We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari at Mikumi National Park”
Review of Vuma Hills

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mikumi National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vuma Hills
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Safari at Mikumi National Park”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Enjoyed 3 excellent nights at Vuma Hills. The safari feeling and experice was the closest not being in the tent on the savanna.

The location of Vuma Hills is in the middle of the national park. The game drive starts directly from the camp giving you the best feeling of being in the middle of the wilderness.

Tents are nice and clean with warm shower and toilet facilities. Locations of tents are nicely away from each other giving privacy. The restaurant and other facilities are nicely located in the middle of the camp. The service is friendly.

Happily recommend to all who likes to live close to the nature.

Room Tip: Tents on the sides of the resort are more close to the nature having also a better view from the hil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heikki_jantunen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    31
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
34
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Varsseveld, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed for two nights. At first, we planned to go for a hike in the Udzungwa mountains, but on advice of the manager (sometimes you see lots of monkeys, but sometimes not more than a butterfly) and as my wife had some knee-problems, we decided to do some game drives in the park. An what a good decision that was! Thank you Sabine. Saw a lot of elephants, hippo's, lions and much more.

Tents are nice and clean, shower cabin a bit small. No hot water at the sink, so not easy for wet-shavers. Breakfast is a small buffet with fresh fruit and eggs-to-order served at the table. First diner was served at the table and was quite good. Second was a small buffet, not so good. Has one lunch buffet which was quite good.

The pool is dirty. When you step in to it, immediately a cloud of dirt gets around you feet. And there was a wasps nest close to the pool. Deck chairs are immitation leather with no towels, so not very comfy with these temperatures. And no one around to ask for a towel. It looks nice, but should be maintained better.

At night elephants come to drink from the pool. And they keep it that way, otherwise the elephants would tear down the waterpipes.

In the evening they put some food to attract bush babies and honey badgers. Some would say that should not be done but hey, in winter time we also put some food for birds outside at home, so what's the difference.

The manager is very friendly and helpfull, but should have some more attention for details. Sometimes it is hard to find a staff member to get some drinks, the pool could be better, etc. On the other hand, when you get the attention of a staff member, nothing is too much and they are all friendly and polite.

All in all a bit of doubt. The lodge is nice, tents are clean, food is mostly quite good. With some more attention this could be a very good lodge, now it is just over-average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We (group of 7) stayed for 3 nights in Vuma Hills and had a full board arrangement.

The location of the camp is excellent, it's outside the Mikumi National Park but it takes only approx. 7 minutes by car to the park entrance. The camp lies on a height within a forrest, with lots of animals living right there.

The tents are in my opinion very nice, big and well furnished, with a toilet, shower and sink included. It might be true that some parts of the tent itself are already a bit run-down, but in such a wild environment this is nothing more than authentic:-)

Food was delicious!!! Bar abd lounge cozy and the staff and management very very sympathic.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hummelito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at Vuma Hills for two nights during a Safari. The location right in the middle of Mikumi is quite special. You have a fair chance to see a lot of animals on the way to and from the camp.

We booked the complete package (pickup in Dar, stay at Vuma Hills, game drives, flight from Mikumi to Zanzibar) through a tour operator so we don't know how much the stay at Vuma Hills was. But it was definitely less compared to what Foxes Safari Tours quotes on its website. So the value for money was OK.

The food was also OK and no problem for western taste buds.

The only real downside was the age of the bedding. The pillows had an odd smell, the mattress was old and the extra blanket to keep you warm was also a bit tired.

We were told that the management wants to renovate the tents. This is definitely a good idea because the shower and toilet could also use a make-over.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_german
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I don't know if we were lucky, but: a group of 6 of us stayed at Vuma Hills for 1 night and had one afternoon game drive and one morning game drive. The afternoon game drive was spectacular, and we saw all of the animals we had been told were in the Park: Lions, Hippo, Giraffe, Wildebeest, Water Buffalo, Zebra, Elephant, Eland, Impala, Wart Hogs, Crocodile, Baboons, Eagles and Vultures, not huge numbers that you see on wildlife programmes, but we didn't expect that and they were there. The other side of this coin is that there are not huge numbers of people either. This was followed by an enjoyable meal in the evening, being entertained by Porcupines and Honey Badgers eating beneath the dining area and (i think) Bush Babies entertaining us in the trees. The morning game drive was not so good for us, but we saw a few animals again. The Camp itself is within the National Park, but about 7km out of the Game Drive area. There are luxury tents, which are on a raised wooden platform overlooking the National Park. It was hazy for us, but on a clear day would be magnificent. They have a thatched roof above the tent, so there is virtually no chance of getting wet. Each tent I saw slept 3 people (1 double and 1 single) and had ample room. There is a shower, basin and toilet in each tent, so not really camping at all. There was clear evidence that the camp is visited by large mammals, but we didn't see any. Sabine and all her staff were friendly, helpful and attentive and I am looking at going back when my wife joins me in a couple of months. We drove from Dar es Salaam, but there is an airstrip in the Game Drive area itself, which would be fantastic to use.

Room Tip: All of the tents i saw had good views across the plain
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grabone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
164 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I visited Mikumi National Park during Easter and went with a colleague. Stayed there for three nights. With the exception of a hic-up with the reservation, the rest was quite good. The Camp made us a car available for game drives in the morning and in the afternoon. In total we went for 5 game drives into the Park and was simply fantastic (I really recommend Mikumi for good wildlife sightings, I never saw so many lions in such a short period)! The camp offered very confortable luxury tents with toilet, hot water, etc, with a view to the Rift Valley. The food was ok, nicely presented and served. Staff is very nice and try their best. Our guide/driver was Mr. Epheso Lyuvale and he did very well in showing us around, looking for the best wildlife sightings and explaining what we were seeing. The camp need to manage the possible conflict with wildlife as they come for food (bushbabies, the honey badgers). Apart from that, it is "recommended"!

Room Tip: Tents with the view to the Valley, are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed at Vuma Hills for two nights during our safari trip to Mikumi National Park.

This place was really amazing. At Vuma Hills the management had managed to combine comfort and service with the experience of staying out in the bush in the best possible way.

Our accommodation was in the fashion of cozy tent huts with room for 3 persons and with WC and shower area. The huts where built up on wooden poles so that you where sleeping almost up in the canopy cover of the forest. In the evening, you could just sit on your veranda and listen for all the different noises the bush life was providing you with.

Staff was super friendly and the manager Morgan was very hospitable and service minded. He told us a lot about all the wild life that was going on around the camp and at night, from the veranda, we were able to see porcupines, honey badgers and cute bush babies among others.

The meals Vuma Hills was offering were delicious and of good variety. I enjoyed every little bite of it. One evening I got a desert that was like a banana caramel cake that i immediately fell in love with.

Furthermore, Vuma Hills gets bonus points for being is situated conveniently close (maybe 15 min drive) to the entrence of Mikumi National Park, providing a pool and the view from the veranda was amazing!

I highly recommend Vuma Hills for other travelers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreasM941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mikumi National Park
0.0 mi away
Ruaha Hilltop Lodge
Ruaha Hilltop Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ruaha National Park
79 reviews
10.1 mi away
Camp Bastian Mikumi
Camp Bastian Mikumi
#3 of 15 in Mikumi National Park
39 reviews
10.2 mi away
Tan Swiss Lodge
Tan Swiss Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mikumi National Park
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Angalia Tented Camp
Angalia Tented Camp
#1 of 15 in Mikumi National Park
95 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mikumi Wildlife Camp
Mikumi Wildlife Camp
#2 of 3 in Mikumi National Park
65 reviews
11.1 mi away
Mikumi Adventure Lodge
Mikumi Adventure Lodge
#10 of 15 in Mikumi National Park
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vuma Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vuma Hills

Property: Vuma Hills
Address: Mikumi National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Morogoro Region > Mikumi National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Mikumi National Park
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing