We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have been here twice before - on our own and with friends - and this time were with members of our family. Each visit has been excellent.
Isibindi provides a deluxe version of Zulu-themed accommodation and provides opportunities to explore and participate in local Zulu music, dancing, food and culture. All great fun and enjoyed by everyone from 9 to 71!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsibindiAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear WDCW
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review but more importantly for coming back to stay with us.
We love it when our guests return - there is no greater compliment.
Hope to see you soon.
Kind regards
Penny Rice
Marketing Manager
ISIBINDI AFRICA LODGES

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 147 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Overall very friendly and "nature" experience. Really friendly and personal service, really felt welcome from the first minute. Great location and felt in the wild! Rooms were fine, would have preferred a double bed with duvets - but OK. Quite rustic, but very OK. I recommend it if going for the battlefields etc.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ofacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsibindiAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Ofacey
Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge. Glad you enjoyed the stay. Strange you mentioned that you would have preferred duvets we do have duvets but they are woollen and therefore not as thick as the traditional feather duvets. I have made a note of your comment and we will stock feather duvets as well so that guests can request them.
Kind regards
Penny Rice
MARKETING MANAGER
ISIBINDI AFRICA LODGES

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Brilliant! We felt really luxurious while there. Great scenery, awesome food, great people! We went there thanks to Groupon, and if possible, we would go back in a heat beat. Very relaxing and refreshing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsibindiAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you Michael!
What a wonderful way to end off our week to read a review like this. We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay at our lodge and hope to welcome you at one of our other wonderful lodges in the near future.
Kind regards
Penny Rice
Marketing Manager
Isibindi Africa Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Had a wonderful stay here with my wife. The service was excellent, the staff were so helpful, and the food was delicious. Got up close to giraffes as well. The huts were comfortable and what a view to wake up to. Would definitely recommend someone to stay here. One of the best places we stayed in for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The reason for visiting this property was to tour battlefield sites - that was well done by Mike Nel (a freelance) who is a star. After a disappointing start to the visit (the gate was not attended), the food was poor quality (they need to take lessons from the approaches of ski chalets catering for small numbers) and whilst an attempt was made to ensure that the huts were warmer at night we were cold throughout the visit which ended with an invitation to eat breakfast outside when the temperature was 8 degrees C.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisBerkhamsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsibindiAfrica, General Manager at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

I am very concerned that Chris found his stay at our lodge disappointing. I have been in contact with him directly and thank him for his feedback, which we have taken constructively and will use it to continue to improve the experience we offer our guests. Below is an extract of the email I sent to him:

"There had not been any problem with the intercom and bell at the entrance gate, but being in a remote rural area they do experience power outages quite often and it is possible that this could have happened when you arrived there. They will however improve the notice that goes on the gate with the lodge numbers on.

Food is quite a subjective thing and everyone has their own personal tastes, likes and dislikes. For example the other guests who were there at the same time, rated the food as excellent on their "Guest Feedback" form and made the following comment about the food: "Gourmet meals & Lovely presentations." However, we aim to please all our guests and have decided that we are going to arrange for some training for our staff and once that is completed we will send them to our other lodges to broaden their horizons and level of experience.

Breakfast is served outside to allow guests to enjoy the morning sun, which is often warmer than being inside."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

When it comes to character stays, these are a few of my favourite things:
• Scenic drives through an interesting geographical environment
• Accommodation in a spectacular natural setting with indigenous fauna and flora
• A respect for local culture
• Interesting and typical architecture
• Individual cottages with plentiful windows and double doors onto private patios with views

And Isibindi Zulu Lodge gets a standing ovation on every one of these categories. Set in the fascinating Rorke’s Drift KwaZulu-Natal battlefields, with legends of Isandlwana, Cetswayo and Blood River rolling off the tongue, there is so much to do and see. The Lodge is in a nature reserve, offering game drives and walks to view giraffe, zebra, wildebeest, jackal, caracal and an elusive leopard.

Accommodation Experience:
Working too hard for too many weeks, I had been holding out for my stay at Isibindi Zulu Lodge to save me from myself. As one leaves the lush Midlands, heading out from Greytown towards Dundee, one gets the sense, like Dorothy in her travels in The Wizard of Oz: “Toto, I’ve a feeling we’re not in Kansas anymore.” The green grass changes to pink and ochre, and the trees become sparse - thorn trees, cabbage trees and bright orange capped aloes. One drives through dramatic ravines and over a wide river spanned by a single-track metal bridge. The architecture becomes traditional thatched rondavels and the homesteads spread out alongside kraals made of low stone walls. This is Africa at its most natural and rugged, and I guess that living out here is not for sissies. Fortunately, Isibindi Zulu Lodge is.

Upon arrival, one is welcomed with a cool, home-made lemonade and a traditional warm face cloth with which to wash the dust off from the trip. One is taken past the infinity-edge pool overlooking a vast gorge, on to the accommodation, nestled into the curve of the hill. The rooms are cosy stone and thatched traditional Zulu round huts, with wooden floors, low curved windows and woven, curved ceilings. Each has its own wooden deck, making the most of the bushveld views.

In the evening we walk down the valley together to a Zulu homestead, and we are treated to a display of Zulu dance, the drum beats pulsing through one’s veins. We are seated around two enormous fires, hot against the cool night. Later a gracious host shows us into a typical round house, with a grinding stone, sleeping mats and a small altar used for communicating with ancestors. We are given a delicious traditional meal of Zulu beer, stew, pap, chakalaka, butternut mash and curried cabbage.

Eventually I slip out of the fun and increasingly heated gender-debate which is being had between the locals and foreigners and end the evening in the silence of my own deck, overlooking the moonlit valley below. The night is quiet and open, and I imagine the slow movement of the wildlife below. The insight into Zulu culture has awakened my senses to the privilege of being in an unspoilt corner of Africa, and I have the sense that the natural environment is essential to this celebration of all that is local.

Sitting out on my deck under African skies, with no time constraints or agendas except to experience this place as fully as possible, I feel a gentle coming home to myself – a simple but profound “click” as I find myself internally re-aligning and centering. John O’ Donohue says “One of the beauties of a landscape like this is the stillness and silence within it. When you truly are present to a landscape you know afterwards that something has shifted or some burden has fallen.”

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berenice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

From the moment we drove into Isibindi Zulu Lodge the attention and service we received was tremendous. Welcomed by Kirsty and her ladies with a drink hot towels to wash away the dusty journey... Awesome

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Luella O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rorke's Drift
4 mi away
Fugitive's Drift Lodge and Guest House
3.8 mi away
Elandsheim Retreat
Elandsheim Retreat
#1 of 1 in Elandskraal
3 reviews
5.8 mi away
Rorke's Drift Hotel
Rorke's Drift Hotel
#3 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Isandlwana Lodge
Isandlwana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Isandlwana
223 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rorke's Drift Lodge
Rorke's Drift Lodge
#2 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isibindi Zulu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isibindi Zulu Lodge

Address: 52 Osborn Road | Isibindi Eco Reserve, Rorke's Drift, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Rorke's Drift
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rorke's Drift
Price Range: $275 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Isibindi Zulu Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 12 bed lodge is a peaceful, bushveld retreat with accommodation designed in an architectural celebration of the Zulu nation and offers a host of activities for those wanting to experience a combination of game viewing, Zulu culture and the Anglo-Zulu Battlefields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Isibindi Zulu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isibindi Zulu Lodge South Africa/KwaZulu-Natal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing