We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel with excellent restaurant”
Review of O.Henry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
O.Henry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great business hotel with excellent restaurant”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights while attending a training at the Center for Creative Leadership. The hotel is a well maintained, very nice facility with friendly and extremely helpful staff. The rooms are spacious and very clean, only niggle I have is that the air conditioning can't be adjusted, and my room was quite cold, with the A/C a bit on the noisy side when it kicked in. A very pleasant surprise is the hotel restaurant, the Green Valley Grill, which offers outstanding and creative dishes from very fresh ingredients.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schultheiss1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are thrilled to be the hotel partner to the Center for Creative Leadership. They have a wonderful training program and I hope you found it rewarding.

I am so sorry that your air conditioning system malfunctioned and was noisy. This is not the norm and we will be checking all of our rooms to ensure it does not happen to another guest. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

It is great to hear the wonderful comments about the Green Valley Grill from someone who stayed 5 nights and likely ate there more than once! It offers such a great variety; one can never get bored with the selections.

I hope you get the opportunity to attend another Center for Creative Leadership Program in the near future, so we can take care of you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    63
    15
    2
    5
See reviews for
118
166
25
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Modiin, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I visited the hotel during a business trip of 3 days.
The hotel is completable and well planned.
Lobby is beautiful and it's high ceiling gives an impression of an old and established building.

The restaurant attached to the hotel is nice and food is good.

Hotel staff was somehow a bit intrusive.

Breakfast was more than disappointing as the sortiment was relatively poor for a 250$ per night.

All in all a good hotel. Improving the breakfast will increase the valuefor the money paid.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tamirbenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We take all of our guest comments to heart and are truly disappointed that we did not meet all of your expectations. I appreciate your feedback regarding our staff, we have to do a better job of “reading our guests” so as not to be intrusive.

Thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast offerings, I will share it with our restaurant team and discuss what other options we might provide our guests in the future.

We are grateful that your overall experience was enjoyable and that you considered your business trip well planned. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the O'Henry while attending my son's soccer tournament in Greensboro. I was so impressed with the staff-they went out of their way to make our young soccer players and their families feel so comfortable. The environment is so warm and welcoming. I thought the rooms were beautifully appointed, extremely comfortable and clean. There are many small details that make it obvious that this hotel really cares about creating a great guest experience. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peteyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Awesome!

Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

As with the others, I was not sure what to expect, but I was most pleasantly surprised. The inn obviously makes an effort to impress and succeeds. The rooms were elegant and comfortable. The staff was attentive without being fussy.

I don’t think we will be in the area again but would highly recommend the hotel to others. It is always a delight to find a hotel that is so warm and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2loveparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
It is wonderful to receive a review that is intended to help other travelers to find great places to stay in cities like Greensboro. The O. Henry is a hidden gem and comments like yours are truly appreciated, it causes people to look for us and trust us!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

By mistake, my company booked my room @ O. Henry Hotel instead of my usual Proximity (I think same chain?). At first I was disappointed b/c I love the proximity, however once in the O. Henry I was very satisfied, elegant & attentive staff, would highly recommend. Also for business travelers great breakfast served every morning, free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesse1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
You are correct, both the O. Henry Hotel and Proximity Hotel are owned and operated by Quaintance Weaver Restaurants and Hotels. We are delighted that you are now a fan of both of our hotels. Since they are just across the street from each other, you will be able to choose which one suits your mood each time you visit Greensboro!

We look forward to your next visit to the O. Henry or the Proximity Hotels. We both promise to take great care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

After a long road trip, we found ourselves unexpectedly near Greensboro and followed a tip to call the O. Henry Hotel -- and we are so glad we did! From the person who answered that call to everyone on the staff we met, it was like being hosted by the adult children of old friends! There are so many smart design choices in this hotel and the public spaces are gracious and lovely without being too grand or grandiose. Met such nice folks at the bar, enjoyed a lovely dinner on the patio (delighted to find one of my favorite wines at a great price), and marveled at how comfortable and spacious our room turned out to be. The breakfast buffet was as fine as I've had in a very long time -- a delicious southern spread, thoughtfully presented and available in a charming room; fresh local blueberry jam made me swoon! We could have happily stayed for days and certainly hope we have a chance to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
It makes me so proud of our hotel and our team to receive such a great review. We share all of our reviews with our team, they will love this one!

We hope you have a chance to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel is a lovely, centrally-located gem. Rooms are large and quiet, with comfortable beds comfortable. Bathrooms clean and well-appointed. Public spaces were attractive and enjoyable. Restaurant service is prompt and attentive. I only wish I had more time to enjoy my stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinaUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
You will have to come back when you have more time to enjoy not just the hotel but the surrounding area; Greensboro has a lot to offer.

Our housekeeping team appreciates the recognition of their efforts keeping the hotel beautifully clean, they do a great job!

Thank you for your comments. We hope you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.3 mi away
Proximity Hotel
Proximity Hotel
#2 of 76 in Greensboro
473 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#4 of 76 in Greensboro
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Biltmore Greensboro
The Biltmore Greensboro
#8 of 76 in Greensboro
322 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
4.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Greensboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O.Henry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O.Henry Hotel

Property: O.Henry Hotel
Address: 624 Green Valley Rd, Greensboro, NC 27408-7720
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Greensboro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Greensboro
#4 Family Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — O.Henry Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The era of the locally owned, passionately run, hotels has returned. Enjoy gracious hospitality in oversized guestrooms with complimentary full-hot breakfast buffet, outstanding amenities and an attentive staff. And enjoy informally elegant dining and seasonal food using old-world European culinary sensibilities and flavors at Green Valley Grill, located adjacent to our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your O.Henry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Henry Hotel
o Henry Greensboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing