We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Details, details, details!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
Ranked #20 of 77 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Finally, a hotel that has a focus on details!

- A card waiting in my room with my Marriot points and a nice welcome message from the GM
- Free bottles of water in the room; amazing - a hotel that understands the importance of free water
- Very friendly and attentive concierge
- Ok, the finale, getting my rental car from valet and they put 2 bottles of cold water in the car

I'm obvioulsy a fan of hydration, but that aside, what impressed me by this property was their focus on details that most hotels has forgotten long ago.

When in the Greensboro area, I will definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liveforadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for Greensboro Marriott Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 411 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2012

I was in Greensboro for 5 months on a client engagement and stayed at 7 or 8 different hotels in the area. This Marriott was without a doubt the worst place I stayed and was also the most expensive place I stayed (obviously not a good combination!). Lack of hot water, lack of TV channels, pay for parking, no guarantee that your reservation will actually get you a room (you may get bumped by a platinum member who wants to stay at the last minute), lack of breakfast unless you have status, and poor breakfast for those who do have status are just a few of the problems.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank SevillaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed here for two nights for a training convention. Reserved the room a couple weeks ahead of time and noted my preference of a high floor room. When I checked in, the front desk clerk recognized my Marriott Gold membership and thanked me for checking in. That was where the positives ended.

My 'high floor' room request resulted in a room on their lowest floor with a view of the adjacent roof and parking garage. When I approached the front desk clerk to ask about it, he told me that it was the only room available in the hotel with a king sized bed. Unlikely as that seems on a Wednesday in Greensboro, I took a step back and observed the next three guests check in and receive king rooms on higher floors. Only one of those three guests was even a Marriott rewards member. It was pretty clear that the front desk attendant had made a mistake when checking me and tried to cover it up with a bald faced lie. Probably not the best way to handle a customer service issue. I emailed the GM of the hotel to let them know about the situation. He responded at 7:30pm on the night before my departure, while I was out to dinner, and let me know that there were indeed numerous king bedrooms on higher floors available. While he offered to switch my room, the damage was already done. It didn't really make any sense to switch rooms 12 hours before I was checking out.

Aside from that, the concierge lounge breakfast was seriously lacking. Runny eggs and mediocre fruit. IF that's your thing, you might like it. I would recommend staying at the new Sheraton or the Doubletree. While the location of this Marriott is centered in downtown, the customer service and horrendously outdated and small rooms just makes it not worth the trouble.

Of note, this Marriott is not run by Marriott corporation. Instead Columbia Sussex runs this and dozens of other hotels. It's clear that they've let this property go and are not concerned with the quality of the property or the level of service. Avoid!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Stayed four days. Clean, nice view (529). Busy, they host all kinds of events. Walk to maybe a dozen bars and restaurants. Parking in an attached garage that can actually hold a hi-top van, shades of its '70s origin. Pool looked nice. Bathroom fixtures could use an update. No fridge. Crappy TV and even crappier cable. Paying ten bucks a day for internet shows Marriot is either stupid or stuck in '80s greed-is-good mode. Staff terrific, they made it tolerable and a good value. If you stay in Greensboro you absolutely must try the Green Valley Grill, ten minutes away.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilburthebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Attended a concert in Greensboro at Greensboro Coliseum. This Marriott location was close to downtown to walk to different bars/restaurants. 5 minute or less cab ride to the coliseum. Staff extremely friendly. Room was clean, overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I recently stayed at the Greensboro Downtown Marriott and had a nice stay. The hotel lobby is dated but clean. It definitly is an older hotel as you can tell by the swaggered curtains in the lobby. All the staff I came in contact with spoke first and were very friendly and helpful. The hallways and rooms have been updated with the exception of the televisions in the rooms which are the old big box style (probably no HD either). The room was clean (which is a big deal for me) and had plenty of towels. I had room service for breakfast my first morning and it came as ordered. The second morning I ate in the restaurant which was ok. The staff again was very friendly but they did not have the buffet that day even though no mentioned that when I was seated. Food was ok but nothing special and a little high priced. As typical with full service hotels you have to pay for internet access and parking. Rooms could be a little noisy if there were people walking and talking in the hallways.
Overall a good stay but the staff really made it enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flboy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This Marriott is average in quality but higher priced than most. I am a Gold Member and thought overall service was poor. The hotel is old and dated. I suggest you stay somewhere else when traveling to Greensboro

Room Tip: Parking is $11
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jwpolston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.4 mi away
The Biltmore Greensboro
The Biltmore Greensboro
#8 of 77 in Greensboro
363 reviews
2.1 mi away
O.Henry Hotel
O.Henry Hotel
#1 of 77 in Greensboro
555 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Proximity Hotel
Proximity Hotel
#2 of 77 in Greensboro
495 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#5 of 77 in Greensboro
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greensboro Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greensboro Marriott Downtown

Address: 304 North Greene Street, Greensboro, NC 27401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 77 Hotels in Greensboro
Price Range: $177 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greensboro Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on a stay to North Carolina by checking into Greensboro Marriott Downtown. Our perfectly located hotel in Greensboro offers easy access to First National Bank Field, Greensboro Coliseum and the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Greensboro Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greensboro Marriott Downtown Hotel Greensboro
Marriott Greensboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing