bi-Coastal
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were booked into this hotel on a package thru NASCAR. Loved the fact I was still recognized as an Elite Marriott member.
Staff is wonderful, rooms clean and comfortable. Location s good and walking instance to great restaurants downtown.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Live4Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Rooms weren't worth the money and I wasn't even paying for it. I supposed to be there for business for two weeks but left after one night because I felt like I was getting ripped off. They failed to include the most basic items such as a hair dryer (even budget hotels have this item). Parking wasn't included with the room fee which is insane since you are staying at their hotel so you should be able to park in their garage for free. It's cheaper to park in a public garage than it is to stay in their hotel garage. For such a pricey and "upscale" hotel they should be able to afford to pay for their own garage without charging their guests additional fees. WIFI is not free (again, even cheap hotels offer it to their guests complementary). If you want something that is worth your money, the Hilton Garden on Big Tree Road includes internet, breakfast, parking (as every hotel should), a microwave, and a refrigerator. Also, it seems like the hotel staff is more guest friendly and doesn't try to charge you for everything to to the point where you feel like you are paying for just standing in the lobby. Also, it's only 6 miles from downtown.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aej6047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

At first, I thought the hotel was a standard, unrenovated Marriott. The rooms were quite nice, having been renovated within the last few years. Updated fixtures, new beds, HDTVs, all make for a nice in-room experience. Outside the guest rooms, this place is a nightmare.

The fitness center and swimming pool, while nice features, have no rest rooms convenient to them. The nearest rest rooms are in the conference section on the other side of the hotel. The swimming pool is heated to 93+ degrees, but the hot tub is inoperable. The pool has a vinyl covering over the old tile walls, but even the vinyl is unsafe. The water was clear, but it seemed as though we were in a bathtub, with no bathrooms nearby. Searching for the bathrooms, there were several unlocked dors connecting to the pool room, one of which lead to a now-defunct and abandoned area of the hotel that was a former health club and day care center. That area had the detritus of several tanning beds, broken pool equipment and ladders, broken furniture and exercise equipment, and inoperative bathroom facilities. At least this section could have been locked off...

Now when seeking the bathrooms at 8am on a Sunday, we found them in the conference center on the other side of the hotel. Apparently there was a boxing event in the hotel the night before, but the hotel staff was unprepared for the crowds, and simply did not clean up after the boxing event. The restrooms looked as though they just hosted a major league football game, since there were no supplies, and every surface was covered with bodily fluids and toilets were clogged. When the front desk staff were alerted to the problem, they did call engineering and housekeeping right away, but the fact that they simply paid no attention to the condition of this public area of the hotel is indicative of a more substantial issue with their care of the hotel. They are more than willing to take your money for the room, but only perform the bare minimum of care of their property.

The breakfast was a passable Marriott buffet, with burnt coffee and typical pastries, fruit, and hot buffet items. Certainly not worth even the low $15 price.

Apparently they do have trouble maintaining peace and quiet in the hotel, as they require all guests checking in to sign an agrement about noise complaints.

If you have other choices, I would suggest you take them before staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laltenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you are looking for a nice hotel with value, The Greensboro dowtown Marriot may not be the place for you. Hotel has some age to it and is in need of major repair, Marriot web-site advertised that they have a in door swimming pool and hot tub. When we arrived to the hotel we found out that the hot tub was removed due to safety concerns. The swimming pool is in very bad shape. Looks like they have tried to repair the swimming pool by patching it with duct tape. Hotel price was kinda high for the age of the room. Room needs to be updated. Parking is expensive , about 15.00 a day and the hotel puts a $30.00 hold for each room when you check in. I would not recomend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a nice room for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Reserved several weeks in advance to attend a wedding. The senior discount rate was lower than the wedding rate so we went with that. Then decided to add two days onto our stay, but the lowest rate was >$50 per night more. The hotel is not nearly full, yet they would not give us a lower rate.. Then, parking is $11 per day, not free, per another reviewer. THEN, wifi costs a bundle every day. Why? Most places offer it at no charge; but this place which costs so much more than the average 3 or 4 star deal on Priceline feels it needs to make money on everything? To top it off, there are no towel racks in the bath, making it a bit difficult to hang your towels up to reuse a second day AND the mattress is quite soft.
The staff we've encountered (few) are quite pleasant.
We went out of our way and over budget to stay at the Marriott and absolutely do not feel it's worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I recently stayed Saturday night Sept 29 at the Marriott Greensboro, NC which is located downtown. I am a Platinum Premier so I expected an upgrade when I arrived with the reservation made weeks in advance. That never happened. In fact when I checked in I had to remind the front desk clerk to ask me did I want points or a room gift.

What happened that evening is the worst experience I have ever had at a Marriott. They gave me a room across the hall from a Hospitality suite. I had a wake up call set for 4 am to catch a 6 am flight so I went to bed at 10 pm. At 10:30 I awoke to a loud party across the hall. I called repeatedly to the front desk to complain of the noise and they did nothing. I called again at 11, 12:15 am, 1 am,1:45 am. NOTHING
Finally Police showed up at 2 am to clear the room.

This management team needs a procedure to deal with unruly guest. The GM is at fault here for failure to train his staff.
What happened when I checked out ? The night auditor told me he would make no adjustment to the bill. Tough luck.
Stay away from this Marriott property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cpate001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.4 mi away
The Biltmore Greensboro
The Biltmore Greensboro
#8 of 76 in Greensboro
337 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
2.1 mi away
O.Henry Hotel
O.Henry Hotel
#1 of 76 in Greensboro
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Proximity Hotel
Proximity Hotel
#2 of 76 in Greensboro
483 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#5 of 76 in Greensboro
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greensboro Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greensboro Marriott Downtown

Property: Greensboro Marriott Downtown
Address: 304 North Greene Street, Greensboro, NC 27401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greensboro Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on a stay to North Carolina by checking into Greensboro Marriott Downtown. Our perfectly located hotel in Greensboro offers easy access to First National Bank Field, Greensboro Coliseum and the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Greensboro Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greensboro Marriott Downtown Hotel Greensboro
Marriott Greensboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing