We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Getaway”
Review of O.Henry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
O.Henry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We don't live far from the O'Henry and I have for years wanted to splurge and spend a romantic night there with my husband so did just that this New Years Eve. We purchased a package that included a king room, bottle of sparkling wine, "priority seating" in the restaurant (not sure what that got us), and a 2:00 check out. Check in was quick and painless, and all the staff were eager and polite though I got the feeling most were inexperienced, but, hey, so were we. The bed/living area of the room was a bit of a disappointment as it was a little frayed around the edges with an expected hotel feel, but the bathroom was worth the expense. The classic black and white tile, large walk-in shower, and two separate sinks were exactly what we were expecting from an old school hotel. We enjoyed an appetizer and a couple of cocktails at the bar before dinner which was busy but not over crowded. My husband was very pleased with his steak at dinner, but I was underwhelmed by my salmon which was bland and served over stiff polenta. We have eaten at the restaurant a few times before and I've never been disappointed, so will not hold this one experience against them, just won't order the salmon again. The breakfast buffet comes standard with a stay at the hotel and everything on it was freshly cooked, hot and delicious, definitely not your standard hotel breakfast. They have a small but nice exercise room with quality equipment that we used both days. Overall, a very nice time, but, for this solidly middle class couple, not something we could justify doing very often.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Wren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

We are happy you chose to stay with us to celebrate a romantic New Year's Eve and we are grateful for your feedback to help us improve our guest's experience. It is very important to you and all of our guests that our staff are competent and well trained. We have addressed this with our leadership team.
We are thrilled you enjoyed the guest bathroom and dining at Green Valley Grill. We will certainly share your feedback about the bland salmon with our Executive Chef Leigh Hesling.
We are in the process of updating our guestrooms, which includes updating furniture in all of our rooms. We hope that you will stay with us again and allow us the opportunity to knock your socks off.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 576 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

I shared two nights at this 5 star hotel with my daughter as a girl's get away in August 2012 prior to her October 2012 wedding. The facility is top notch is so many ways from doormen and greeters to exquisite rooms and accommodations. The restaurant was delicious and the server was kind and patient with customers who had not dined there before and helpful with the menu. The breakfast they provide is perfect. The steel cut oats were such a treat. The antique cars on the property added such a nice touch and photo op's! It's centrally located which is helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MOOREJ1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

A girl's getaway is so fun! Spending time with your daughter before her big day is a lasting memory, we are honored to be a part of it.
So glad you had a memorable culinary experience at Green Valley Grill with our competent servers and our Southern-style breakfast buffet especially (the steel cut oats are also our favorite!).
Our London Taxis are great for photo-ops, we look forward to your next stay with us and hope that you will ride take a ride in one of them around town next go around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Went there for a 1 night stay with my son for a soccer tournament. This place is awesome. When we checked in I told the lady at the desk we wanted a quite room so we can get some sleep. When we got to our room the phone rings and the Manager tells me that they will have a function at the hotel that evening with a live band and thus they would like to move us up to a higher floor, away from the music! We said OK and went to the restaurant for dinner (which was very good). When we got back to the front desk to pick up our new keys they told us that they have upgraded us to a suite... say what? I'm a frequent traveller but I don't even have status at this hotel (since it's not a chain)... awesome experience, great staff, great food, great night sleep. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Apex-997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

We love hearing that you had a good night sleep! Our design team puts continued effort into ensuring our guests experience a comfortable and restful stay in all of our rooms. It is great that you and your son ate at the Green Valley Grill here at the hotel, I hope that it was excellent "fuel" for his next game. Thank you for coming to the O. Henry, we do hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,
Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Lovely setting, excellent service, great food. All the makings of a great get-away! Easy access to big shopping center and amazing restaurants only a few blocks away (short drive). Lovely arboretum in walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Even more exciting is that you ventured out and explored the area! We agree that The Shops at Friendly and the arboretum, both just a "stone's throw away" from the O.Henry, are a great way to experience the Greensboro area. Next time you are here, be sure to borrow one of our guest loaner bikes to transport you to your adventures; we have two at the hotel that are complimentary to our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank you,
Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I had previously stayed at the other property owned by this group, The Proximity, so on a recent business trip I tried the O Henry. I will say I liked it much better. First, they have a continental breakfast that is part of your stay, no additional cost. The Proximity does not do this. Although I do generally like the food better at their restaurant than I do at the O. Henry.

The staff stood out for me at this hotel... the treatment was more on par for what I would expect of a higher priced, upscale hotel. They were very happy to take care of the couple of requests I had. The room was very nice and comfortable and you can even crack the windows, which is nice. I agree with one of the other reviewer's opinion of the bathroom, it is one of the nicest hotel bathrooms I have seen. There is a separate shower from the tub and also a separate vanity area outside of the bathroom that can be used to get ready if there is more than one person staying in the room. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leighkx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Oh! we're so excited you have stayed at our sister hotel as well and shared your experiences at both. O.Henry's Old World feel is very different from Proximity's modern take but Southern hospitality and genuine service is a mission that both share.

It's great to hear that you experienced genuine service from our staff and experienced the many design features at the O.Henry. The design team touches most everything we do from the amenities, to the environment that surrounds you. Most everything has been touched and gone through a filter and process before anything is implemented. We are so glad you even noticed the windows that provide fresh air in our guestrooms. You can read more about our design processes in a Rambling by Dennis Quaintance in our Fall 2012 Newsletter – available on our website. It's a great read!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay at this lovely Southern hotel and I plan to only stay here during upcoming trips because of the overall experience. Upscale. Quiet. Fabulous dining at Green Valley. Definitely plan for tea.

The mattresses are just perfect and staff is invisible unless you need them. Go back on time and enjoy an experience as opposed to a stay

Stayed: December 2013
3  Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

We are so glad you have consistently experienced a wonderful stay at the O.Henry and it sounds like you were able to take advantage of some of our wonderful amenities. Getting a good nights rest is so important when traveling, so we are glad you enjoyed the mattresses and staff was unobtrusive but there when needed. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We enjoyed our Saturday night stay on the "Gift of the Magi" package. Our king room was very comfortable and well appointed. The bath/dressing area was so unique - one of the nicest hotel bathrooms we've experienced! The breakfast buffet was fabulous and the service/hospitality from the breakfast staff was superb. Dinner at Green Valley Grill was excellent.

Problems we experienced: At check-in we were pleasantly surprised to be offered delivery of a complimentary newspaper but unfortunately, we never received it. Front desk staff person was unfamiliar with the terms of our package (late check out and amenity voucher) therefore we did not feel the special and gracious welcome we expected from a hotel of this caliber. Our TV remote did not work properly and the wireless internet connection was weak and slow.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveBandBs_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

It's a pleasure to hear you had a wonderful stay in our guestrooms and we are tickled you enjoyed the bathroom and dressing areas! Our design team and "Minister of Design" Don Rives (sadly, he passed away in 2007) spent many hours coming up with the perfect design for our guests to enjoy and he would be smiling to know that 15 years later it is a deciding factor to our guests amazing experience. You can read more about O.Henry's design features on our website.

One of our cornerstones is to provide genuine service by a well-trained staff that is knowledgeable of our amenities and services we offer, but unfortunately we fell short and you had a negative experience. The "Gift of the Magi" package is one our more popular packages, so it is a disappointment that you did not receive that knowledgable service. It is feedback like this that helps our team improve.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.4 mi away
Proximity Hotel
Proximity Hotel
#2 of 77 in Greensboro
512 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
#20 of 77 in Greensboro
426 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Biltmore Greensboro
The Biltmore Greensboro
#8 of 77 in Greensboro
380 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#6 of 77 in Greensboro
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O.Henry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O.Henry Hotel

Address: 624 Green Valley Rd, Greensboro, NC 27408-7720
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Greensboro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Greensboro
#3 Family Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range: $279 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O.Henry Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The era of the locally owned, passionately run, hotels has returned. Enjoy gracious hospitality in oversized guestrooms with complimentary full-hot breakfast buffet, outstanding amenities and an attentive staff. And enjoy informally elegant dining and seasonal food using old-world European culinary sensibilities and flavors at Green Valley Grill, located adjacent to our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your O.Henry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Henry Hotel
o Henry Greensboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing