We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Angalia Tented Camp
Reviewed December 3, 2013

One of the best lodges in Africa I've ever been. Very comfortable, luxury tents, tasty food, helpfull staff, and great owner. And price is very reasonable. Really good point to stay and visit Mikumi National Park. Ajub - thank you friend :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waldemar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 99 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

Patrica and Uyubu and their staff are the most welcoming hosts. The tented camp consists of 6 "bandas", as you can see in the picture: thatched roof, elevated structures with a porch at the front, a large tent in the middle and a fully functioning bathroom at the back. Some bandas are family style (king and two single beds) others have just the king.
We booked full board to avoid having to go into Mikumi town for supplies. Food is cooked on site and very tasty, particularly the 3 course dinner. Breakfast is basic but adequate and lunch boxes will be provided for those wanting to eat their lunch at one of the picnic areas in the nearby Mikumi NP.
Setting is peaceful and serene. Most of the time the only thing one can hear are the insects and birds. The road noise is minimal and only very occasionally drifts in, depending on the wind direction.
Service is excellent. Patricia and Uyubu are very helpful, their staff keen to make you as comfortable as possible.
So what is not to like? Well very little really. However, be mindful that you are camping! Mattresses could be softer, chairs could be more comfortable ... in fact if we would have had those options, we would have probably stayed on a few more nights, just to enjoy the tranquility and serenity of the place. Ideal campsite to launch an early morning expedition into Mikumi NP and watch lion, elephant, zebra, giraffe, gazelle, jackal, buffalo, springbok, warthog, baboon etc etc.

Room Tip: The further to the back of the site (banda 3, 4, 5 and 6) the less you will hear the diesel generato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0rtelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaAngalia, Owner at Angalia Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for dedicating some time to write your review!

We are taking good note of your suggestions regarding mattresses and chairs, and will try to change them as soon as we can, hoping that if you decide to visit us again you can experience the difference.

Thank you once more!

Warmest regards and karibuni tena.

Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at Angalia for three nights during our honeymoon to Tanzania. And- WHAT a welcome we had. From their million star meal beside the campfire to the very open, relaxed and helpful staff. This place has it all.

The accomodation is comfortable, clean and with the coolest bathrooms in Tanzania. It feels like you're camping in the park, but with all the comfort you'd expect at a place that cost twice the amount of this. On top of that, the food is great

We are a couple who wouldn't necessarily want to experience the Hilton lifestyle. However, i you want to meet genuine local people and get close to nature in comfort, this is the place to stay.

The best of all with this place is the owners, Patrica and Ayoub. They are the life and soul and make you feel at home. We miss you and will return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kjersti1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have stayed 1 night during a 2 day safari in Mikumi national park in August 2013. I was scared that we will find a normal camping area near the park, but very much surprised when i saw Angali. the room was very clean, the camp area/tents are modern and the toilet/bathroom part of the tent is decorated very well.

The dinner was great with a perfect night view near the camp fire.

Thanks for everything...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sabirkupu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had a fantastic 4-day stay at Angalia in july (2013) which was indeed splendid. From the welcoming arrangements and Safari recommendations prior to our arrival, through a very service-minded stay. The atmosphere is very charming and personal. We traveled as a family with 2 children and we all loved it. The lodging in "tents" are very neat, clean and luxurious yet with the rustic feel. Staff is very friendly and look after their guests. We also appreciated the smallness, with only a handful guests at a time and the natural location in the park. Mikumi NP was also a great experience with less tourists and a more genuine "wild" feel to it than other NPs. If you plan to go to Mikumi, Angalia is definitely the best choice, we were lucky to find it on the net. Special greetings to Simba, the local cat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at Angalia for two nights in July (2013) and i can not recomend it enough. The camp is clean and full of rustic charm in keeping with the surroundings, but without losing any of the comforts. The food was fantastic and plenty of it, and nothing was to much trouble for the staff who went out their way to make our stay feel so special. Chillin out around the camp fire in the evening looking up at the stars was the perfect way to end the day. The camp is in a great location for Mikumi National park, which had plenty of animals to see but without crowds of people, leaving you alone with the animals.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Mikumi is still one of those very few parks in Africa where you can stop your car 5 meters away from a couple of lions and stay there alone for hours with no other cars disturbing you... or the lions. A place where you can use the wide angle of your camera with no fear of destroying the picture with a safari car in the corner. Angalia is quite the same: one of those rare lodges out of the touristic standards nowadays. Right in the middle of the bush surrounding the Mikumi Savana -just a few kilometers away from the main game drive circuit-, Angalia is the perfect base to explore Mikuimi or the amazing mountains nearby Kilombero river. Perfectly well maintained, unpretentious and nice decoration,and a extremely professional service, the lodge is a great option for your gateway from Dar es Salaam. Patricia, the manager, has spent big part of her life working for humanitarians NGos in Africa and is, for sure, responsible of the charm of the place. The fire circle at night after a lovely dinner .-don´t miss the spanish gazpacho- with the hyenas barking , and the clear african sky will give you the real sound of Nature.
As others have said the access road -no more than 800 meters- could give you the only reason to complaint but you dont expect the Route 66 when you go for a safari.
Best tents those far from the restaurant to feel the solitude of Nature.
Our tips:
-Great option for families.
-Spend at least two nights. Mikumi area has a lot to see and to do.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bosjeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mikumi National Park hotels
1.3 mi away
Camp Bastian Mikumi
Camp Bastian Mikumi
#1 of 15 in Mikumi National Park
57 reviews
8.4 mi away
Mikumi Wildlife Camp
Mikumi Wildlife Camp
#2 of 3 in Mikumi National Park
71 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mikumi Safari Lodge
Mikumi Safari Lodge
#5 of 15 in Mikumi National Park
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tan Swiss Lodge
Tan Swiss Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mikumi National Park
187 reviews
0 mi away
Asante Afrika Camp Mikumi
Asante Afrika Camp Mikumi
#6 of 15 in Mikumi National Park
5 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mikumi Adventure Lodge
Mikumi Adventure Lodge
#12 of 15 in Mikumi National Park
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angalia Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angalia Tented Camp

Address: Green Belt | Mikumi National Park, Mikumi National Park, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Morogoro Region > Mikumi National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Mikumi National Park
Price Range: $226 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming bungalows perfectly integrated in the breathtaking landscape, equipped with individual bathrooms accessible from the interior. Located in the Green Belt of Mikumi National Park, 288 kilometers from Dar es Salaam, ANGALIA is a comfortable and private experience, surrounded by wild nature. Relax having a drink in our bar & restaurant or by the fire place. In ANGALIA we also offer a testy cuisine where you can enjoy Swahili and Mediterranean dishes elaborated with products of solidary farming projects. Free WIFI available in the Bar & Restaurant area. We speak English, Spanish and Swahili. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Angalia Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing