We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded expectations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of O.Henry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
O.Henry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

It's been years since I stayed at O'Henry but based upon recent reviews I am planning to return. Everything about the service, rooms and amazing restaurant is the reason I am planning to return soon. I wouldn't be surprised if the staff still remembers my name because they were that amazing during my stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Wow! You have honored us with your gracious comments and we appreciate your keeping an eye on us on Trip Advisor. You and many others are the reason we are here and why we love taking care of our guests. We are excited about your return and look forward to personally greeting you upon your arrival.
Thank you for your gracious comments and your good wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    61
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
113
156
23
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

The hotel is beautiful and the check in was fast and friendly. The room was spacious, gorgeous, and comfortable. The rooms are soundproof so I slept like a baby. A complimentary breakfast just added to my enjoyment. The croissants are made on site and the jams are made from local fruits. The grits were the best I've ever tasted. A complimentary book of OHenry's short stories was a delight as well. I ate at the Green Valley Grille for lunch, and it was delicious and reasonably priced too. I really didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Our dream is that each guest wants to stay longer, we thought about offering "change of address" cards at the front desk.
We are delighted that you had a good experience! Your experience is consistent with our intention: We want each guest to have a great night's sleep in a peaceful, clean room and that they enjoy delicious food from local sources in a pleasant environment with friendly, competent service.
We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you for your feedback. Our team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel will go the extra mile from the minute We booked they looked after our every need mr page picked us up at gso in a London black taxi and was a gentleman , in his early 20s the front desk staff were great you can't pass them without them bidding you good day breakfast was of a high standard as where the breakfast staff when We needed a lift to town front desk sent us in there jeep limo car we will visit Greensboro in the future and will not stay anywhere else love from Ireland and the Irish and thanks ...

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elliepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
You traveled an extra mile or two to get to us and went the extra mile to take the time to tell us about your experience. Thank you for the wonderful written tour of your stay. Mr. Page will be thrilled to know that you recognized him in your review and made him famous! Our entire team from breakfast to the front desk will appreciate your kindness. Go raibh maith agaibh and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
259 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

The bedding is some of the best I've ever found in a hotel. The restaurant was excellent (even room service). We ordered a late dinner (salmon) and it was one I've the better salmon entrees I've had anywhere. Staff was friendly and well trained. Only complaint was very load music Saturday night in our suite above the ballroom. I would specifically never stay in that room again for that reason. The wedding went on until 2am and although they reduced the volume temporarily around midnight it was still impossible to sleep. The manager was understanding and happily gave us a late check out to catch up on the lost sleep... Very good overall and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyboyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! I am in total agreement with you regarding the Green Valley Grill salmon selection, I often order it and it is always delicious. We are sorry for the wedding party noise. We can do better than that. We could have had you in a room further away. Helpful feedback such as this helps us do a better job -- so please never be shy about offering it to us. Thank you for trusting us with your stay and for taking the time to offer your feedback. I hope to see you when you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frontenac, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a great hotel for pleasure or business. Evening dining is great both inside and outside. My only complaint is our server on Saturday night rushed us through dinner when we, in fact, wanted to savor the food and enjoy a bottle of wine. The rooms are spacious and the staff is polite and helpful. I would stay at the O Henry again or try the sister hotel, Proximity.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GBug38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EggersP, Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your experience. I apologize that you were rushed through dinner, that is certainly not something we want our guests to experience. We are glad to hear that everything else went well and do hope that we get to see you again. Thank you for your feedback so that we may learn from it and be better for next time.
Regards,
Peyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Everything about the O'Henry is perfect...awesome service, beautiful and impeccably clean rooms, awesome bar and a fabulous breakfast buffet. We only live 45 minutes away, but often stay here for our anniversary...I love this hotel! Note...great shopping, restaurants, movie theater just across the street. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EggersP, Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Happy Anniversary! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon!
Cheers,
Peyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

The O. Henry is the most beautiful hotel I've stayed at. The rooms are spacious, spotless and the bed is incredibly comfortable. Breakfast is delicious and well attended. The staff are extremely helpful and go out of there way to ensure your satisfcation. They give GREAT dinner suggestions!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tineya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EggersP, Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! I love that you enjoyed everything, and I agree about the beds, very comfortable! We hope to see you again soon.
Cheers,
Peyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.4 mi away
Proximity Hotel
Proximity Hotel
#2 of 76 in Greensboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
2.3 mi away
The Biltmore Greensboro
The Biltmore Greensboro
#8 of 76 in Greensboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#5 of 76 in Greensboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
4.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Greensboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O.Henry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O.Henry Hotel

Property: O.Henry Hotel
Address: 624 Green Valley Rd, Greensboro, NC 27408-7720
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Greensboro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Greensboro
#4 Family Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — O.Henry Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The era of the locally owned, passionately run, hotels has returned. Enjoy gracious hospitality in oversized guestrooms with complimentary full-hot breakfast buffet, outstanding amenities and an attentive staff. And enjoy informally elegant dining and seasonal food using old-world European culinary sensibilities and flavors at Green Valley Grill, located adjacent to our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your O.Henry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Henry Hotel
o Henry Greensboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing